You are not logged in.

#1 2015-03-29 18:58:08

pernils

[SOLVED] cups samsung printer driver issue ..

So ..

I made the jump for non ms environment and just there my blood pressure started to go sky high.

I have been fiddling with debian based dist on servers for several years but not on the desktop.  For servers is sort of the best solution but on the desktop ?
On the desktop I'm starting to hate it.

Nothing is working out of the box. My first fight was how I should connect to my ms machine at work. I wanted a better experience  then you can have with vnc so I started to test several other solution. Was fighting with splashtop for a long time but ended up in Remmina (rdp).

On top of that I had my banking software "bankid" that have suddenly dropped the linux support.

Okay .. I run a virtual ms desktop then. From several sources libvert should be the best solution.

But what you know ... libvertd wouldn't start. Okay I can create a vm based on session but that vill not give me the option for choosing the nic and therefore I can't get rdp running.

When you visit the wiki you are facing a wall of text and you just get so tired that you tuck the problem away for a time and try something else instead.

So here I'm with printer issue. On samsung page you can download their samsung-unified-driver but I will not install due some error that it can't find cups to restart it.
Could this be initd vs systemd issue ?

Anyway in Aur you have a ready package for it.

yaourt -S samsung-unified-driver

bla bla ...

done ...

Try to add printer ... It can see my samsung ML2850 (connected to usb) but it can't find the driver.

in /usr/share/cups/model/samsung I have gz file name ML-2850ps.ppd.gz.

But when I check /var/log/cups/error_log

I see ..

E [29/Mar/2015:18:24:18 +0200] [cups-driverd] Bad driver information file "/usr/share/cups/model/samsung/cms/CLX-3170cms2"!