You are not logged in.

#1 2015-07-13 07:00:32

amaro
Member
From: xfce, 4.17.3-1-ck-ivybridge
Registered: 2014-05-09
Posts: 184

[SOLVED] Kernel panic-not synching: Unable to mount root fs on ...

Hey guys!

I was running Arch, Windows and Slackware on my laptop till Saturday. Decided to replace the Slackware since I wasn't using it lately with another distro. As a result Arch doesn't boot. Windows boots normally. I get this message

Kernel panic - not synching:VFS:Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0)

I tried in GRUB

set root=(hd0,4)
linux /boot/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/sda4
initrd /boot/initramfs-linux.img
boot

and Arch booted. After that I updated GRUB

mkconfig -o /boot/grub.grub.cfg

but upon reboot I get the same message again

Kernel panic - not synching:VFS:Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0)

Any help is highly appreciated!
Thank you!

Last edited by amaro (2015-07-13 16:03:10)

Offline

#2 2015-07-13 10:12:58

mauritiusdadd
Member
From: Benevento, Italy
Registered: 2013-10-27
Posts: 776

Re: [SOLVED] Kernel panic-not synching: Unable to mount root fs on ...

amaro wrote:

After that I updated GRUB

mkconfig -o /boot/grub.grub.cfg

Is that a typo? The right command should be

grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

registered linux user #588260github

-- When you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth -- Spock | Sherlock Holmes

Offline

#3 2015-07-13 11:11:55

amaro
Member
From: xfce, 4.17.3-1-ck-ivybridge
Registered: 2014-05-09
Posts: 184

Re: [SOLVED] Kernel panic-not synching: Unable to mount root fs on ...

mauritiusdadd wrote:
amaro wrote:

After that I updated GRUB

mkconfig -o /boot/grub.grub.cfg

Is that a typo?

Yes, it's a typo.

Right now I am using an archbang livecd. I am trying to downgrade the kernel to see if that would make it work

[ablive@archbang ~]$ sudo su
[root@archbang ablive]# mount /dev/sda4 /mnt
[root@archbang ablive]# arch-chroot /mnt /bin/bash
[root@archbang /]# cd /home/vb/aur/linux-lts318-ck
[root@archbang linux-lts318-ck]# pacman -U linux-lts318-ck-3.18.17-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
loading packages...
warning: linux-lts318-ck-3.18.17-1 is up to date -- reinstalling
resolving dependencies...
looking for conflicting packages...

Packages (1) linux-lts318-ck-3.18.17-1

Total Installed Size:  73.96 MiB
Net Upgrade Size:       0.00 MiB

:: Proceed with installation? [Y/n] y
(1/1) checking keys in keyring                     [######################] 100%
(1/1) checking package integrity                   [######################] 100%
(1/1) loading package files                        [######################] 100%
(1/1) checking for file conflicts                  [######################] 100%
(1/1) checking available disk space                [######################] 100%
(1/1) reinstalling linux-lts318-ck                 [######################] 100%
>>> Updating module dependencies. Please wait ...
>>> Generating initial ramdisk, using mkinitcpio.  Please wait...
==> Building image from preset: /etc/mkinitcpio.d/linux-lts318-ck.preset: 'default'
  -> -k /boot/vmlinuz-linux-lts318-ck -c /etc/mkinitcpio.conf -g /boot/initramfs-linux-lts318-ck.img
==> Starting build: 3.18.17-1-lts318-ck
  -> Running build hook: [base]
  -> Running build hook: [udev]
  -> Running build hook: [autodetect]
  -> Running build hook: [modconf]
  -> Running build hook: [block]
  -> Running build hook: [filesystems]
  -> Running build hook: [keyboard]
  -> Running build hook: [fsck]
==> Generating module dependencies
==> Creating gzip-compressed initcpio image: /boot/initramfs-linux-lts318-ck.img
==> Image generation successful
==> Building image from preset: /etc/mkinitcpio.d/linux-lts318-ck.preset: 'fallback'
  -> -k /boot/vmlinuz-linux-lts318-ck -c /etc/mkinitcpio.conf -g /boot/initramfs-linux-lts318-ck-fallback.img -S autodetect
==> Starting build: 3.18.17-1-lts318-ck
  -> Running build hook: [base]
  -> Running build hook: [udev]
  -> Running build hook: [modconf]
  -> Running build hook: [block]
==> WARNING: Possibly missing firmware for module: aic94xx
  -> Running build hook: [filesystems]
  -> Running build hook: [keyboard]
  -> Running build hook: [fsck]
==> Generating module dependencies
==> Creating gzip-compressed initcpio image: /boot/initramfs-linux-lts318-ck-fallback.img
==> Image generation successful
[root@archbang linux-lts318-ck]# pacman -U linux-lts318-ck-headers-3.18.17-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
loading packages...
warning: linux-lts318-ck-headers-3.18.17-1 is up to date -- reinstalling
resolving dependencies...
looking for conflicting packages...

Packages (1) linux-lts318-ck-headers-3.18.17-1

Total Installed Size:  43.34 MiB
Net Upgrade Size:       0.00 MiB

:: Proceed with installation? [Y/n] y
(1/1) checking keys in keyring                     [######################] 100%
(1/1) checking package integrity                   [######################] 100%
(1/1) loading package files                        [######################] 100%
(1/1) checking for file conflicts                  [######################] 100%
(1/1) checking available disk space                [######################] 100%
(1/1) reinstalling linux-lts318-ck-headers         [######################] 100%
[root@archbang linux-lts318-ck]#

Offline

#4 2015-07-13 11:19:33

amaro
Member
From: xfce, 4.17.3-1-ck-ivybridge
Registered: 2014-05-09
Posts: 184

Re: [SOLVED] Kernel panic-not synching: Unable to mount root fs on ...

This didn't change anything.

Offline

#5 2015-07-13 12:50:46

mauritiusdadd
Member
From: Benevento, Italy
Registered: 2013-10-27
Posts: 776

Re: [SOLVED] Kernel panic-not synching: Unable to mount root fs on ...

You said you can boot into Arch by editing the GRUB entry, so, can you reboot manually again into your Arch and post the content of your /boot/grub/grub.cfg and the full output of the following commands?

uname -a
lsblk  --all --fs

registered linux user #588260github

-- When you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth -- Spock | Sherlock Holmes

Offline

#6 2015-07-13 13:17:19

amaro
Member
From: xfce, 4.17.3-1-ck-ivybridge
Registered: 2014-05-09
Posts: 184

Re: [SOLVED] Kernel panic-not synching: Unable to mount root fs on ...

[vb@evohp ~]$ uname -a
Linux evohp 4.0.7-2-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Tue Jun 30 07:50:21 UTC 2015 x86_64 GNU/Linux
[vb@evohp ~]$ lsblk  --all --fs
NAME   FSTYPE LABEL UUID                                 MOUNTPOINT
sda                                                      
├─sda1 ext4         26a2576d-9b98-408d-a648-ebdf90100305 
├─sda2 ext4         9d783aad-581c-4309-9df1-3e6868fd113b /media/Slack
├─sda3 ntfs         BC66AF6B66AF255C                     
└─sda4 ext4         676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f /
sdb                                                      
sr0                                                      
[vb@evohp ~]$ 

Offline

#7 2015-07-13 13:19:49

amaro
Member
From: xfce, 4.17.3-1-ck-ivybridge
Registered: 2014-05-09
Posts: 184

Re: [SOLVED] Kernel panic-not synching: Unable to mount root fs on ...

/boot/grub/grub.cfg

#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
insmod part_gpt
insmod part_msdos
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  load_env
fi
if [ "${next_entry}" ] ; then
   set default="${next_entry}"
   set next_entry=
   save_env next_entry
   set boot_once=true
else
   set default="Advanced options for Arch Linux>Arch Linux, with Linux linux-lts312-ck"
fi

if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
  menuentry_id_option="--id"
else
  menuentry_id_option=""
fi

export menuentry_id_option

if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}

function load_video {
  if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
    insmod all_video
  else
    insmod efi_gop
    insmod efi_uga
    insmod ieee1275_fb
    insmod vbe
    insmod vga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
  fi
}

if [ x$feature_default_font_path = xy ] ; then
   font=unicode
else
insmod part_msdos 
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos4'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos4 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos4 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos4  676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f
fi
    font="/usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2"
fi

if loadfont $font ; then
  set gfxmode=auto
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
  set locale_dir=$prefix/locale
  set lang=en_US
  insmod gettext
fi
terminal_input console
terminal_output gfxterm
if [ x$feature_timeout_style = xy ] ; then
  set timeout_style=menu
  set timeout=1
# Fallback normal timeout code in case the timeout_style feature is
# unavailable.
else
  set timeout=1
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/06_grub-customizer_menu_color_helper ###
### END /etc/grub.d/06_grub-customizer_menu_color_helper ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux_proxy ###

menuentry "Arch Linux" --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f' {
	load_video
	insmod gzio
	insmod part_msdos 
	insmod ext2
	set root='hd0,msdos4'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos4 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos4 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos4  676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f
	fi
	echo	'Loading Linux linux-lts318-ck ...'
	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-linux-lts318-ck root=/dev/sda4 rw elevator=bfq acpi_backlight=vendor acpi_osi=Linux i915.powersave=1 i915.disable_power_well=1 i915.enable_cmd_parser=1 i915.enable_ppgtt=1 i915.reset=0 i915.lvds_use_ssc=0 i915.enable_psr=0 ipv6.disable=1
	echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
	initrd	/boot/intel-ucode.img /boot/initramfs-linux-lts318-ck.img
}
submenu "Advanced options for Arch Linux"{
menuentry "Arch Linux, with Linux linux-lts312-ck" --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-linux-lts312-ck-advanced-676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f' {
		load_video
		insmod gzio
		insmod part_msdos 
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,msdos4'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos4 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos4 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos4  676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux linux-lts312-ck ...'
		linux	/boot/vmlinuz-linux-lts312-ck root=/dev/sda4 rw elevator=bfq acpi_backlight=vendor acpi_osi=Linux i915.powersave=1 i915.disable_power_well=1 i915.enable_cmd_parser=1 i915.enable_ppgtt=1 i915.reset=0 i915.lvds_use_ssc=0 i915.enable_psr=0 ipv6.disable=1
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	/boot/intel-ucode.img /boot/initramfs-linux-lts312-ck.img
}
menuentry "Arch Linux, with Linux linux-lts312-ck (fallback initramfs)" --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-linux-lts312-ck-fallback-676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f' {
		load_video
		insmod gzio
		insmod part_msdos 
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,msdos4'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos4 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos4 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos4  676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux linux-lts312-ck ...'
		linux	/boot/vmlinuz-linux-lts312-ck root=/dev/sda4 rw elevator=bfq acpi_backlight=vendor acpi_osi=Linux i915.powersave=1 i915.disable_power_well=1 i915.enable_cmd_parser=1 i915.enable_ppgtt=1 i915.reset=0 i915.lvds_use_ssc=0 i915.enable_psr=0 ipv6.disable=1
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	/boot/intel-ucode.img /boot/initramfs-linux-lts312-ck-fallback.img
}
menuentry "Arch Linux, with Linux linux-lts318-ck" --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-linux-lts318-ck-advanced-676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f' {
		load_video
		insmod gzio
		insmod part_msdos 
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,msdos4'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos4 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos4 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos4  676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux linux-lts318-ck ...'
		linux	/boot/vmlinuz-linux-lts318-ck root=/dev/sda4 rw elevator=bfq acpi_backlight=vendor acpi_osi=Linux i915.powersave=1 i915.disable_power_well=1 i915.enable_cmd_parser=1 i915.enable_ppgtt=1 i915.reset=0 i915.lvds_use_ssc=0 i915.enable_psr=0 ipv6.disable=1
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	/boot/intel-ucode.img /boot/initramfs-linux-lts318-ck.img
}
menuentry "Arch Linux, with Linux linux-lts318-ck (fallback initramfs)" --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-linux-lts318-ck-fallback-676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f' {
		load_video
		insmod gzio
		insmod part_msdos 
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,msdos4'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos4 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos4 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos4  676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux linux-lts318-ck ...'
		linux	/boot/vmlinuz-linux-lts318-ck root=/dev/sda4 rw elevator=bfq acpi_backlight=vendor acpi_osi=Linux i915.powersave=1 i915.disable_power_well=1 i915.enable_cmd_parser=1 i915.enable_ppgtt=1 i915.reset=0 i915.lvds_use_ssc=0 i915.enable_psr=0 ipv6.disable=1
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	/boot/intel-ucode.img /boot/initramfs-linux-lts318-ck-fallback.img
}
menuentry "Arch Linux, with Linux linux" --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-linux-advanced-676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f' {
		load_video
		insmod gzio
		insmod part_msdos 
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,msdos4'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos4 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos4 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos4  676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux linux ...'
		linux	/boot/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/sda4 rw elevator=bfq acpi_backlight=vendor acpi_osi=Linux i915.powersave=1 i915.disable_power_well=1 i915.enable_cmd_parser=1 i915.enable_ppgtt=1 i915.reset=0 i915.lvds_use_ssc=0 i915.enable_psr=0 ipv6.disable=1
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	/boot/intel-ucode.img /boot/initramfs-linux.img
}
menuentry "Arch Linux, with Linux linux (fallback initramfs)" --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-linux-fallback-676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f' {
		load_video
		insmod gzio
		insmod part_msdos 
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,msdos4'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos4 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos4 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos4  676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 676e4a6f-fe35-4b27-96ef-bcb7f166229f
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux linux ...'
		linux	/boot/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/sda4 rw elevator=bfq acpi_backlight=vendor acpi_osi=Linux i915.powersave=1 i915.disable_power_well=1 i915.enable_cmd_parser=1 i915.enable_ppgtt=1 i915.reset=0 i915.lvds_use_ssc=0 i915.enable_psr=0 ipv6.disable=1
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	/boot/intel-ucode.img /boot/initramfs-linux-fallback.img
}
}
### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux_proxy ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
menuentry 'Arch (on /dev/sda2)' --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-gnulinux-simple-9d783aad-581c-4309-9df1-3e6868fd113b' {
	insmod part_msdos 
	insmod ext2
	set root='hd0,msdos2'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos2 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos2 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos2  9d783aad-581c-4309-9df1-3e6868fd113b
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 9d783aad-581c-4309-9df1-3e6868fd113b
	fi
	linux /boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=9d783aad-581c-4309-9df1-3e6868fd113b rw elevator=deadline acpi_backlight=vendor acpi_osi=Linux i915.powersave=1 i915.enable_ips=1 i915.disable_power_well=1 i915.enable_cmd_parser=1 i915.enable_ppgtt=1 i915.reset=0 i915.lvds_use_ssc=0 i915.enable_psr=0 ipv6.disable=1
	initrd /boot/intel-ucode.img
}
submenu 'Advanced options for Arch (on /dev/sda2)' $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-gnulinux-advanced-9d783aad-581c-4309-9df1-3e6868fd113b' {
	menuentry 'Arch Linux (on /dev/sda2)' --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-gnulinux-/boot/vmlinuz-linux--9d783aad-581c-4309-9df1-3e6868fd113b' {
		insmod part_msdos 
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,msdos2'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos2 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos2 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos2  9d783aad-581c-4309-9df1-3e6868fd113b
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 9d783aad-581c-4309-9df1-3e6868fd113b
		fi
		linux /boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=9d783aad-581c-4309-9df1-3e6868fd113b rw elevator=deadline acpi_backlight=vendor acpi_osi=Linux i915.powersave=1 i915.enable_ips=1 i915.disable_power_well=1 i915.enable_cmd_parser=1 i915.enable_ppgtt=1 i915.reset=0 i915.lvds_use_ssc=0 i915.enable_psr=0 ipv6.disable=1
		initrd /boot/intel-ucode.img
	}
	menuentry 'Arch Linux, with Linux linux (on /dev/sda2)' --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-gnulinux-/boot/vmlinuz-linux--9d783aad-581c-4309-9df1-3e6868fd113b' {
		insmod part_msdos 
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,msdos2'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos2 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos2 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos2  9d783aad-581c-4309-9df1-3e6868fd113b
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 9d783aad-581c-4309-9df1-3e6868fd113b
		fi
		linux /boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=9d783aad-581c-4309-9df1-3e6868fd113b rw elevator=deadline acpi_backlight=vendor acpi_osi=Linux i915.powersave=1 i915.enable_ips=1 i915.disable_power_well=1 i915.enable_cmd_parser=1 i915.enable_ppgtt=1 i915.reset=0 i915.lvds_use_ssc=0 i915.enable_psr=0 ipv6.disable=1
		initrd /boot/intel-ucode.img
	}
	menuentry 'Arch Linux, with Linux linux (fallback initramfs) (on /dev/sda2)' --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-gnulinux-/boot/vmlinuz-linux--9d783aad-581c-4309-9df1-3e6868fd113b' {
		insmod part_msdos 
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,msdos2'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos2 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos2 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos2  9d783aad-581c-4309-9df1-3e6868fd113b
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 9d783aad-581c-4309-9df1-3e6868fd113b
		fi
		linux /boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=9d783aad-581c-4309-9df1-3e6868fd113b rw elevator=deadline acpi_backlight=vendor acpi_osi=Linux i915.powersave=1 i915.enable_ips=1 i915.disable_power_well=1 i915.enable_cmd_parser=1 i915.enable_ppgtt=1 i915.reset=0 i915.lvds_use_ssc=0 i915.enable_psr=0 ipv6.disable=1
		initrd /boot/intel-ucode.img
	}
}

menuentry 'Windows Vista (loader) (on /dev/sda3)' --class windows --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-chain-BC66AF6B66AF255C' {
	insmod part_msdos 
	insmod ntfs
	set root='hd0,msdos3'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos3 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos3 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos3  BC66AF6B66AF255C
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root BC66AF6B66AF255C
	fi
	chainloader +1
}
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  ${config_directory}/custom.cfg ]; then
  source ${config_directory}/custom.cfg
elif [ -z "${config_directory}" -a -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###

Last edited by amaro (2015-07-13 13:21:19)

Offline

#8 2015-07-13 13:58:50

mauritiusdadd
Member
From: Benevento, Italy
Registered: 2013-10-27
Posts: 776

Re: [SOLVED] Kernel panic-not synching: Unable to mount root fs on ...

The grub configuration seems ok... Is that a BIOS or UEFI system? Where is grub installed (is it on /dev/sda)?

What is the output of

# fdisk -l

?


registered linux user #588260github

-- When you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth -- Spock | Sherlock Holmes

Offline

#9 2015-07-13 14:37:33

amaro
Member
From: xfce, 4.17.3-1-ck-ivybridge
Registered: 2014-05-09
Posts: 184

Re: [SOLVED] Kernel panic-not synching: Unable to mount root fs on ...

GRUB is installed on /dev/sda.
The laptop is HP 470 G0. I bought it last year and it had Win8. I erased it but to install Slackware I think I had to change something in the BIOS so it should be UEFI by default. If there is a certain command to check this I do not know it.

sudo fdisk -l
password for vb: 
Disk /dev/sda: 465.8 GiB, 500107862016 bytes, 976773168 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
Disklabel type: dos
Disk identifier: 0x0005a151

Device     Boot     Start       End   Sectors   Size Id Type
/dev/sda1            2048    555007    552960   270M 83 Linux
/dev/sda2  *       555008 399439773 398884766 190.2G 83 Linux
/dev/sda3       399439872 446341119  46901248  22.4G  7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda4       446341120 976773119 530432000   253G 83 Linux

Last edited by amaro (2015-07-13 14:41:32)

Offline

#10 2015-07-13 15:09:02

amaro
Member
From: xfce, 4.17.3-1-ck-ivybridge
Registered: 2014-05-09
Posts: 184

Re: [SOLVED] Kernel panic-not synching: Unable to mount root fs on ...

Just found this

dmesg | grep "EFI v"

here http://askubuntu.com/questions/162564/h … fi-or-bios and it gives no result which according to the info in the link should mean the machine booted from BIOS. Just as a confirmation.

Offline

#11 2015-07-13 15:21:49

mauritiusdadd
Member
From: Benevento, Italy
Registered: 2013-10-27
Posts: 776

Re: [SOLVED] Kernel panic-not synching: Unable to mount root fs on ...

Yes, I just realized that there was no esp partition in your fdisk output. The problem could be that you updated the grub configuration in the Arch Linux installed in /dev/sda4, but /dev/sdb2 is marked as bootable (which is omunted as /media/Slack). Try to make /dev/sda4 as bootable instead of /dev/sda2 and also try to reinstall grub on /dev/sda: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GR … ll_to_disk


registered linux user #588260github

-- When you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth -- Spock | Sherlock Holmes

Offline

#12 2015-07-13 16:00:54

amaro
Member
From: xfce, 4.17.3-1-ck-ivybridge
Registered: 2014-05-09
Posts: 184

Re: [SOLVED] Kernel panic-not synching: Unable to mount root fs on ...

Changed the flag and ran the commands from the link. Everything works now.
Thank you very much, mauritiusdadd!

Last edited by amaro (2015-07-13 16:04:25)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB