You are not logged in.

#1 2015-06-11 18:07:37

tomsargeaunt

Enlarge EFI partition on arch/windows 8 dual boot machine

Hi everyone!

I have a dual boot Arch/Windows 8 machine in UEFI mode. Does anyone know how I could enlarge the EFI /boot partition without damaging either installation? Windows is installed on sda4.

NAME   MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
sda      8:0    0 931.5G  0 disk 
├─sda1   8:1    0   300M  0 part 
├─sda2   8:2    0   100M  0 part /boot
├─sda3   8:3    0   128M  0 part 
├─sda4   8:4    0   466G  0 part 
├─sda5   8:5    0   200G  0 part /
├─sda6   8:6    0     8G  0 part [SWAP]
└─sda7   8:7    0   257G  0 part /home 

As you can see, my boot partition is tiny. This partition was made by the windows install cd and I don't have the option of reinstalling windows. I have very little experience resizing partitions and I am very reluctant to try my own ideas because they are untested and I don't want to break either system. Any experience/suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

#2 2015-06-11 19:19:14

Head_on_a_Stick
Website

Re: Enlarge EFI partition on arch/windows 8 dual boot machine

Are you sure you need it to be bigger?

For Arch, you only need space for the kernel image & initrd and the boot loader/manager and configuration files.

Post the output of:

df -h

#3 2015-06-11 19:33:23

tomsargeaunt

It's ok at the moment, but I just cleared some space - I was messing around with a custom kernel and the space was quickly used up (I'd like to keep the vanilla arch kernel image just in case!)

Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
dev             3.9G     0  3.9G   0% /dev
run             3.9G  732K  3.9G   1% /run
/dev/sda5       197G   12G  176G   6% /
tmpfs           3.9G   11M  3.9G   1% /dev/shm
tmpfs           3.9G     0  3.9G   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
/dev/sda2        96M   52M   45M  54% /boot
tmpfs           3.9G  4.0K  3.9G   1% /tmp
/dev/sda7       253G   52G  189G  22% /home