You are not logged in.

#1 2015-06-06 08:05:12

Phalkon

pacman filtered for only free software

Hi,

is there a way to ensure that user use only free software?
Also, how much of a inconvenience this would be?

It seem as a good idea to be really in control of my computing, but I'm still quite new to this, so I'm not sure what to think about it.

Thank you for any answers.

Why Linux? Because it doesn't hide anything from you. It puts you so closely in control of your machine that you can feel its heartbeat.

#2 2015-06-06 08:07:09

Scimmia
Fellow

Re: pacman filtered for only free software

Not really. However, this is the goal of Parabola, an Arch spinoff distro. You might want to check it out.

#3 2015-06-06 08:34:20

Phalkon

Scimmia wrote:

Not really. However, this is the goal of Parabola, an Arch spinoff distro. You might want to check it out.

Thanks, I'll give it a try.

Why Linux? Because it doesn't hide anything from you. It puts you so closely in control of your machine that you can feel its heartbeat.

#4 2015-06-06 10:37:57

tomk
Forum Fellow

Alternatively, if you have coding skills, you could look at pacman's code and work out how to add filter-by-license functionality.

https://projects.archlinux.org/pacman.git/

#5 2015-06-06 11:31:31

Allan
Pacman
Website

That would be difficult - is "custom" free?   That includes MIT...

#6 2015-06-06 11:41:54

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Website

It seems all of xorg has 'custom' licenses too.  I started writing a script to at least check all currently installed packages - but I was amazed at how many packages have custom licenses.  I quickly gave up when I realized I couldn't find a reliable way to determine what was "free" by parsing /usr/share/licenses/*.  It's not even just rare corner cases that would be challenges.  It seems parabola's approach is the best: just make sure non-free software never makes it into the repos.

If that is your goal - parabola seems to be the way to go.