You are not logged in.

#1 2006-03-04 09:21:51

droog
Member
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 877

Resolution problem

I just got a new lcd monitor and am having a hard time finding any info on getting the native 1680x1050 resolution, I tried adding a modeline and changing the mode. but the monitor says out of range.
It looks like crap at any of the available resolutions.

any ideas? Is it udev not detecting it properly?

Offline

#2 2006-03-04 09:49:00

vacant
Member
From: downstairs
Registered: 2004-11-05
Posts: 801

Re: Resolution problem

What are your monitor's horizsync & vertrefresh values?

Post the output of

grep -v "^#" /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Offline

#3 2006-03-04 10:32:28

droog
Member
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 877

Re: Resolution problem

OK here it is, I found someone on the ubuntu forums with the same monitor so I am trying what they used now, to no avail.

Section "Module"
    Load        "dbe"      # Double buffer extension
    SubSection  "extmod"
      Option    "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
    EndSubSection
    Load        "type1"
    Load        "freetype"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    RgbPath    "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/TTF/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/CID/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/local/"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier    "Keyboard1"
    Driver    "kbd"
    Option "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
    Option "XkbRules"    "xorg"
    Option "XkbModel"    "pc101"
    Option "XkbLayout"    "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier    "Mouse1"
    Driver    "mouse"
    Option "Protocol"    "ExplorerPS/2"
    Option "Device"      "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "VA2012wb
    HorizSync       30.0 - 75.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 94.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier    "Standard VGA"
    VendorName    "Unknown"
    BoardName    "Unknown"
    Driver     "vga"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "nvidia"
    Driver      "nv"
    #VideoRam    131072
    # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen 1"
    Device      "nvidia"
    Monitor        "VA2012wSERIE"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       1
        Modes      "1680x1050" "1600x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       4
        Modes      "1680x1050" "1600x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       8
        Modes      "1680x1050" "1600x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       15
        Modes      "1680x1050" "1600x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes      "1680x1050" "1600x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes      "1680x1050" "1600x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
EndSection
 
Section "ServerLayout"

    Identifier  "Simple Layout"

    Screen "Screen 1"

    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"

EndSection

edit: except under device they were using nvidia instead of vga.

Offline

#4 2006-03-04 12:10:56

vacant
Member
From: downstairs
Registered: 2004-11-05
Posts: 801

Re: Resolution problem

(edit - from your edit, are you using nvidia? I doubt vga will do that resolution - see /var/log/Xorg.0.log?)

Try this:

In the monitor section comment out the horizsync & vert refresh lines
and change to

option "DPMS" "true"

Restart X, If that doesn't work...

In the device section for nvidia, you could try

option "IgnoreEDID" "true"

Restart X, If that doesn't work...

Using "gtf" I got this modeline

$ gtf 1680 1050 75

  # 1680x1050 @ 75.00 Hz (GTF) hsync: 82.20 kHz; pclk: 188.07 MHz
  Modeline "1680x1050_75.00"  188.07  1680 1800 1984 2288  1050 1051 1054 1096  -HSync +Vsync

So try adding that modeline in the monitor section (REMOVE the "_75.00" bit) and although DPMS should take care of getting your monitor frequencies, maybe uncomment the vertrefresh and horizsync.

Offline

#5 2006-03-04 15:47:46

elasticdog
Member
From: Washington, USA
Registered: 2005-05-02
Posts: 995
Website

Re: Resolution problem

What error do you get when you run <code>startx</code>?  To me, it just looks like you've got a mis-match of names.  You make your monitor's Identifier <code>"VA2012wb"</code> (NOTE: you're missing a closing quotation mark " in the monitor section), and then in the screen section you say you want to use Monitor <code>"VA2012wSERIE"</code> when I believe those have to match.

What kind of monitor is it?  I have a Dell UltraSharp 2005fpw with the same native resolution, and since upgrading to Xorg 7, I don't actually have to specify a ModeLine anymore...I can post my <code>xorg.conf</code> if that would help.

Offline

#6 2006-03-05 03:46:05

droog
Member
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 877

Re: Resolution problem

Thanks for the help, ya that xorg.conf i posted was screwed. I was pasting parts of peoples working configs in there and missed a few things.

I decided to do a pacman -Suy, I only do them around once a month when i have time to get everything working right. I think i have most of the kinks worked out now, so im going to try those suggestions now that my system is up to date and working.

The monitor is a Viewsonic VA2012wb 20.1 widescreen. Alot of people have that dell one, its just hard to find info on this one.

ya if you could post your xorg.conf i would appreciate it, im going to try vacants suggestions and see if that helps now.

Offline

#7 2006-03-05 05:23:56

droog
Member
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 877

Re: Resolution problem

I got it working and wow it looks great, thanks for the help.

Offline

#8 2006-03-05 05:30:31

elasticdog
Member
From: Washington, USA
Registered: 2005-05-02
Posts: 995
Website

Re: Resolution problem

The relevant sections of my <code>xorg.conf</code> file are this:

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier   "Monitor0"
    VendorName   "Dell"
    ModelName    "UltraSharp 2005FPW"
    HorizSync    30.0 - 83.0
    VertRefresh  56.0 - 75.0
    Option       "DPMS"  "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Card0"
    Driver      "nvidia"
    VendorName  "nVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName   "GeForce 6200"
    Option      "HWCursor"              "off"
    Option      "IgnoreDisplayDevices"  "CRT, TV"
    Option      "NoLogo"                "true"
    Option      "NvAgp"                 "1"
    Option      "RenderAccel"           "true"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device     "Card0"
    Monitor    "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport  0 0
        Depth     24
        Modes     "1680x1050"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Using Xorg 7, I basically just had to make sure that I listed accurate horizontal and vertical sync frequencies (you should be able to find that info in you monitor's manual or on Viewsonic's website).  The <code>DPMS</code> is just to enable power management stuff.

The important part of the "Device" section is the <code>Driver</code>...beyond that you only really need an <code>Identifier</code>.  The rest of the options are nVIDIA specific rules for 3D accelleration.

I used to have a lot more info, like <code>DisplaySize</code> and <code>ModeLine</code>, etc. but that wasn't necessary once I moved up to Xorg 7.  Any other questions, just ask...good luck!

Offline

#9 2006-03-05 05:33:14

elasticdog
Member
From: Washington, USA
Registered: 2005-05-02
Posts: 995
Website

Re: Resolution problem

DOH!  Too late!!!  big_smile Glad you got it working...

Offline

#10 2006-03-05 06:58:55

droog
Member
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 877

Re: Resolution problem

I can still glean some info from your xorg.conf, this widescreen gonna take some getting used to it looks great, but strange. It's not the square that im used to staring at.

Offline

#11 2006-03-05 08:55:02

droog
Member
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 877

Re: Resolution problem

using a 75hz refresh rate was one of my main problems, and the user guide for the monitor was on the windows cd it came with so i had little documentation. but at 70hz its working perfectly at that resolution.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB