You are not logged in.

#1 2015-06-20 04:46:00

Infected Nueron

[SOLVED] Buffer I/O error on dev dm-0

Hi, this is my first time using Arch Linux and my first forum post. I installed Arch Linux in a virtual machine a few days ago using VMware Fusion 7.1.1 for Mac. I was updating my system with pacman -Syu and immediately after the update finished I received the error message, "Buffer I/O error on dev dm-0, logical block 1056800, lost async page write", as shown in the image in this link: kernel error From what I have been researching, other people who have been having this problem received this same error on other linux distributions, so this makes me certain that this problem is related to the kernel, though I don't know why I would be receiving an error related to devices if I am emulating the system. I receive this error every time after I try to update and whenever it occurs it prevents me from trying to type in a command to figure out why this is happening, thus making my system unusable and forcing me to reboot. Once I reboot, everything seems to be working properly again (however my system isn't updated on reboot and that is also a problem because I can't install packages without updating). I am not using RAID (some web content I've been reading said this has been solved by disabling RAID). Any thoughts?

Last edited by Infected Nueron (2015-06-21 19:28:57)

#2 2015-06-20 14:00:35

Spider.007

Re: [SOLVED] Buffer I/O error on dev dm-0

The image isn't accessible, Google says "You need permission - Want in? Ask the owner for access, or switch to an account with permission. Learn more". I'm assuming you setup LVM? Please provide some details about your install

#3 2015-06-20 17:15:24

R00KIE
Forum Fellow

I'd say you should try to catch the first error, that might provide a better clue to what's happening.

If I had to guess I'd say that for some reason the disk/lv disappear and after that you get all kinds of disk related errors.

R00KIE