You are not logged in.

#1 2015-06-30 03:05:18

j33205

[CLOSED] Issue Mounting Internal HDD for All User Use

Hello, this is my first post here in the Arch forums so forgive my possible lack of etiquette.  I'm new to Arch but not completely new to Linux but there is still a LOT I don't know/understand.  I'm running a pretty old system hardware-wise but I think it irrelevant to my current issue.  Right now my Arch is running only Openbox, Tint2, and other "essentials" and "non-essentials" and such.  Anyway, the problem I am currently working on is getting internal file systems to mount properly so that I use them.

I want to mount a second internal HDD that is formatted as NTFS.  I don't really have problems mounting it as root, but this seems both non-ideal and unnecessarily annoying (especially for accessing and manipulating files that have been mounted).  I would like to be able to mount the disk from inside my non-root file manager SpaceFM and by extension the terminal as well, again while logged in as a non-root user (as a side note, I would also obviously like to try to keep my NTFS file system from being damaged while being managed by Arch).

So far I have been working with fstab.  Before this point, mounting has only resulted in "you must be root" errors.  First thing I did was add

/dev/sdb1     /media/Temp     ntfs     rw,users     0 0

Temp is a folder that already exists in /media and has me as the owner and users as the group and has 777 permissions before mounting.
In SpaceFM by simply clicking the drive in the devices menu I received a message "Unable to access /media/Temp  Access denied".  Checking the Temp directory as root showed me it was mounting but when I checked the privileges they were changed to 700, owner:root, group:root.  Upon unmount the permissions changed back to what I had before.