You are not logged in.

#1 2014-12-19 18:48:08

mutaphore

Connecting to Wifi in Public

Hi, total newb here. I'm not sure if this topic has been addressed already, but googling around didn't come up with any relate results. My question is, when you're at some public place such as a Starbucks or library and you want to connect to their wifi network, how do you do it? These networks don't need a password, on my mac I just simply connect to it and a separate window pops up allowing me to confirm connecting to it. However, these are designated as WPA2 type networks. When I follow the guides to connect with wifi-menu, it asks me to put in password, but I don't have one? How do you go about connecting to these types of networks?

Thanks for helping out!

-m

#2 2014-12-19 19:06:55

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Website

Re: Connecting to Wifi in Public

I gather that on your mac you had previously entered (and saved) those passwords.  You cannot connect to a password secured network without the password, regardless of what OS you are using.

At cafes that allow public access to the network you can ask the staff, or just look around: there is likely a note on a wall somewhere with the network name and password.

If you are trying to connect to secured networks without permission what you are doing is wrong.

"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

#3 2014-12-19 20:49:07

mutaphore

Thanks for the response. What I mean is that when I connect to their wifi, it doesn't ask me for any authentication information and I could go online, what type of wifi security is that? (On OSX it shows up as WPA2 Personal).