You are not logged in.

#1 2014-12-21 16:32:12

Meskarune
Member
From: Helsinki, Finland
Registered: 2009-03-21
Posts: 361
Website

Fancy i3 lock script

I made a script that creates a fancy i3lock lock screen by bluring a screen shot of your desktop and adding in an icon and text:


ws1XBklt.png

The script uses i3lock-colors-git aur package, image magick and scrot.

Github: https://github.com/meskarune/i3lock-fancy/

I save it in /usr/local/bin and use it with xautolock and a systemd unit file to automatically lock the screen after 5 minutes:

[Unit]
Description=Lock the screen automatically after a timeout

[Service]
Type=simple
User=meskarune
Environment=DISPLAY=:0
ExecStart=/usr/bin/xautolock -time 5 -locker /usr/local/bin/lock -detectsleep

[Install]
WantedBy=graphical.target

Homepage  | Arch Linux Women | Arch Linux Classroom
Acer Aspire E5-575G-53VG:
Intel Dual-Core i5-6200U 2.3 GHz; Skylake rev3 | 8GB DDR4 ram | Intel HD Graphics 520 + NVIDIA GeForce 940MX
Qualcomm Atheros QCA9377 802.11ac | Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 Gigabit Ethernet Controller

Offline

#2 2014-12-21 17:20:01

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 18,320

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

Nice.  Sadly, I don't use a lock screen, so I'll not be using it sad

Good to see you around.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#3 2014-12-23 02:34:51

egroeg
Member
Registered: 2011-02-23
Posts: 40

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

Looks great.

Offline

#4 2014-12-27 16:24:57

Meskarune
Member
From: Helsinki, Finland
Registered: 2009-03-21
Posts: 361
Website

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

Thanks. smile I made this mostly for fun, to see what I could do with a lightweight screen locker. i3lock isn't as secure as physlock and i3lock-color is a little out of date compared to i3lock, so this is really just something to keep housemates from using your computer. It could also be a little embarrassing if you leave porn/guilty pleasure TV Shows paused... tongue


Homepage  | Arch Linux Women | Arch Linux Classroom
Acer Aspire E5-575G-53VG:
Intel Dual-Core i5-6200U 2.3 GHz; Skylake rev3 | 8GB DDR4 ram | Intel HD Graphics 520 + NVIDIA GeForce 940MX
Qualcomm Atheros QCA9377 802.11ac | Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 Gigabit Ethernet Controller

Offline

#5 2014-12-29 11:42:03

Cthulu201
Member
Registered: 2014-12-28
Posts: 14

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

Nice.


“Never Explain Anything” - H.P. Lovecraft

GitHub:Pastebin

Offline

#6 2015-01-02 14:34:58

LeonardK
Member
From: Berlin, Germany
Registered: 2014-07-31
Posts: 591

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

Wow. I can't decide now, whether I want to stick to my bsod-lockscreen:
zwFFFqts.png

or this neat one hmm


It's 106 miles to Chicago we got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, its dark and we're wearing sunglasses.

Offline

#7 2015-01-02 16:59:33

cris9288
Member
Registered: 2013-01-07
Posts: 348

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

LeonardK wrote:

Wow. I can't decide now, whether I want to stick to my bsod-lockscreen:
http://i.imgur.com/zwFFFqts.png

or this neat one hmm

driver_irql_not_less_or_equal

A problem that cannot be solved.

Last edited by cris9288 (2015-01-02 16:59:55)

Offline

#8 2015-01-02 17:40:36

LeonardK
Member
From: Berlin, Germany
Registered: 2014-07-31
Posts: 591

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

cris9288 wrote:

driver_irql_not_less_or_equal

A problem that cannot be solved.

poor Microsoft, they don't have an Allan to blame ;-)


It's 106 miles to Chicago we got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, its dark and we're wearing sunglasses.

Offline

#9 2015-01-28 19:21:27

mattlyons0
Member
Registered: 2015-01-28
Posts: 2

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

The animation of the ring around the lock when you type is awesome. Thanks! I'm gonna use this.

Offline

#10 2015-01-28 19:52:53

thiagowfx
Member
Registered: 2013-07-09
Posts: 586

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

Here is your package, ma'am: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/i3lock-fancy-git/

Edit: @LeonardK BTW, I have a new lockscreen image now, thanks smile

Last edited by thiagowfx (2015-01-28 19:54:14)

Offline

#11 2015-01-28 19:59:32

LeonardK
Member
From: Berlin, Germany
Registered: 2014-07-31
Posts: 591

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

thiagowfx wrote:

Here is your package, ma'am: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/i3lock-fancy-git/

Edit: @LeonardK BTW, I have a new lockscreen image now, thanks smile

No problem ;-)

thanks for the package. My BSOD locker is pretty long-used now, so I really should be using this one by now big_smile


It's 106 miles to Chicago we got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, its dark and we're wearing sunglasses.

Offline

#12 2015-04-16 22:18:06

Meskarune
Member
From: Helsinki, Finland
Registered: 2009-03-21
Posts: 361
Website

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

thiagowfx wrote:

Here is your package, ma'am: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/i3lock-fancy-git/

Edit: @LeonardK BTW, I have a new lockscreen image now, thanks smile

thanks wink


Homepage  | Arch Linux Women | Arch Linux Classroom
Acer Aspire E5-575G-53VG:
Intel Dual-Core i5-6200U 2.3 GHz; Skylake rev3 | 8GB DDR4 ram | Intel HD Graphics 520 + NVIDIA GeForce 940MX
Qualcomm Atheros QCA9377 802.11ac | Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 Gigabit Ethernet Controller

Offline

#13 2015-04-16 23:03:23

bleach
Member
Registered: 2013-07-26
Posts: 264

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

nice thanks it works wonderfully. I changed the font and directory though very transparent script and it looks nice.

Offline

#14 2015-04-18 23:04:22

nabz0r
Member
From: Up north in the Viking Land
Registered: 2015-04-18
Posts: 18
Website

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

Is there a way to tell a newbie Arch user how to use this awesome lock? I have installed the package provided by thiagowfx. I looked around my system but I don't find, or know how to activate/use it. Thank you in advanced!

Edit: I can use i3lock-fancy and I lock it but is there any other way of doing that?

Last edited by nabz0r (2015-04-18 23:21:29)


Cisco Network Consultant

Offline

#15 2015-04-19 08:01:21

LeonardK
Member
From: Berlin, Germany
Registered: 2014-07-31
Posts: 591

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

I just bind it on a key in my i3 config file


It's 106 miles to Chicago we got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, its dark and we're wearing sunglasses.

Offline

#16 2015-04-19 11:13:03

nabz0r
Member
From: Up north in the Viking Land
Registered: 2015-04-18
Posts: 18
Website

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

LeonardK wrote:

I just bind it on a key in my i3 config file

Does this mean that I can ONLY use it with i3 WM? Or it is possible to use it while using normal xfce WM?


Cisco Network Consultant

Offline

#17 2015-04-19 11:26:29

Mercader1902
Member
Registered: 2014-09-01
Posts: 55

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

nabz0r wrote:
LeonardK wrote:

I just bind it on a key in my i3 config file

Does this mean that I can ONLY use it with i3 WM? Or it is possible to use it while using normal xfce WM?

You can use it in any WM.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xf … _Shortcuts

Offline

#18 2015-04-19 11:55:31

nabz0r
Member
From: Up north in the Viking Land
Registered: 2015-04-18
Posts: 18
Website

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

Mercader1902 wrote:
nabz0r wrote:
LeonardK wrote:

I just bind it on a key in my i3 config file

Does this mean that I can ONLY use it with i3 WM? Or it is possible to use it while using normal xfce WM?

You can use it in any WM.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xf … _Shortcuts

Thank you!

I added it here XFCE Menu > Settings > Keyboard, Application Shortcuts "i3lock-fancy# and used "Super+L" shortcut and it works, is that correct?

Last edited by nabz0r (2015-04-19 11:58:08)


Cisco Network Consultant

Offline

#19 2015-04-19 12:57:10

LeonardK
Member
From: Berlin, Germany
Registered: 2014-07-31
Posts: 591

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

Sure, you can use any shortcut you like – there's no "correct" or "incorrect" ;-)


It's 106 miles to Chicago we got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, its dark and we're wearing sunglasses.

Offline

#20 2015-04-20 15:32:03

firekage
Member
From: Eastern Europe, Poland
Registered: 2013-06-30
Posts: 609

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

nabz0r wrote:

Is there a way to tell a newbie Arch user how to use this awesome lock? I have installed the package provided by thiagowfx. I looked around my system but I don't find, or know how to activate/use it. Thank you in advanced!

Edit: I can use i3lock-fancy and I lock it but is there any other way of doing that?

Agree to that - i'm trying to find how to use it, where are the config files, what to change. Also, the same problem is with i3lock and xautolock - man pages are poor.

Offline

#21 2015-04-20 15:41:51

LeonardK
Member
From: Berlin, Germany
Registered: 2014-07-31
Posts: 591

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

firekage wrote:
nabz0r wrote:

Is there a way to tell a newbie Arch user how to use this awesome lock? I have installed the package provided by thiagowfx. I looked around my system but I don't find, or know how to activate/use it. Thank you in advanced!

Edit: I can use i3lock-fancy and I lock it but is there any other way of doing that?

Agree to that - i'm trying to find how to use it, where are the config files, what to change. Also, the same problem is with i3lock and xautolock - man pages are poor.

I think they are not poor. They are just targeted at other users. There's no other way how to do that with i3lock-fancy. It does not much more than taking a screenshot, blurring it and then running the locker.

The only way to "run" it, "to do that", is running the command. That means there's nothing more to be written in the manpage as the configuration.

To use i3lock-fancy as your lockscreen you just need to run the command. Ofcourse you maybe want to bind it or whatever – but this is NOT part of i3lock(-fany) but of the program that runs the command. For i3: just bind $Mykeycombination i3lock-fancy. For other DEs/WMs/whatever this is probably different – but that is part of their program and is to be documented there.

Many WMs have no specific "lock screen" feature but just keybind a command instead (eg. i3). More "sophisticated" DEs however might bring their own locker to exactly suit their needs. But maybe this can be replaced; a search term could be.: "Gnome bind command to lockscreen" or "Gnome change lockscreen command"


Do not judge that early please – this program is only a small script that the OP posted here to share it without support, JUST AS IS. It was just written for the person itself and not intended to be shared in first place. The sharing is just a minor upload, which is just nice.
Additionally this post was not posted in Ubuntu forums but in Arch bbs and thus can be called "targeted at advanced users". This is not elite or in anyway "bad" at "newbies" but just the way it is. There's nothing about asking how to do it (I replied the first commenter) but saying the "manpages are poor" is presuming oneself in a position to judge. And in this case this is – imho – just not given.

Last edited by LeonardK (2015-04-20 15:44:30)


It's 106 miles to Chicago we got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, its dark and we're wearing sunglasses.

Offline

#22 2015-04-20 16:04:06

thiagowfx
Member
Registered: 2013-07-09
Posts: 586

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

Random tip: if you're not sure what do to with a package after installing it, do a

pacman -Ql <package name>

and you'll see all the files it has installed. This usually helps to know about executable names or to find random helps located under /usr/share, or even man pages with a name you wouldn't expect.

Last edited by thiagowfx (2015-04-20 16:04:37)

Offline

#23 2015-04-20 17:12:14

LeonardK
Member
From: Berlin, Germany
Registered: 2014-07-31
Posts: 591

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

thiagowfx wrote:

Random tip: if you're not sure what do to with a package after installing it, do a

pacman -Ql <package name>

and you'll see all the files it has installed. This usually helps to know about executable names or to find random helps located under /usr/share, or even man pages with a name you wouldn't expect.

Hm, I'm just before cherry-picking this into the "ooh, nice" thread ;-)


It's 106 miles to Chicago we got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, its dark and we're wearing sunglasses.

Offline

#24 2015-04-20 17:23:07

Mercader1902
Member
Registered: 2014-09-01
Posts: 55

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

firekage wrote:
nabz0r wrote:

Is there a way to tell a newbie Arch user how to use this awesome lock? I have installed the package provided by thiagowfx. I looked around my system but I don't find, or know how to activate/use it. Thank you in advanced!

Edit: I can use i3lock-fancy and I lock it but is there any other way of doing that?

Agree to that - i'm trying to find how to use it, where are the config files, what to change. Also, the same problem is with i3lock and xautolock - man pages are poor.


If you have installed the AUR package, in /usr/share/i3lock-fancy you have the files to tweak the script and change the icon.

Last edited by Mercader1902 (2015-04-20 17:24:25)

Offline

#25 2015-10-29 10:13:27

nabz0r
Member
From: Up north in the Viking Land
Registered: 2015-04-18
Posts: 18
Website

Re: Fancy i3 lock script

Sorry for bumping this thread again, but I was wondering if this i3lock-fancy can be used on Ubuntu gnome 15.04? I tried some ways I found around but no success.


Cisco Network Consultant

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB