You are not logged in.

#1 2015-01-21 15:51:49

aaa234
Member
Registered: 2015-01-07
Posts: 33

[SOLVED] nouveau error while booting arch

Hi!!! I'm newbie to arch, here is an error I can't solve myself. I search in google for solutions but they didn't solved. Please help me to solve this. I dual booted arch linux with window 8.1. After installation, while booting for the first time, this error occurred.

Here is the error I found.

[0.063411] Ignoring BGRT: Invalid status 0 (expected 1)
starting version 218
Arch_Linux: clean, 70622/18677760 files, 1643393/74703025 blocks
[    15.759913] nouveau E[  PIBUST][0000:01:00.0] HUBO: 0xffffffff (0x1a
[    15.759952] nouveau E[  PIBUST][0000:01:00.0] GPCO: 0x00000001 (0x1a
[    15.823494] nouveau E[    PBUS][0000:01:00.0] MMIO: 0x00000000 FAULT a
[    15.824050] nouveau E[     DRM]Pointer to TMDS table invalid
[    15.824072] nouveau E[     DRM]Pointer to flat panel table invalid}

Last edited by aaa234 (2015-02-04 04:18:42)

Offline

#2 2015-01-21 15:58:53

runical
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2012-03-03
Posts: 896

Re: [SOLVED] nouveau error while booting arch

Please use code tags for errors like this makes the error easier to read.

Maybe a silly question, but what is your video card? Is it a NVIDEA card? There were some threads with people installing nividea drivers while they had intel graphics.What happens if you install the nvidea driver?

Can you also provide some more details about your setup?

Offline

#3 2015-01-21 16:08:18

aaa234
Member
Registered: 2015-01-07
Posts: 33

Re: [SOLVED] nouveau error while booting arch

Thank u for ur quick reply. Yeah, it is NVIDEA card. I installed arch following this youtube video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=METZCp_JCec. I think I haven't installed nividea driver, I'm sorry if this is a stupid answer.

Offline

#4 2015-01-21 16:10:19

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 27,734
Website

Re: [SOLVED] nouveau error while booting arch

Don't use random youtube videos; use the Arch wiki.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#5 2015-01-21 16:13:02

aaa234
Member
Registered: 2015-01-07
Posts: 33

Re: [SOLVED] nouveau error while booting arch

Yeah, this was my fault sir. Should I uninstall arch and then install again according to wiki?

Last edited by aaa234 (2015-01-21 16:14:14)

Offline

#6 2015-01-21 16:14:25

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 27,734
Website

Re: [SOLVED] nouveau error while booting arch

Yes, just follow the Beginner's Guide...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#7 2015-01-21 16:18:29

aaa234
Member
Registered: 2015-01-07
Posts: 33

Re: [SOLVED] nouveau error while booting arch

Thank u sir.

Offline

#8 2015-01-24 18:55:18

aaa234
Member
Registered: 2015-01-07
Posts: 33

Re: [SOLVED] nouveau error while booting arch

The installation following arch wiki was finished but the error remained the same when I installed gnome, what should I do?

Last edited by aaa234 (2015-01-24 18:59:13)

Offline

#9 2015-01-26 07:39:26

Alfie_89
Member
From: Trondheim, Norway
Registered: 2015-01-18
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] nouveau error while booting arch

You followed this installation? https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/No … stallation
And make sure you have Xorg properly installed. https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xorg

Offline

#10 2015-01-26 12:31:04

hydn
Member
From: Antigua
Registered: 2012-09-23
Posts: 104
Website

Re: [SOLVED] nouveau error while booting arch

same error as OP. Installed UEFI and using WIKI.

[0.063411] Ignoring BGRT: Invalid status 0 (expected 1)

See: https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=90841

I don't have the nouveau error because I install nvidia package.

Last edited by hydn (2015-01-26 12:36:25)

Offline

#11 2015-02-03 13:16:59

aaa234
Member
Registered: 2015-01-07
Posts: 33

Re: [SOLVED] nouveau error while booting arch

Alfie_89 wrote:

You followed this installation? https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/No … stallation
And make sure you have Xorg properly installed. https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xorg

I think problem has been solved as ur guidelines, but I got a new one. I can't login from tty1. It says login incorrect. I set root passwd when I installed and that root passwd can't make to log in.

Offline

#12 2015-02-03 13:47:26

runical
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2012-03-03
Posts: 896

Re: [SOLVED] nouveau error while booting arch

aaa234 wrote:
Alfie_89 wrote:

You followed this installation? https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/No … stallation
And make sure you have Xorg properly installed. https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xorg

I think problem has been solved as ur guidelines, but I got a new one. I can't login from tty1. It says login incorrect. I set root passwd when I installed and that root passwd can't make to log in.

That is a different problem to be honest. I assume that you can login using your normal user? If you set up sudo you might be able to get into root by using

sudo su

and change the password like that.

Last edited by runical (2015-02-03 13:47:50)

Offline

#13 2015-02-03 15:23:55

aaa234
Member
Registered: 2015-01-07
Posts: 33

Re: [SOLVED] nouveau error while booting arch

runical wrote:


That is a different problem to be honest. I assume that you can login using your normal user? If you set up sudo you might be able to get into root by using

sudo su

and change the password like that.

I'm sorry if this is a noob question. Where do I type sudo su because as soon as the OS is booted, the system asks localhost login and password. I haven't installed any desktop environment yet. I only set up a password under arch-chroot but I can't login with and without that password.

Offline

#14 2015-02-03 15:57:46

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 4,938
Website

Re: [SOLVED] nouveau error while booting arch

When the GRUB menu shows, press "e" and add "init=/bin/bash" to the end of the kernel line and press <Ctrl>+x

This will boot you into a password-less root shell and you can use:

# passwd root

wink

Offline

#15 2015-02-03 16:29:47

aaa234
Member
Registered: 2015-01-07
Posts: 33

Re: [SOLVED] nouveau error while booting arch

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

When the GRUB menu shows, press "e" and add "init=/bin/bash" to the end of the kernel line and press <Ctrl>+x

This will boot you into a password-less root shell and you can use:

# passwd root

wink

It didn't work bro, I didn't know what was wrong. Is it ok, if I email u some screenshots?

Last edited by aaa234 (2015-02-03 16:30:24)

Offline

#16 2015-02-03 16:54:28

aaa234
Member
Registered: 2015-01-07
Posts: 33

Re: [SOLVED] nouveau error while booting arch

aaa234 wrote:
Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

When the GRUB menu shows, press "e" and add "init=/bin/bash" to the end of the kernel line and press <Ctrl>+x

This will boot you into a password-less root shell and you can use:

# passwd root

wink

It didn't work bro, I didn't know what was wrong. Is it ok, if I email u some screenshots?

problem has been solved with this https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=168879

Last edited by aaa234 (2015-02-03 16:55:22)

Offline

#17 2015-02-03 21:04:47

runical
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2012-03-03
Posts: 896

Re: [SOLVED] nouveau error while booting arch

aaa234 wrote:
runical wrote:

That is a different problem to be honest. I assume that you can login using your normal user? If you set up sudo you might be able to get into root by using

sudo su

and change the password like that.

I'm sorry if this is a noob question. Where do I type sudo su because as soon as the OS is booted, the system asks localhost login and password. I haven't installed any desktop environment yet. I only set up a password under arch-chroot but I can't login with and without that password.

I was assuming a normal installed environment with a normal user. Using "sudo su", you can abuse privileges granted by sudo to circumvent the password required by su. A well configured sudo should not allow this, but in this case it seemed likely that the system was not completely set up yet.

problem has been solved with this https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=168879

Then, if there are no more problems, please mark the thread as solved.

Offline

#18 2015-02-04 04:09:34

aaa234
Member
Registered: 2015-01-07
Posts: 33

Re: [SOLVED] nouveau error while booting arch

OK. Thank u for ur help bros big_smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB