You are not logged in.

#1 2015-04-24 11:11:01

MatejLach
Member
From: United Kingdom
Registered: 2011-06-22
Posts: 313
Website

[SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

Hello Archers,

Yesterday, I installed KDE Plasma  5 on my new system and so far it is very smooth, except for that I cannot log back into my session once the screen is locked after a while of inactivity.
I enter my password and it sort of unlocks for like a split second, but then it goes back to the locked screen and I have to enter my password again and again, never actually able to resume my session until I reboot.
Now, when I enter the wrong password it says "Authentication Failure" as it should, but even when I enter my correct one, it doesn't let me in.

I am thinking maybe it's some polkit permissions or something like that, but then again, I just installed the fresh Plasma 5 packages yesterday and it was behaving like that from the start.
Anyoone having the same/similar problems?
Any ideas how to solve this?

Thanks,

My auth.log:

# journalctl -f -l SYSLOG_FACILITY=10


Apr 24 12:51:55 deskmat polkitd[364]: Loading rules from directory /usr/share/polkit-1/rules.d
Apr 24 12:51:55 deskmat polkitd[364]: Finished loading, compiling and executing 1 rules
Apr 24 12:51:55 deskmat polkitd[364]: Acquired the name org.freedesktop.PolicyKit1 on the system bus
Apr 24 12:51:56 deskmat sddm-helper[376]: pam_unix(sddm-greeter:session): session opened for user sddm by (uid=0)                                                                                     
Apr 24 12:51:56 deskmat systemd[377]: pam_unix(systemd-user:session): session opened for user sddm by (uid=0)                                                                                         
Apr 24 12:53:11 deskmat sddm-helper[482]: pam_unix(sddm:session): session opened for user matejlach by (uid=0)                                                                                        
Apr 24 12:53:11 deskmat systemd[485]: pam_unix(systemd-user:session): session opened for user matejlach by (uid=0)                                                                                    
Apr 24 12:53:17 deskmat polkitd[364]: Registered Authentication Agent for unix-session:c2 (system bus name :1.23 [/usr/lib/polkit-kde/polkit-kde-authentication-agent-1], object path /org/kde/PolicyKit1/AuthenticationAgent, locale en_GB.UTF-8)

[SOLVED]: Downgrade your NVidia driver, if you are experiencing the same issue.
                   Upgrade to nvidia 349.16-2

Also, don't forget to update your Intel CPU microcode, thanks to @tbleiker for pointing it out!

Last edited by MatejLach (2015-06-08 18:51:50)

Offline

#2 2015-04-24 17:22:45

tbleiker
Member
Registered: 2015-04-24
Posts: 8

Re: [SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

Same thing here sad

Offline

#3 2015-04-27 20:59:25

MatejLach
Member
From: United Kingdom
Registered: 2011-06-22
Posts: 313
Website

Re: [SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

So I double checked all my user permissions and they seem correct.
Not really sure what may be causing this.

Offline

#4 2015-04-27 21:14:43

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,402

Re: [SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

Can you check the journal to see if the screen locker is crashing?

Offline

#5 2015-04-28 03:52:27

gehzumteufel
Member
Registered: 2013-11-08
Posts: 18

Re: [SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

I have the same issue. Question, MatejLach do you have the binary Nvidia driver version 349.16-1 installed? If so, roll back to 346.59-1 and report back if it continues.

@arojas this issue has plagued me for a few days and I have been able to consistently reproduce it on the Nvidia 349.16-1 driver release but it reverts to expected behaviour when running the Nvidia 346.59-1 driver release.

Offline

#6 2015-04-28 05:27:56

tbleiker
Member
Registered: 2015-04-24
Posts: 8

Re: [SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

Yesterday, I spent a few minutes on this. Journalctl only gave me the following line:

systemd-coredump[1087]: Process 1078 (kscreenlocker_g) of user 1100 dumped core.

So I did a coredump and got the bt with gdb. It seems that the screen locker crashes because of a segmentation fault.

gdb /usr/lib/kscreenlocker_greet /root/core.kscreenlocker_greet.1078
GNU gdb (GDB) 7.9
Copyright (C) 2015 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.  Type "show copying"
and "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu".
Type "show configuration" for configuration details.
For bug reporting instructions, please see:
<http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/bugs/>.
Find the GDB manual and other documentation resources online at:
<http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/documentation/>.
For help, type "help".
Type "apropos word" to search for commands related to "word"...
Reading symbols from /usr/lib/kscreenlocker_greet...(no debugging symbols found)...done.

warning: core file may not match specified executable file.
[New LWP 1078]

warning: Could not load shared library symbols for linux-vdso.so.1.
Do you need "set solib-search-path" or "set sysroot"?
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Using host libthread_db library "/usr/lib/libthread_db.so.1".
Core was generated by `/usr/lib/kscreenlocker_greet --immediateLock --ksldfd 32'.
Program terminated with signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
#0  0x00007f4bb642a4b7 in raise () from /usr/lib/libc.so.6

(gdb) bt
#0  0x00007f4bb642a4b7 in raise () from /usr/lib/libc.so.6
#1  0x00007f4bb7e190c7 in KCrash::defaultCrashHandler(int) () from /usr/lib/libKF5Crash.so.5
#2  <signal handler called>
#3  0x00007f4bb1856150 in __lll_unlock_elision () from /usr/lib/libpthread.so.0
#4  0x00007f4b9284312c in ?? () from /usr/lib/libEGL.so.1
#5  0x00007f4b927d58c2 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libEGL.so.1
#6  0x00007fff933ec420 in ?? ()
#7  0x00007f4b92854831 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libEGL.so.1
#8  0x00007fff933ec420 in ?? ()
#9  0x00007f4bb9b88815 in _dl_fini () from /lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2
Backtrace stopped: previous frame inner to this frame (corrupt stack?)

I was a bit suprised to see libEGL in the bt but I was too tired to dig deeper smile

@gehzumteufel: I cannot check the nvidia driver version right know. Since I did an update yesterday, the Nvidia 349.16-1 driver should be running on my computer.

Offline

#7 2015-04-28 05:32:11

gehzumteufel
Member
Registered: 2013-11-08
Posts: 18

Re: [SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

When you get a chance, try rolling back the driver (and utils, libgl, and if applicable the lib32 versions too). When I am on the older driver, I get no screenlocker crashes. Some other driver caused a similar issue and ended up filling my HDD a few weeks back.

sudo pacman -U /var/cache/pacman/pkg/lib32-nvidia-utils-346.59-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz /var/cache/pacman/pkg/lib32-nvidia-libgl-346.59-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz /var/cache/pacman/pkg/nvidia-346.59-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz /var/cache/pacman/pkg/nvidia-libgl-346.59-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz /var/cache/pacman/pkg/nvidia-utils-346.59-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

Last edited by gehzumteufel (2015-04-28 05:32:50)

Offline

#8 2015-04-28 06:05:32

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,402

Re: [SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

You're being hit by the Intel Haswell bug. Update your microcode.

Offline

#9 2015-04-28 06:50:47

gehzumteufel
Member
Registered: 2013-11-08
Posts: 18

Re: [SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

I almost replied before I did it, but now that I have done it, updated Nvidia driver, rebooted, same issue. Roll back Nvidia driver, problem resolves.

Offline

#10 2015-04-28 06:52:59

gehzumteufel
Member
Registered: 2013-11-08
Posts: 18

Re: [SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

And I will add, that there was no microcode update for my CPU.

$ dmesg | grep microcode
[    0.449648] microcode: CPU0 sig=0x306c3, pf=0x2, revision=0x19
[    0.449652] microcode: CPU1 sig=0x306c3, pf=0x2, revision=0x19
[    0.449658] microcode: CPU2 sig=0x306c3, pf=0x2, revision=0x19
[    0.449663] microcode: CPU3 sig=0x306c3, pf=0x2, revision=0x19
[    0.449668] microcode: CPU4 sig=0x306c3, pf=0x2, revision=0x19
[    0.449672] microcode: CPU5 sig=0x306c3, pf=0x2, revision=0x19
[    0.449677] microcode: CPU6 sig=0x306c3, pf=0x2, revision=0x19
[    0.449681] microcode: CPU7 sig=0x306c3, pf=0x2, revision=0x19
[    0.449711] microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.00 <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk>, Peter Oruba

Offline

#11 2015-04-28 18:40:20

tbleiker
Member
Registered: 2015-04-24
Posts: 8

Re: [SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

Downgrading the nvidia stuff solved the problem!

gehzumteufel wrote:

When you get a chance, try rolling back the driver (and utils, libgl, and if applicable the lib32 versions too). When I am on the older driver, I get no screenlocker crashes. Some other driver caused a similar issue and ended up filling my HDD a few weeks back.

sudo pacman -U /var/cache/pacman/pkg/lib32-nvidia-utils-346.59-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz /var/cache/pacman/pkg/lib32-nvidia-libgl-346.59-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz /var/cache/pacman/pkg/nvidia-346.59-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz /var/cache/pacman/pkg/nvidia-libgl-346.59-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz /var/cache/pacman/pkg/nvidia-utils-346.59-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

Offline

#12 2015-04-28 18:42:38

tbleiker
Member
Registered: 2015-04-24
Posts: 8

Re: [SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

I had no microcode update either!

arojas wrote:

You're being hit by the Intel Haswell bug. Update your microcode.

Offline

#13 2015-04-28 19:11:42

MatejLach
Member
From: United Kingdom
Registered: 2011-06-22
Posts: 313
Website

Re: [SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

Thanks for all the replies, so it seems to be an  NVidia driver issue.

Sorry for the delay @gehzumteufel - I indeed have 349.16-1 installed.

Can anyone link to the previous driver version for me to roll back to since I don't have it in my pacman cache as this is a fresh install.

Much appreciate the help.

Offline

#14 2015-04-28 20:53:08

Ropid
Member
Registered: 2015-03-09
Posts: 397

Re: [SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

MatejLach wrote:

Thanks for all the replies, so it seems to be an  NVidia driver issue.

Sorry for the delay @gehzumteufel - I indeed have 349.16-1 installed.

Can anyone link to the previous driver version for me to roll back to since I don't have it in my pacman cache as this is a fresh install.

Much appreciate the help.

Check this out, an archive of all previous packages: http://seblu.net/a/arm/packages/

Offline

#15 2015-04-28 21:05:14

MatejLach
Member
From: United Kingdom
Registered: 2011-06-22
Posts: 313
Website

Re: [SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

Thanks!
[SOLVED]

Offline

#16 2015-04-29 19:06:10

archqt
Member
Registered: 2015-04-29
Posts: 32

Re: [SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

Hi,
i have the same problem. What did you do exactly ? i have nvidia 349.16-1 installed.
Thanks

Offline

#17 2015-04-29 19:16:40

MatejLach
Member
From: United Kingdom
Registered: 2011-06-22
Posts: 313
Website

Re: [SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

archqt wrote:

Hi,
i have the same problem. What did you do exactly ? i have nvidia 349.16-1 installed.
Thanks

You need to downgrade to the previous driver version until this gets fixed upstream.
So if you have it in your cache, do:

sudo pacman -U /var/cache/pacman/pkg/lib32-nvidia-utils-346.59-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz /var/cache/pacman/pkg/lib32-nvidia-libgl-346.59-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz /var/cache/pacman/pkg/nvidia-346.59-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz /var/cache/pacman/pkg/nvidia-libgl-346.59-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz /var/cache/pacman/pkg/nvidia-utils-346.59-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

Otherwise download the required packages from:
http://seblu.net/a/arm/packages/n/nvidia/

That should fix the problem.

Offline

#18 2015-04-29 19:26:49

archqt
Member
Registered: 2015-04-29
Posts: 32

Re: [SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

Ok i did with 340 but it did not work at all (screen was black). I try with 346.
Thanks

Offline

#19 2015-04-29 20:06:30

archqt
Member
Registered: 2015-04-29
Posts: 32

Re: [SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

Uhm version 346.59 doesn't work for me at all. I have no screen, everything is black (same as version 340). But version 349 works fine for screen except for lock.
Is there another way to solve this ? Because there are lot of versions of 346. Which one shoudl i use ?
Thanks

Last edited by archqt (2015-04-29 20:19:47)

Offline

#20 2015-04-29 20:30:27

MatejLach
Member
From: United Kingdom
Registered: 2011-06-22
Posts: 313
Website

Re: [SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

archqt wrote:

Uhm version 346.59 doesn't work for me at all. I have no screen, everything is black (same as version 340). But version 349 works fine for screen except for lock.
Is there another way to solve this ? Because there are lot of versions of 346. Which one shoudl i use ?
Thanks

What GPU do you have?
I have the GTX 970 myself.

Offline

#21 2015-04-29 20:45:38

archqt
Member
Registered: 2015-04-29
Posts: 32

Re: [SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

MatejLach wrote:
archqt wrote:

Uhm version 346.59 doesn't work for me at all. I have no screen, everything is black (same as version 340). But version 349 works fine for screen except for lock.
Is there another way to solve this ? Because there are lot of versions of 346. Which one shoudl i use ?
Thanks

What GPU do you have?
I have the GTX 970 myself.

Quadro K610M

If i look on nvidia the 346.59 should work.

What i did is

yaourt -R nvidia

Then

yaourt -U /tmp/yaourt-tmp-moi/nvidia-346xx-utils-346.59-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz /tmp/yaourt-tmp-moi/nvidia-346xx-libgl-346.59-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

Last edited by archqt (2015-04-29 20:51:51)

Offline

#22 2015-04-29 21:13:35

MatejLach
Member
From: United Kingdom
Registered: 2011-06-22
Posts: 313
Website

Re: [SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

@archqt I think that that the proprietary blob has several issues on laptops, so most people use bumblebee(?)

Anyways, what you can do is just issue the downgrade command and there should be no need to remove the NVidia package first, as it will ask you if you want to downgrade.

If this does not work for you, then I guess the only other option right now is to disable the screen lock by going into System Settings > Desktop Behaviour > Screen Locking and changing the "Lock screen after:" option to "Never." or trying to experiment with different NVidia drivers to see which one works.

I would also make sure that my user has all the correct permissions as well as /usr/lib/kcheckpass and polkit.

Last edited by MatejLach (2015-04-29 21:14:01)

Offline

#23 2015-04-29 21:26:42

archqt
Member
Registered: 2015-04-29
Posts: 32

Re: [SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

MatejLach wrote:

@archqt I think that that the proprietary blob has several issues on laptops, so most people use bumblebee(?)

Anyways, what you can do is just issue the downgrade command and there should be no need to remove the NVidia package first, as it will ask you if you want to downgrade.

If this does not work for you, then I guess the only other option right now is to disable the screen lock by going into System Settings > Desktop Behaviour > Screen Locking and changing the "Lock screen after:" option to "Never." or trying to experiment with different NVidia drivers to see which one works.

If i try just to do the command to downgrade packages without removing nvidia it says that there is a dependency so i had to, but maybe something is wrong.

Ok thanks. What do you mean with ?

I would also make sure that my user has all the correct permissions as well as /usr/lib/kcheckpass and polkit.

Last edited by archqt (2015-04-29 21:30:45)

Offline

#24 2015-04-30 00:35:35

MatejLach
Member
From: United Kingdom
Registered: 2011-06-22
Posts: 313
Website

Offline

#25 2015-04-30 05:12:51

gehzumteufel
Member
Registered: 2013-11-08
Posts: 18

Re: [SOLVED] KDE lockscreen cannot be unlocked?

Sorry but none of those bugs are related. I will look into filing a bug with the KDE team as this seems to be related to the kscreenlocker or sddm greeter components.

archqt: Can you paste the dependency? As for the black screen, are you installing ALL the correct packages? I gave a command earlier, but here it is again for downgrading ALL nvidia video driver packages that are related to downgrading.

sudo pacman -U /var/cache/pacman/pkg/lib32-nvidia-utils-346.59-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz /var/cache/pacman/pkg/lib32-nvidia-libgl-346.59-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz /var/cache/pacman/pkg/nvidia-346.59-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz /var/cache/pacman/pkg/nvidia-libgl-346.59-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz /var/cache/pacman/pkg/nvidia-utils-346.59-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

edit//There's a new release of nvidia out. I will report back if that fixes it.

Last edited by gehzumteufel (2015-04-30 05:15:07)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB