You are not logged in.

#1 2015-03-21 14:43:30

nakamis

[SOLVED] How to get Broadcom wireless to work (Arch install)?

I'm very newbie in network managment (and in Linux in general), and it's my first time installing Arch.
I came from Debian/Ubuntu. In Ubuntu 14.04 it was working already, and in Debian 7.8 I only had to install the package "brcmsmac" to get my wi-fi card to work.

But now I have no idea what I'm doing in Arch. I've already downloaded and installed the system using the auto DHCP connection, but after the chroot I got confused, now I'm stuck in configuring the network and wireless. I didn't even install a bootloader yet. (I'm using another computer to post this)
I followed https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Beginners%27_guide and https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/broadcom_wireless, and Google'd about it but everything seems confusing.

I won't need anything special like a server, so I imagine the solution is very basic and newbie.
It's probably a very simple thing to do, like installing a package or loading something, and I don't want to mess up my system.

I heard about AUR but I don't know how to use it.

Last edited by nakamis (2015-03-22 13:57:17)

#2 2015-03-21 14:50:08

karol
Archivist

Re: [SOLVED] How to get Broadcom wireless to work (Arch install)?

#3 2015-03-21 14:59:40

nakamis

I don't know...
Maybe this helps:

Output of

lspci -v

:

[...]
Network Controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4313 802.11bgn [...]
[...]
Kernel driver in use: bcma-pci-bridge
[...]

Output of

ip link

:

[...]
3: wlp18s0b1: [..] state DOWN mode DEFAULT [...]
[...]

"ip link set wlp18s0b1 up" outputs nothing.

I can't paste the entire output because it's in another computer.

#4 2015-03-21 16:06:47

Head_on_a_Stick
Website

nakamis wrote:

"ip link set wlp18s0b1 up" outputs nothing.

Silence==success

Did you check the output of `ip l` after you ran that command?

I think you need the broadcom-wl or broadcom-wl-dkms packages for that card.