You are not logged in.

#1 2014-10-07 20:16:08

mahkoe

Dual Boot with Win8 on UEFI with SSHD

Hi folks!

I have a Lenovo Y40 laptop which currently has Windows 8.1 preloaded, which I unfortunately have to keep for a host of reasons. I've been meaning to install linux on my laptop for a while though, and now I finally have the time. However, I've been doing some research, and there are just too many things I don't understand that are keeping me from just jumping in and installing "on the fly".

Here's where my problems are:

This laptop has a hybrid drive in it, specifically the WDC WD10S21X-24R1BT0-SSHD (I copied this out of the device manager), and I hear linux has problems with that? Also, this laptop uses UEFI, which I have zero experience with. Lastly, I have no idea which of the many preloaded partitions (listed below) are necessary for windows 8 to boot and function properly.

List of my partitions:

• Two partitions labeled "Recovery Partition" in the disk manager (one 1GB and the other 15.64 GB)

• The EFI partition

• A partition labeled "OEM Partition"

• The partition my C:\ drive is on

• This absurd 25 GB partition with the name "LENOVO" which is mounted as D:/ and has folders named "Applications" and "Drivers"

So basically, I simply do not know how to install arch (or linux in general) on this kind of a system. I'm really hoping someone can generously give up some of their time to maybe send a few links and some basic steps to get this installation procedure going.

Thanks!

P.S. I have installed Arch before, but on a BIOS system with "normal" MBR-formatted hard drives. I'm pretty good with Linux, so you can assume a fair amount of previous knowledge.

#2 2014-10-07 20:51:24

mcloaked

Re: Dual Boot with Win8 on UEFI with SSHD

Is this thread any help to you? https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=177356

Mike C

#3 2014-10-07 21:03:59

Head_on_a_Stick
Website

Re: Dual Boot with Win8 on UEFI with SSHD

mahkoe wrote: