You are not logged in.

#1 2006-03-16 17:59:28

m123

Another ArchLinux adept but some HW issues [solved]

I am rather new in the linux world. I bought a Suse 10 package six months ago and installed it on a little bit outdated box. 5 CDs, lots of install options and, as a result, 3 web-browsers, 4 or 5 media players, 2 office suites… Quite confusing.

Very quickly I faced issues, one of them being package management and started googling. That led me to Ubuntu. Only one CD, not many duplicates, it fitted better with my idea that one should know what's on its computer and what should not be there. And apt is a great package management tool.

Again I ran into issues and had to google further. When it came to compiling programs on my own I started to scratch under the surface and discovered that the software on my computer was not necessarily offering the possibilities developers include in their source code. Compile options are quite hidden and dependencies are often difficult to trace. And also, I don't understand why there are so many packages for a single program. It's nice if you think you can select exactly what you install, but it's very confusing because you don't know exactly what is in which package and in the end have to install all of them. For example, look at the stripping of xine-lib, in different repositories, and named libxine1c2xxx even if it's version 1.1.1 and not 1.0.rc2!