You are not logged in.

#1 2015-04-05 12:52:08

gmtch

Mostly successful install onto Dell XPS 13 (2015) - model 9343

This is a report on successfully installing Arch Linux on a Dell XPS 13 (2015) - model 9343. The installation was done over the last three days and is not yet final but I do have a working system. There are still outstanding issues.

My laptop is the version with the 3200x1800 QHD screen, an Intel 7265 wireless controller, a Core i7-5600U with 8GB of RAM and a 256GB SSD.

Note that whilst I have installed and run Arch Linux previously it isn't where my primary experience lies. I have been running Debian Unstable on my PCs for many years. I went with Arch Linux because most people on the web who report success installing Linux on these laptops do so with the version 4 of the kernel - I thought Arch would have that sooner than Debian. I also wanted Plasma 5 which isn't yet in Sid. And finally I have been wanting a Arch Linux system for a while.

My intent is to dual boot Windows and Arch Linux with Arch being the primary OS. Windows just being there for those rare moments when a Windows system is required.

Friday

Preparing the laptop

The laptop had the A00 firmware which is known to cause problems with audio and the touchpad. Dell release the A03 firmware last week and I installed that using the Dell installation software from within Windows.

I then basically followed the Beginner's guide and the LVM on Luks page to install.

For the disk using gdisk I deleted 230GB /dev/sda5 in which was Windows was installed and replaced it with a 80GB /dev/sda5 for Windows and a 150GB /dev/sda6 for Linux. I made no other changes to the disk. I did it this way because Windows wouldn't allow me to shrink C: to less than 150GB.