You are not logged in.

#1 2006-03-09 01:22:45

zachtib

I'm new here

I'm new to arch linux, just finished pulling it off the torrent

Just a few questions before I get started.

I'm coming from Ubuntu, I've been using it for about a year, but I've been using Linux for several years, and would consider myself a very competent user.  I'm no stranger to the commandline, and I generally prefer to build my own packages from source rather than use precompiled binaries so I can set my own compilation flags.  In this respect, Arch seems like the perfect distro for me. (In fact, people have been recommending Arch to me for a while, now)

Here's what I need to know:

I'm a college student, and Linux is my full-time operating system.  As such, I need a distro that is very stable.  After I get Arch set up, can I expect it to be fairly reliable?

Next, how long should I expect to build my Arch environment?  Spring break is next week, and it looks like I'll be spending it at home, so I was thinking about using the time to install Arch and learn my way around.  Should I be able to put together a usable system in a week?  I know this isn't Gentoo, but it does seem similar in some respects.

I'll post any more questions as they come up.

Thanks,

Zach

#2 2006-03-09 01:25:56

_Gandalf_

Re: I'm new here

Hello and welcome To arch,
hmm a week :shock: that seem a bit TOO much, If you don't have some custom hardware (non standard) it will not take more than a day to have a system as you want it, It took like a day till i figured out lot of things, but beleive me once u know what u want it won't take more than an hour
take a look at Install Arch Linux  wink

#3 2006-03-09 01:30:41

zachtib

Great, the only reason I asked is that I'd like to build my system from the ground up, and build a lot of stuff from source.
And I'm installing on a Thinkpad R51, which is very linux-friendly as far as hardware goes.

#4 2006-03-09 01:31:12

paul2lv

Hi,
I have a couple things to tell you: