You are not logged in.

#1 2015-07-13 23:47:34

dubbad
Member
Registered: 2015-07-13
Posts: 23

[RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

Hello all-

I'm very close to my first successful install of Arch.  I've been going through the Beginner's Guide very carefully and things have been going pretty smoothly for my EFI system.  There seems to be one final obstacle between me and booting into Arch without the live media.  When my computer turns on, I'm greeted by a menu with my boot options.  The timeout is the correct value (the one that I set in loader.conf).  However, when I select Arch Linux from the menu (the default option), I get this:

    Error loading \vmlinuz-linux: Not Found
    Failed to execute Arch Linux (\vmlinuz-linux): Not Found

Does anyone know what's happening?  I followed the guide line by line and I couldn't figure out what I'd missed.  If it helps, here's my HDD setup:

/dev/sda
|-sda1    esp
|-sda5    root
|-sda6    home

Parts 2-4 are windows, which I can still boot into.
Please let me know if there are any other details I can provide which would be helpful.

Thanks!

Last edited by dubbad (2015-07-14 02:26:25)

Offline

#2 2015-07-13 23:54:30

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 30,424
Website

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

Please post your loader config and the output of `tree /boot`...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#3 2015-07-14 00:07:53

dubbad
Member
Registered: 2015-07-13
Posts: 23

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

#nano /boot/loader/loader.conf

timeout 10
default arch
# default 0abdbbe8a94a4c31865f4b5fe68bd080-*

After installing tree:
#tree /boot > file.txt
#nano file.txt

/boot
    EFI
        Boot
            BOOTX64.EFI
        Microsoft
            Boot
            ...
        systemd
            systemd-bootx64.efi
    en-us
        bootmgr.efi.mui

There were a dozen or so folders in Microsoft/ with different locales, each one containing a bootmgfw.efi.mui, bootmgr.efi.mui, and memtest.efi.mui.

EDIT: Left off some stuff.  Under en-us inside EFI/

    loader
        entries
            arch.conf
        loader.conf
    System Volume Information
        IndexerVolumeGuid

Last edited by dubbad (2015-07-14 00:09:31)

Offline

#4 2015-07-14 00:16:17

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 30,424
Website

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

Sorry: please include arch.conf...

You can just paste the output into code brackets: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … s_and_code


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#5 2015-07-14 00:19:32

Chris Cromer
Member
From: Chile
Registered: 2014-08-30
Posts: 30

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

Try this to reinstall the linux kernel:

pacman -S linux

If that doesn't work try this:

mkinitcpio -p linux

Chris Cromer

Offline

#6 2015-07-14 00:21:37

dubbad
Member
Registered: 2015-07-13
Posts: 23

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

# nano /boot/loader/entries/arch.conf

    title   Arch Linux
    linux    /vmlinuz-linux
    initrd   /initramfs-linux.img
    options root=PARTUUID=ed27c1d8-5d35-4f92-a0ef-7798b7e40449 rw

EDIT: reinstalling linux now.  I'll keep you posted.  Also, how exactly is it that you get things to show as code?

EDIT 2: I can now boot into Arch w/o live media, however, it puts me straight into emergency mode.  I see Failed to Mount Remount Root (or something like that, it was gone in a flash) and failed to mount /home.  Thoughts?

Last edited by dubbad (2015-07-14 00:29:21)

Offline

#7 2015-07-14 00:25:44

Chris Cromer
Member
From: Chile
Registered: 2014-08-30
Posts: 30

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

dubbad wrote:

# nano /boot/loader/entries/arch.conf

    title   Arch Linux
    linux    /vmlinuz-linux
    initrd   /initramfs-linux.img
    options root=PARTUUID=ed27c1d8-5d35-4f92-a0ef-7798b7e40449 rw

EDIT: reinstalling linux now.  I'll keep you posted.  Also, how exactly is it that you get things to show as code?

To post as code you need to put in these tags:

[code]Your code here[/code]

Chris Cromer

Offline

#8 2015-07-14 00:31:59

dubbad
Member
Registered: 2015-07-13
Posts: 23

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

So like I mentioned in EDIT2 I think the main deal is that the partitions aren't remounting properly.  On the line before

[FAILED]Failed to mount /home

I see

[   8.511987] EXT4-fs (sda6): Unrecognized mount option "0" or missing value

sda6 is the one I had mounted to /mnt/home during installation.

Offline

#9 2015-07-14 00:33:03

Chris Cromer
Member
From: Chile
Registered: 2014-08-30
Posts: 30

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

dubbad wrote:

EDIT 2: I can now boot into Arch w/o live media, however, it puts me straight into emergency mode.  I see Failed to Mount Remount Root (or something like that, it was gone in a flash) and failed to mount /home.  Thoughts?

Can you give us the contents of /etc/fstab?


Chris Cromer

Offline

#10 2015-07-14 00:36:11

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 30,424
Website

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

Your path in arch.conf is incorrect, according to your directory setup and--as the wiki notes--relative to your ESP.

You pasted a truncated tree output, so it is not clear but it looks like you have your ESP at /boot/EFI, so something like \EFI\arch\vmlinuz-linux


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#11 2015-07-14 00:37:43

dubbad
Member
Registered: 2015-07-13
Posts: 23

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

# nano /etc/fstab
#
# /etc/fstab: static file system information
#
# <file system> <dir> <type> <options>        <dump> <pass>
# /dev/sda5
UUID=e32...                                  /                 ext4                                    0 1

# /dev/sda6
UUID=ee5...                                  /home             ext4                                    0 2

Offline

#12 2015-07-14 00:40:29

dubbad
Member
Registered: 2015-07-13
Posts: 23

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

jasonwryan wrote:

Your path in arch.conf is incorrect, according to your directory setup and--as the wiki notes--relative to your ESP.

You pasted a truncated tree output, so it is not clear but it looks like you have your ESP at /boot/EFI, so something like \EFI\arch\vmlinuz-linux

After reinstalling the linux kernel my /boot now looks like this:

/boot
    initramfs-linux-fallback.img
    initramfs-linux.img
    vmlinuz-linux

0 directories, 3 files

Offline

#13 2015-07-14 00:41:24

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 30,424
Website

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

Where are your ESP files?


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#14 2015-07-14 00:45:06

dubbad
Member
Registered: 2015-07-13
Posts: 23

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

jasonwryan wrote:

Where are your ESP files?

I'm not sure, though parted still shows my boot partition (sda1) as having the boot and esp flags if that helps.

Offline

#15 2015-07-14 00:46:50

Chris Cromer
Member
From: Chile
Registered: 2014-08-30
Posts: 30

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

dubbad wrote:
# nano /etc/fstab
#
# /etc/fstab: static file system information
#
# <file system> <dir> <type> <options>        <dump> <pass>
# /dev/sda5
UUID=e32...                                  /                 ext4                                    0 1

# /dev/sda6
UUID=ee5...                                  /home             ext4                                    0 2

Your fstab is wrong.

Past this:

rw,relatime,data=ordered

between ext4 and 01 and 02

For example this is mine:

#
# /etc/fstab: static file system information
#
# <file system> <dir>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
# /dev/sda4
UUID=cc...       /               ext4            rw,relatime,data=ordered                                                                                0 1

# /dev/sda7
UUID=4c...       /home           ext4            rw,relatime,data=ordered                                                                                0 2

Chris Cromer

Offline

#16 2015-07-14 00:47:58

Chris Cromer
Member
From: Chile
Registered: 2014-08-30
Posts: 30

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

jasonwryan wrote:

Where are your ESP files?

His ESP files are fine, for whatever reason the linux kernel was not in /boot. Now it is, so that is why he can boot. Now he has a problem with fstab.


Chris Cromer

Offline

#17 2015-07-14 00:50:10

dubbad
Member
Registered: 2015-07-13
Posts: 23

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

I recognize that line from running `mount` to check my mounts during installation.  Unfortunately, I'm still booting into emergency mode with the same "Failed to mount" errors.

Offline

#18 2015-07-14 00:50:43

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 30,424
Website

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

Chris Cromer wrote:
jasonwryan wrote:

Where are your ESP files?

His ESP files are fine, for whatever reason the linux kernel was not in /boot. Now it is, so that is why he can boot. Now he has a problem with fstab.

According to his last paste, there are a total of 3 files in /boot. And, yes, his fstab is broken as well.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#19 2015-07-14 00:56:06

Chris Cromer
Member
From: Chile
Registered: 2014-08-30
Posts: 30

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

jasonwryan wrote:
Chris Cromer wrote:
jasonwryan wrote:

Where are your ESP files?

His ESP files are fine, for whatever reason the linux kernel was not in /boot. Now it is, so that is why he can boot. Now he has a problem with fstab.

According to his last paste, there are a total of 3 files in /boot. And, yes, his fstab is broken as well.

It boots now he says, which means that the ESP files are there even though he didn't post them in his last post.


Chris Cromer

Offline

#20 2015-07-14 00:57:07

Chris Cromer
Member
From: Chile
Registered: 2014-08-30
Posts: 30

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

dubbad wrote:

I recognize that line from running `mount` to check my mounts during installation.  Unfortunately, I'm still booting into emergency mode with the same "Failed to mount" errors.

Did you fix fstab like I mentioned before? The error you posted was an fstab error.


Chris Cromer

Offline

#21 2015-07-14 00:58:35

dubbad
Member
Registered: 2015-07-13
Posts: 23

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

Yes I did. 

rw,realtime,data=ordered

is now included under <pass> for sda5 and sda6.

Offline

#22 2015-07-14 01:00:31

Chris Cromer
Member
From: Chile
Registered: 2014-08-30
Posts: 30

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

dubbad wrote:

Yes I did. 

rw,realtime,data=ordered

is now included under <pass> for sda5 and sda6.

Is the error the same, or did it change? Because before it the error was on "0" in fstab.


Chris Cromer

Offline

#23 2015-07-14 01:02:10

dubbad
Member
Registered: 2015-07-13
Posts: 23

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

Chris Cromer wrote:

Is the error the same, or did it change? Because before it the error was on "0" in fstab.

Yes, it's the same error.  "Failed to mount /home"

Offline

#24 2015-07-14 01:06:28

Chris Cromer
Member
From: Chile
Registered: 2014-08-30
Posts: 30

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

dubbad wrote:
Chris Cromer wrote:

Is the error the same, or did it change? Because before it the error was on "0" in fstab.

Yes, it's the same error.  "Failed to mount /home"

Before you told me this:

[   8.511987] EXT4-fs (sda6): Unrecognized mount option "0" or missing value

Does it still say this? Or something new?


Chris Cromer

Offline

#25 2015-07-14 01:08:07

dubbad
Member
Registered: 2015-07-13
Posts: 23

Re: [RESOLVED] Systemd-boot help?

That line is gone.  It now goes from

Mounting /home...

to

[FAILED]Failed to mount /home

So I suppose it is a little different now.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB