You are not logged in.

#1 2014-10-12 14:16:39

killer1804
Member
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Registered: 2010-07-26
Posts: 56

apulse skype - microphone stops working.

HI !
I use apuls for calls on Skype.
I have an usb webcam:

user0@homelinux ~]$ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 041e:4071 Creative Technology, Ltd
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
[user0@homelinux ~]$

If during a call on Skype to enable video, after a few seconds the microphone stops working.

my asoundrc:

[user0@homelinux ~]$ cat ~/.asoundrc
pcm.usb
{
    type hw
    card Ultra
}

pcm.!default
{
    type asym
    playback.pcm
    {
        type plug
        slave.pcm "dmix"
    }
    capture.pcm
    {
        type plug
        slave.pcm "usb"
    }
}
[user0@homelinux ~]$





can anyone help?

Offline

#2 2014-10-12 16:33:23

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,742

Re: apulse skype - microphone stops working.

I use:

capture.pcm "dsnoop"

See link in my sig, for full ~/.asoundrc

Offline

#3 2014-10-15 18:17:56

quellen
Member
Registered: 2014-05-24
Posts: 211

Re: apulse skype - microphone stops working.

I have the same problem: microphone of webcam doesn't works on "apulse skype".

my ,asoundrc :

pcm.usb
{
    type hw
    card camera
}

pcm.!default
{
    type asym
    playback.pcm
    {
        type plug
        slave.pcm "dmix"
    }
    capture.pcm
    {
        type plug
        slave.pcm "usb"
    }
}
$ arecord -L
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
sysdefault:CARD=VT82xx
    HDA VIA VT82xx, ALC883 Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=VT82xx,DEV=0
    HDA VIA VT82xx, ALC883 Analog
    Front speakers
surround21:CARD=VT82xx,DEV=0
    HDA VIA VT82xx, ALC883 Analog
    2.1 Surround output to Front and Subwoofer speakers
surround40:CARD=VT82xx,DEV=0
    HDA VIA VT82xx, ALC883 Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=VT82xx,DEV=0
    HDA VIA VT82xx, ALC883 Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=VT82xx,DEV=0
    HDA VIA VT82xx, ALC883 Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=VT82xx,DEV=0
    HDA VIA VT82xx, ALC883 Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=VT82xx,DEV=0
    HDA VIA VT82xx, ALC883 Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
sysdefault:CARD=camera
    USB camera, USB Audio
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=camera,DEV=0
    USB camera, USB Audio
    Front speakers
surround21:CARD=camera,DEV=0
    USB camera, USB Audio
    2.1 Surround output to Front and Subwoofer speakers
surround40:CARD=camera,DEV=0
    USB camera, USB Audio
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=camera,DEV=0
    USB camera, USB Audio
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=camera,DEV=0
    USB camera, USB Audio
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=camera,DEV=0
    USB camera, USB Audio
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=camera,DEV=0
    USB camera, USB Audio
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=camera,DEV=0
    USB camera, USB Audio
    IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output
$ cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [VT82xx         ]: HDA-Intel - HDA VIA VT82xx
                      HDA VIA VT82xx at 0xc7ffc000 irq 17
 2 [camera         ]: USB-Audio - USB camera
                      USB camera at usb-0000:00:10.0-1, full speed

Last edited by quellen (2014-10-15 18:18:39)


sorry for my bad english.

Offline

#4 2014-10-16 05:48:29

killer1804
Member
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Registered: 2010-07-26
Posts: 56

Re: apulse skype - microphone stops working.

quellen wrote:

I have the same problem: microphone of webcam doesn't works on "apulse skype".

HI.
I have some other problem:
microphone works without the video a couple of minutes, but then turns off.
When the video - microphone works a couple of seconds, and off.
If it does not work for immediately, you need to edit .asoundrc

Offline

#5 2014-10-16 06:21:44

killer1804
Member
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Registered: 2010-07-26
Posts: 56

Re: apulse skype - microphone stops working.

brebs wrote:

I use:

capture.pcm "dsnoop"

See link in my sig, for full ~/.asoundrc

Hi, when i use "dsnoop" - on Skype stopped working as a microphone and speakers.
The list of available devices were some virtual devices.

my asoundrc was:

[user0@homelinux ~]$ cat ~/.asoundrc
pcm.usb
{
    type hw
    card Ultra
}

pcm.!default
{
    type asym
    playback.pcm
    {
        type plug
        slave.pcm "dmix"
    }
    capture.pcm "dsnoop"
    
}
[user0@homelinux ~]$ 

Offline

#6 2014-10-16 08:13:08

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,742

Re: apulse skype - microphone stops working.

You use "type plug", whereas I use "type dmix".

Offline

#7 2014-10-16 11:44:04

quellen
Member
Registered: 2014-05-24
Posts: 211

Re: apulse skype - microphone stops working.

I tried 'capture.pcm "dsnoop"' and 'type dmix' but microphone still doesn't works on "apulse skype".

:-(

the webcam microphone works good in Audacity and with "arecord -fS16_LE -D hw:2,0 -d 5 test.wav"


p.s.
killer1804, try this:

pcm.!default 
{
    type asym
    playback.pcm 
    {
	type plug
	slave.pcm "dmix"
    }
    capture.pcm 
    {
	type plug
	slave.pcm "hw:2,0"
    } 
}

Replace "hw:2,0" with with your capture device's card.

Last edited by quellen (2014-10-16 12:19:34)


sorry for my bad english.

Offline

#8 2014-10-16 13:49:32

killer1804
Member
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Registered: 2010-07-26
Posts: 56

Re: apulse skype - microphone stops working.

quellen wrote:

Replace "hw:2,0" with with your capture device's card.


it did not help me.
All as before - when the video is turn on -  microphone works from 5 seconds to then 2 minutes, and turn off.
Maybe it's important and perhaps not, but dmesg gives these messages:

[ 5197.630437] usb 1-3: 3:1: cannot get freq at ep 0x84
[ 5212.747568] usb 1-3: 3:1: cannot get freq at ep 0x84
[ 5212.770688] usb 1-3: 3:1: cannot get freq at ep 0x84
[ 5218.159561] usb 1-3: 3:1: cannot get freq at ep 0x84
[ 5218.182569] usb 1-3: 3:1: cannot get freq at ep 0x84
[ 5339.538253] usb 1-3: 3:1: cannot get freq at ep 0x84

Last edited by killer1804 (2014-10-16 13:49:56)

Offline

#9 2014-10-16 14:49:40

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,742

Re: apulse skype - microphone stops working.

killer1804 wrote:

microphone works from 5 seconds to then 2 minutes, and turn off.

Did it work OK with pulseaudio?

Try disabling USB auto-suspend.

Offline

#10 2014-10-17 02:45:38

killer1804
Member
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Registered: 2010-07-26
Posts: 56

Re: apulse skype - microphone stops working.

brebs wrote:
killer1804 wrote:

microphone works from 5 seconds to then 2 minutes, and turn off.

Did it work OK with pulseaudio?
Try disabling USB auto-suspend.

I do not want to use pulsaudio.
I use Skype is extremely rare, and I only need apulse for him.
can you give me a link to some wiki for "how to disabling USB auto-suspend" ?

I try to use a non-usb microphone, I think it solve my problem.

Offline

#11 2014-10-17 19:30:34

quellen
Member
Registered: 2014-05-24
Posts: 211

Re: apulse skype - microphone stops working.

I SOLVED!

I installed this version of apulse and now webcam microphone works good!:
https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/apulse/

(before I had apulse-git: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/apulse-git/ )


killer1804, try to use apulse. apulse-git is bad, :-(

Last edited by quellen (2014-10-17 19:47:38)


sorry for my bad english.

Offline

#12 2014-10-19 12:40:59

killer1804
Member
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Registered: 2010-07-26
Posts: 56

Re: apulse skype - microphone stops working.

quellen wrote:

killer1804, try to use apulse. apulse-git is bad, :-(

No. It did not help me. The microphone is still turned off.

Offline

#13 2014-10-19 13:51:36

hibajugala
Member
Registered: 2013-01-12
Posts: 35

Re: apulse skype - microphone stops working.

Skype is a 32-bit program. So make sure that if you're running 64bit, you're using apulse32 (lib32-apulse-git or lib32-apulse in aur).

Offline

#14 2014-10-31 00:06:53

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,742

Re: apulse skype - microphone stops working.

Here's a program to reduce Skype's polling smile

I just gave it a quick try, seems to work.

(Sorry, this is mildly off-topic, but surely of interest.)

Offline

#15 2015-02-25 15:08:34

Doctor Colossus
Member
Registered: 2012-08-26
Posts: 18

Re: apulse skype - microphone stops working.

killer1804, are you still having this problem? I am. My microphone stops working about one minute after I turn on video. If I leave video disabled, audio input and output work indefinitely through apulse, with or without an asound.conf.

I tried disabling usb autosuspend, as brebs suggested, but unfortunately that didn't resolve the problem for me. If you want to try that and still haven't, you can read how here, here, and here.

I've tried setting APULSE_CAPTURE_DEVICE and APULSE_PLAYBACK_DEVICE as indicated in the documentation and by apulse's developer in this similar-looking issue.

Have you tried running "apulse skype" in a terminal and logging the output?
When I do so, I get two identical libv4l2 video errors just before audio input stops working:

libv4l2: error dequeuing buf: Invalid argument

Then my audio input seems to be redirected to output -- input from my mic is output through my headphones, but is no longer transmitted to the remote party.

I tried preloading alternately v4l1compat.so and v4l2convert.so and experimenting with LIBV4LCONTROL_FLAGS, as recommended in other forums to people getting this video error, but it didn't help. After tweaking those, I managed to get a different v4l2 error:

libv4l2: error allocating conversion buffer

... but the mic still stopped working after a little while, just the same as before.

I've given up trying to figure this out for now, unless you or anyone else has any ideas to try.

In the meantime, I've switched back to using skype42 in the AUR with straight ALSA. It's working perfectly for me, and its maintainers recently enabled it to be installed on a single system concurrently with the mainline skype binary, which is convenient, since in the past it occasionally stopped working and I needed to use the latest official version to get a new login cookie.

Last edited by Doctor Colossus (2015-02-25 15:29:45)

Offline

#16 2015-11-20 06:07:30

killer1804
Member
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Registered: 2010-07-26
Posts: 56

Re: apulse skype - microphone stops working.

I still have this prolem. Mic still stops working whistout video.
Dose anyone solved this problem?
My only solution will be a use th windows 7.

Offline

#17 2015-11-27 00:04:16

Doctor Colossus
Member
Registered: 2012-08-26
Posts: 18

Re: apulse skype - microphone stops working.

Same here, on a new computer, but I think I remember having gotten it working on my older one. Have you try brebs' suggestion of disabling USB autosuspend? That was a good idea, which it seems no one here paid attention to. I think that is what probably worked for me, but now I need to test it on my new machine.

What do your /etc/modprobe.d/*.conf files look like? Try these options:

options usbcore autosuspend=-1
options uvcvideo nodrop=1

BTW, PM me if you'd like to help each other make a few test calls.

Last edited by Doctor Colossus (2015-11-27 01:23:02)

Offline

#18 2015-12-18 04:21:23

killer1804
Member
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Registered: 2010-07-26
Posts: 56

Re: apulse skype - microphone stops working.

Yesterday I discovered that Skype 4.2 has ceased to authorize me, but a few weeks ago, it worked perfectly.
On this issue with apulse again become relevant.
I tried to install apulse instead apulse-GIT, and used the "program to reduce Skype's polling" microphone stopped working much less - only a couple of times in two hours, but still the problem persists.
I remember exactly what the problem is manifested with non-usb microphone, and for example with a microphone jack, so "disabling USB autosuspend" does not help.
Also, I suspect that the problem will occur if I will pulseaudio apulse instead.
But since the issue prove Lennart Poettering, as well as to Microsoft we have with you is impossible - just have to accept.
And let them burn in hell.
Amen.

Offline

#19 2016-01-18 23:23:35

Doctor Colossus
Member
Registered: 2012-08-26
Posts: 18

Re: apulse skype - microphone stops working.

I have this problem using a USB headset. It's interesting to know that you're experiencing the same issue using a mic plugged in to the audio jack. I guess that rules out USB autosuspend. I don't know what else to try...

Anyway, skype42 still works for me. I use it for file transfers, since I have trouble sending files with the so-called 'current' version. You can get a new cookie for it by installing the latest Skype 4.3 and logging in with it once. After you have logged out, then Skype 4.2 should be able to use the same cookie to authenticate.

I am not sure what you mean about Lennart. Anyway, yeah... Microsoft apparently doesn't want Linux users to keep using Skype. I have switched to using SIP software (Blink, LinPhone, and Jitsi), which is great for audio, but they all seem to have some trouble with video... Now there is also WebRTC and Google Hangouts. It's just a pain getting all of my Skype contacts to switch.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB