You are not logged in.

#1 2006-02-20 05:15:43

scrawler
Member
Registered: 2005-06-07
Posts: 312

2.6.15 won't boot for me

...and cfdisk doesn't see /dev/hda...


I guess I hosed something.  as a temporary fix, I chrooted from a live cd and installed the 2.4 kernel.

I guess I'd like to start over with scratch with a shiney new 2.6 kernel (custom not needed).  I'm not sure what messed up where. 

anybody have any suggestions?

I'm using lilo too...

Offline

#2 2006-02-20 09:05:25

syd
Member
From: Auckland, NZ
Registered: 2006-01-22
Posts: 155

Re: 2.6.15 won't boot for me

Have you got anymore info.
??An error message??

Is Lilo configured correctly?

Are you using the stock kernel? Because i was having problems with the archck.

How did you do cfdisk if you cant boot?
Try fdisk -ls

Hope you have figured it out.

Offline

#3 2006-02-20 13:16:05

scrawler
Member
Registered: 2005-06-07
Posts: 312

Re: 2.6.15 won't boot for me

howdy,

I can cfdisk because I'm using the 2.4 kernel right now.  I used cfdisk as an example--I also tried to grub-install, and it can't see the disk.

As far as error messages, they had to do with not being able to find the modules from a kernel version back (2.6.14, not found).

for my own sanity, I would like to try the "start over" method with the 2.6 kernel.  to wipe it out, I should:

uninstall the package
rm all *26 from boot
clear pacman's cache
uninstall lilo
install grub

does this sound correct?  except, I can't seem to install grub.  Wierd that my drive is not "visible," as I am using it now, but there you go.

Offline

#4 2006-02-21 08:07:41

syd
Member
From: Auckland, NZ
Registered: 2006-01-22
Posts: 155

Re: 2.6.15 won't boot for me

Yer that sounds right.
You dont need to clear all of pacman's cache. Just remove the kernel26 packages. And then remove it from the cache.

Id say more archer's use grub and there is more help on the forums for it.

Syd


P.S
You could try the archck kernel. The latest 2.6 doent work for me but it has fbsplash build in.
Here gandalfs howto if you want to try it. http://www.linux-globe.com/component/op … topic,65.0

Offline

#5 2006-02-21 08:17:26

syd
Member
From: Auckland, NZ
Registered: 2006-01-22
Posts: 155

Re: 2.6.15 won't boot for me

Here the wiki page for installing grub.

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GRUB

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB