You are not logged in.

#1 2014-12-18 02:42:01

d15d18a

How to install windows on a system already running Arch? [SOLVED]

Hello.
I use Arch for my daily use, but I'm having a big problem, my little brother. He wants to play videogames on the laptop and that's it, I know you can do it from Arch but I honestly don't want to install Steam neither anything else than what I need so I'm going to install Windows for him to play. I'm currently partitioning my HDD, but I was reading and I found out that you need GRUB in order to dual boot, I use syslinux, so my main question is, can I simply install windows and then install GRUB? Or do I have to do something before this?

Any help is welcome as I'm really new to dual booting Linux with Windows and the last time I used Windows was in 2006. So please help me or refer me to a good article as I'm scared to break something.

Last edited by d15d18a (2014-12-24 04:28:58)

#2 2014-12-18 02:52:18

the_shiver

Re: How to install windows on a system already running Arch? [SOLVED]

syslinux lends itself to dual booting just as well as grub

see https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Dual_boot for details

#3 2014-12-18 06:57:41

d15d18a

the_shiver wrote:

syslinux lends itself to dual booting just as well as grub

see https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Dual_boot for details

But Syslinux (as far as I know) only supports certain types of formats for my partitions, in this case, I'll need an NTFS partition and Syslinux does not support NTFS but GRUB does. I mainly have the doubt about how to delete syslinux and install grub after I have installed Windows.

#4 2014-12-18 10:13:53

x33a
Forum Fellow

d15d18a wrote:

But Syslinux (as far as I know) only supports certain types of formats for my partitions, in this case, I'll need an NTFS partition and Syslinux does not support NTFS but GRUB does. I mainly have the doubt about how to delete syslinux and install grub after I have installed Windows.