You are not logged in.

#1 2014-11-01 17:22:26

cynicalpsycho

Maintaining stability within Arch/Backup Planning

Hello Forum,
I've been using Arch for around 5 months or so. I truly do love this operating system, and the amount of control it offers and to be fair, in the short time I've been using it, I've only had pain with one update, and it was still a relatively minor fix.

My issue is that I have recently assembled a new computer, and I'm debating on what to run as its primary OS. On this system I plan on having a couple of virtualized servers, which I will need to have regular access too, my worry is that Arch may have some major bug in the future after an update, and I will not be able to utilize these servers.

I have tried going back to a more stable yet extensible OS, fedora for example (Primarily because I will be administrating Redhat boxes in my next job) but I am now completely dissatisfied with an overly bloated and opaque operating system, that would require hours of streamlining to get it down to a level that feels comfortable.

I've thought of doing a dual boot with an LTS solution as a backup to ensure I can gain access to the system, but this would still be pretty resource intensive.

If you were going to be running a system that required stability. What would you do to ensure stability? What are some other possible minimal base, but highly extendable options?

Last edited by cynicalpsycho (2014-11-01 22:37:11)

#2 2014-11-01 17:39:03

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
Website

Re: Maintaining stability within Arch/Backup Planning

Read the news page and the mailing lists, to answer your questions.  If uptime is paramount, ie you are using these for commerce or the like, I recommend centos or Debian.  If money will not be lost, I have found arch to be plenty stable and afford me all the benefits you cited above as to why keep it.

Last edited by graysky (2014-11-01 17:39:44)

CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs