You are not logged in.

#1 2015-02-17 23:07:15

Link64

[SOLVED] Unable to mount drives with Thunar / udisks2

Hello everyone,

I recently tried to install arch on my laptop with windows installed as a dual-boot. However everything worked fine and I came around most problems with the help of the wiki (I am still an absolute newbie).

Right now I am just trying to optimize my system for me, and since there are many shared files on an NTFS partition of my hard drive and also since I am really lazy and don't want to mount it as root and then drag the files from the drive to my home directory and then give change the owner from root back to myself and everything, I thought I could probaply use udisks2 within thunar to make it easier for me to access data on that drive.

Anyways, after reading the wiki article about udisks I also installed polkit and set up a 50-udiskie.rules file like that:

polkit.addRule(function(action,subject) { 
 if(action.id == "org.freedesktop.udisks2.filesystem-mount" ||
    action.id == "org.freedesktop.udisks2.encrypted-unlock" ||
    action.id == "org.freedesktop.udisks2.eject-media" ||
    action.id == "org.freedesktop.udisks2.power-off-drive" ||
    action.id == "org.freedesktop.udisks2.filesystem-mount-other-seat" ||
    action.id == "org.freedesktop.udisks2.encrypted-unlock-other-seat" ||
    action.id == "org.freedesktop.udisks2.eject-media-other-seat" ||
    action.id == "org.freedesktop.udisks2.power-off-drive-other-seat"
   {
    return polkit.Result.YES;
   }
});

That one kinda works, but somehow, it doesn't. Whenever I reboot my system I have to manually restart polkit and udisks2 using systemctl to apply those rules (At least it looks like that for me). After doing that, the problem is gone, that it tells me that I have "No permission to perform this operation."