You are not logged in.

#1 2015-05-07 21:45:19

mjtracy
Member
Registered: 2015-05-07
Posts: 2

[SOLVED]mkinitcpio missing "radeon" hook on agp ati card

The kernel is currently using the radeon module:

$ lspci -k | grep -i vga -A3 | grep 'in use'
	Kernel driver in use: radeon

When I generate an initramfs with the radeon hook added to /etc/mkinitcpio.conf I get this output:

$ sudo mkinitcpio -p linux
==> Building image from preset: /etc/mkinitcpio.d/linux.preset: 'default'
  -> -k /boot/vmlinuz-linux -c /etc/mkinitcpio.conf -g /boot/initramfs-linux.img
==> Starting build: 4.0.1-1-ARCH
  -> Running build hook: [base]
  -> Running build hook: [udev]
==> ERROR: Hook 'radeon' cannot be found
  -> Running build hook: [consolefont]
  -> Running build hook: [autodetect]
  -> Running build hook: [modconf]
  -> Running build hook: [block]
  -> Running build hook: [mdadm]
  -> Running build hook: [filesystems]
  -> Running build hook: [keyboard]
  -> Running build hook: [fsck]
==> Generating module dependencies
==> Creating gzip-compressed initcpio image: /boot/initramfs-linux.img
==> WARNING: errors were encountered during the build. The image may not be complete.
==> Building image from preset: /etc/mkinitcpio.d/linux.preset: 'fallback'
  -> -k /boot/vmlinuz-linux -c /etc/mkinitcpio.conf -g /boot/initramfs-linux-fallback.img -S autodetect
==> Starting build: 4.0.1-1-ARCH
  -> Running build hook: [base]
  -> Running build hook: [udev]
==> ERROR: Hook 'radeon' cannot be found
  -> Running build hook: [consolefont]
  -> Running build hook: [modconf]
  -> Running build hook: [block]
==> WARNING: Possibly missing firmware for module: wd719x
==> WARNING: Possibly missing firmware for module: aic94xx
  -> Running build hook: [mdadm]
  -> Running build hook: [filesystems]
  -> Running build hook: [keyboard]
  -> Running build hook: [fsck]
==> Generating module dependencies
==> Creating gzip-compressed initcpio image: /boot/initramfs-linux-fallback.img
==> WARNING: errors were encountered during the build. The image may not be complete.

==> ERROR: Hook 'radeon' cannot be found

Listing the hooks shows it to be similarly absent:

$ mkinitcpio -L
==> Available hooks
autodetect	filesystems	lvm2		modconf		scsi¹		shutdown	usb¹
base		fsck		mdadm		pata¹		sd-encrypt	sleep		usbinput²
block		fw¹		mdadm_udev	pcmcia		sd-lvm2		strip		usr
consolefont	keyboard	memdisk		resume		sd-shutdown	systemd		virtio¹
encrypt		keymap		mmc¹		sata¹		sd-vconsole	udev

¹ This hook is deprecated in favor of 'block'
² This hook is deprecated in favor of 'keyboard'

I'm not sure if this is relevant, but I pulled this from the troubleshooting section of the ati wiki:

AGP is disabled (with KMS)

If you experience poor performance and dmesg shows something like this

[drm:radeon_agp_init] *ERROR* Unable to acquire AGP: -19

then check if the agp driver for your motherboard (e.g., via_agp, intel_agp etc.) is loaded before the radeon module, see Enabling KMS.

This is an older machine, and I am using an agp card. This is the currently loaded agp module:

$ lspci -k | grep -i agp -A3 | grep 'in use'
	Kernel driver in use: agpgart-intel

ultimately, why am I trying to do this at all is to keep my consolefont from changing back to the default. This is a quote from the Fonts page in the wiki:

To use the specified font in early userspace, use the consolefont hook in /etc/mkinitcpio.conf. See Mkinitcpio#HOOKS for more information.

If the fonts seems to not change on boot, or change only temporarily, it is most likely that they got reset when graphics driver was initialized and console was switched to framebuffer. To avoid this, load your graphics driver earlier. See for example Kernel mode setting#Early KMS start, [2] or other ways to setup your framebuffer before /etc/vconsole.conf is applied.

If I can't get the hooks issue resolved, I would be fine with using one of these "other ways" to setup my framebuffer before /etc/vconsole.conf is applied.

Thanks in advance for any help. smile

Last edited by mjtracy (2015-05-07 21:56:57)

Offline

#2 2015-05-07 21:51:05

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,555
Website

Re: [SOLVED]mkinitcpio missing "radeon" hook on agp ati card

Welcome to the forums.

It looks like you're adding it to the wrong line: radeon is not a HOOK it is a MODULE.  See here (and here if needed for more information).


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Online

#3 2015-05-07 21:57:49

mjtracy
Member
Registered: 2015-05-07
Posts: 2

Re: [SOLVED]mkinitcpio missing "radeon" hook on agp ati card

Trilby wrote:

Welcome to the forums.

It looks like you're adding it to the wrong line: radeon is not a HOOK it is a MODULE.  See here (and here if needed for more information).

That did the trick. Thanks!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB