You are not logged in.

#1 2006-03-19 00:36:35

Virtual DarKness
Website

Arch Linux 0.7.1 - my feedback

please read the post before vote smile

--

Well, I've used Arch linux for many months in late 2004 / early 2005 and then I've switched to Ubuntu...

some days ago I've installed version 0.7.1 and updated it with pacman -Syu

I've seen a lot of improvement since the last time I used it and I was near to think "ok let's switch back to Arch" until I found I that thing I really hate  :!: is still here..

You can't install old versions of some packages. For example, kernel.. or.. php (ok there is one in Aur that is maybe "too" old) and mysql..

in the php/mysql example it's true that version 5 is the latest one but they (at least php) still develope the 4.x version for security and many server still have it and also many scripts supports only php4 and 5.

also, as I am a php developer, I need to test scripts with old versions.

but as I said this is just an example. I think that while you can't think to have a big repository of binaries it would be great to be able to install old versions via source.

and recompiling software by hand using old PKGBUILDS is a problem case you don't have a tool that tells you wich packaged were "aligned" with wich.. I mean.. the new php works only with the mysql5 extension so even if you build mysql by yourself it won't work with php.. and so on for apache..

anyway.. if a user is able to block a package and prevent the automatic update he should also be able to use the non-latest version of it.

I know that arch is a bleeding edge distro but this shouldn't mean that you have only the bleeding things. (see gentoo for example)

Another thing that will help a lot in my opinion is to have in the wiki 2 lists: