You are not logged in.

#1 2015-05-14 02:06:16

rb3

Is KVM VGA Passthrough Possible on Macbook Pro Mid 2014?

I've been using Arch on and off for a couple years on different hardware, and this time I'm trying to get it to work semi-flawlessly on my mid 2014 Macbook Pro. My Linux skills are meager, so I need some help understanding if VGA passthrough is possible on this machine, and if it is, how to set it up. I have hope that it might work after reading this blog and the Arch forums. An outline of my current setup follows. I will also document progress and research for anyone who might want to try this in the future.

Here are the specifications for this machine:

Processor: 2.5 GHz Intel Core i7
 Memory: 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
 Graphics: Intel Iris Pro 1536 MB, Nvidia GT 750M 2 GB

I have successfully dual-booted Mac OS X Yosemite and Arch with EFI on a BTRFS partition using this blog and the wiki as starting points. Somlo's research also helped. All the basic functionality works (networking, WiFi, etc.), and I am able to boot the physical Arch partition as a Virtualbox VM with the help of the wiki. However, I'm having trouble with getting the integrated Intel graphics to work. The following command:

lspci | grep VGA

prints the Nvidia card specifications, and nothing about the Intel graphics.

It looks like someone had to apply a "grub gmux" patch to GRUB to disable the Nvidia card at boot. I feel uncomfortable installing anything other than the official Arch packages, so I have to know if installing a patched grub is still necessary, and if installing it would still allow me to use VGA passthrough in KVM.

My ambitious to-do list looks like this:

1. Dual-boot Mac OS X and Arch with btrfs. -done
 2. Setup the physical Arch partition to boot in Virtualbox. -done
 3. Get Intel graphics to work on Arch ideally with OpenGL support. -done
 4. Get Enlightenment working as the desktop environment on Arch. -done