You are not logged in.

#1 2015-02-28 19:17:02

Fred Barclay
Member
From: /home
Registered: 2015-02-27
Posts: 123

<SOLVED>"Root device not mounted read-write" warning

Every time I boot Arch up, I get the following warning:
"The root device is not configured to be mounted read-write! It may be fsck'd again later."

So far I have done absolutely nothing to the partition, other than set a root password and hostname.
Everything I've read online indicates that this is a problem with the bootloader configuration files mounting the partition as ro instead of rw. Unfortunately, I don't have a bootloader installed. Arch is installed on sda2, and LMDE is installed on sda1, and I just use LMDE's GRUB to boot Arch.

Any idea how to fix this?

Last edited by Fred Barclay (2015-02-28 22:40:31)

Offline

#2 2015-02-28 19:23:38

bteeuwen170
Member
From: Belgie
Registered: 2015-02-27
Posts: 2

Re: <SOLVED>"Root device not mounted read-write" warning

There's already multiple threads on the same topic. This one for example: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=167552.

Offline

#3 2015-02-28 19:26:34

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 7,732
Website

Re: <SOLVED>"Root device not mounted read-write" warning

You could make a custom GRUB entry for Arch and add "rw" to the kernel line.

In LMDE, add the Arch entry to /etc/grub.d/40_custom -- just copy&paste the entry from /boot/grub/grub.cfg and add the "rw" option.

You will need to generate the grub.cfg afterwards:

# update-grub

Offline

#4 2015-02-28 19:51:01

Fred Barclay
Member
From: /home
Registered: 2015-02-27
Posts: 123

Re: <SOLVED>"Root device not mounted read-write" warning

This is what is under /boot/grub/grub.cfg for Arch:

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
menuentry "Arch (on /dev/sda2)" --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root ********************************
    linux /boot/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/sda2
    initrd /boot/initramfs-linux.img
}


Where would I add the rw option?
Thanks!

NOTE: --set=root did have numbers instead of asterisks, but I didn't want to post them. smile

Offline

#5 2015-02-28 20:04:12

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 7,732
Website

Re: <SOLVED>"Root device not mounted read-write" warning

Fred Barclay wrote:

Where would I add the rw option?

On the line that starts with "linux" just after "root=/dev/sda2"

Be aware that this file will be overwritten every time the LMDE kernel (or initramfs) is upgraded -- this is why I advise the use of /etc/grub.d/40_custom instead.

Offline

#6 2015-02-28 20:10:52

Fred Barclay
Member
From: /home
Registered: 2015-02-27
Posts: 123

Re: <SOLVED>"Root device not mounted read-write" warning

so /etc/grub/d/40_custom would look like

menuentry "Arch (on /dev/sda2)" --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root ********************************
    linux /boot/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/sda2 rw
    initrd /boot/initramfs-linux.img
}

and the rw is without quotes?

Thanks

Offline

#7 2015-02-28 20:12:27

nullified
Member
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2013-12-09
Posts: 468

Re: <SOLVED>"Root device not mounted read-write" warning

Fyi, chunks of code are easier on the eyes for most when code tags are used. likeso:

menuentry "Arch (on /dev/sda2)" --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root ********************************
    linux /boot/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/sda2 rw
    initrd /boot/initramfs-linux.img
}

"We may say most aptly, that the Analytical Engine weaves algebraical patterns just as the Jacquard-loom weaves flowers and leaves." - Ada Lovelace

Offline

#8 2015-02-28 20:13:42

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 7,732
Website

Re: <SOLVED>"Root device not mounted read-write" warning

Yes and yes.

Add that entry underneath the extant content of /etc/grub.d/40_custom:

#!/bin/sh
exec tail -n +3 $0
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.

Offline

#9 2015-02-28 20:15:52

Fred Barclay
Member
From: /home
Registered: 2015-02-27
Posts: 123

Re: <SOLVED>"Root device not mounted read-write" warning

nullified wrote:

Fyi, chunks of code are easier on the eyes for most when code tags are used. likeso:

menuentry "Arch (on /dev/sda2)" --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root ********************************
    linux /boot/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/sda2 rw
    initrd /boot/initramfs-linux.img
}

How to use code tags?

Last edited by Fred Barclay (2015-02-28 20:16:08)

Offline

#10 2015-02-28 20:16:56

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 7,732
Website

Re: <SOLVED>"Root device not mounted read-write" warning

Fred Barclay wrote:

How to use code tags?

[᠎code]post terminal output here[᠎/code]
https://bbs.archlinux.org/help.php#bbcode

EDIT: Was that not obvious from the quoted text?
tongue

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2015-02-28 20:17:44)

Offline

#11 2015-02-28 20:30:40

Fred Barclay
Member
From: /home
Registered: 2015-02-27
Posts: 123

Re: <SOLVED>"Root device not mounted read-write" warning

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
Fred Barclay wrote:

How to use code tags?

[᠎code]post terminal output here[᠎/code]
https://bbs.archlinux.org/help.php#bbcode

EDIT: Was that not obvious from the quoted text?
tongue

I'd tried it earlier that way--must have done something wrong--and so I figured that there was something I was missing.
Here goes:

apt moo

Have you moo'ed today? smile

Offline

#12 2015-02-28 21:07:54

Fred Barclay
Member
From: /home
Registered: 2015-02-27
Posts: 123

Re: <SOLVED>"Root device not mounted read-write" warning

Didn't work sad

Quick review: I added

menuentry "Arch (on /dev/sda2)" --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root ********************************
    linux /boot/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/sda2 rw
    initrd /boot/initramfs-linux.img
}

to /etc/grub.d/40_custom and then ran

sudo update-grub

inside LMDE.
The only noticeable difference is that I now have 2 Arch entries in the GRUB menu. sad

Offline

#13 2015-02-28 21:21:48

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 7,732
Website

Re: <SOLVED>"Root device not mounted read-write" warning

In which case I would advise installing GRUB from Arch and letting that control the booting process instead.

# pacman -Syu grub os-prober
# grub-install --target=i386-pc --recheck /dev/sda
# grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Be … therboards

Offline

#14 2015-02-28 22:40:03

Fred Barclay
Member
From: /home
Registered: 2015-02-27
Posts: 123

Re: <SOLVED>"Root device not mounted read-write" warning

That worked. Thanks!
Of course, I've got another problem now... wink

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB