You are not logged in.

#1 2015-08-11 13:44:48

AlexanderHolmgaard
Member
Registered: 2014-11-18
Posts: 57

Plasma 5 - NetworkManager applet not showing

Hello,

I don't know how to make the plasma-nm applet show.. Just today I reinstalled Arch and after finished installation I disabled netctl-auto, enabled NetworkManager and installed the plasma-nm package. Before reinstallation this was working fine; when I stopped and disabled netctl-auto, and then started NetworkManager, the applet icon would show.
Could I be missing some needed packages? Or any other suggestions?

Thanks!

//Alexander

Offline

#2 2015-08-11 13:52:18

gnumdk
Member
Registered: 2009-10-15
Posts: 165

Re: Plasma 5 - NetworkManager applet not showing

systemctl enable NetworkManager ?

Offline

#3 2015-08-11 13:56:28

AlexanderHolmgaard
Member
Registered: 2014-11-18
Posts: 57

Re: Plasma 5 - NetworkManager applet not showing

No, sorry, I didn't mention, but I enabled it as well.. Thanks though!

Offline

#4 2015-08-12 11:35:02

BenderRodriguez
Member
Registered: 2010-07-05
Posts: 16
Website

Re: Plasma 5 - NetworkManager applet not showing

I see a similar issue as well. Starting plasma with NetworkManager enabled just leaves an "empty space" in the tray where the NM-applet should be. Restarting NetworkManager renders the trayicon functional again. Unfortunately, I have no solution to make it work right after booting into plasma.

Offline

#5 2015-08-12 13:17:55

Loose_Control
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-01-11
Posts: 136

Re: Plasma 5 - NetworkManager applet not showing

@BenderRodriguez
are you using Telepathy by any chance? I had the same issue and it was caused by the Telepathy tray icon

Offline

#6 2015-08-12 19:53:30

BenderRodriguez
Member
Registered: 2010-07-05
Posts: 16
Website

Re: Plasma 5 - NetworkManager applet not showing

Loose_Control wrote:

@BenderRodriguez
are you using Telepathy by any chance? I had the same issue and it was caused by the Telepathy tray icon

No, I don't. I'll try removing it anyway. It's worth a try.

Offline

#7 2015-08-13 16:57:30

Floh1111
Member
Registered: 2009-11-04
Posts: 17

Re: Plasma 5 - NetworkManager applet not showing

Hi,

I'm also having this issue for quite a long time. After a fresh boot, there is an empty space in the systray where the plasma5 network manager applet should be.
Restarting the NetworkManager service with systemctl or disabling an reenabling the applet in the systray options will make it show up again.

I don't have a solution for fixing this either.

Kind Regards
Floh1111

Last edited by Floh1111 (2015-08-13 16:57:55)

Offline

#8 2015-08-14 00:59:56

twelveeighty
Member
From: Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2011-09-04
Posts: 507

Re: Plasma 5 - NetworkManager applet not showing

For what it's worth - I saw this same issue when my Intel Xorg settings were set to use "sna" instead of "uxa", triggering buggy behavior in the Intel driver - could be unrelated, but if you have an Intel card, check out the earlier posts on this dating a couple of weeks ago.

Offline

#9 2015-08-14 01:04:22

Amanda
Member
Registered: 2015-07-23
Posts: 34

Re: Plasma 5 - NetworkManager applet not showing

# pacman -S plasma-nm networkmanager-openvpn
# systemctl stop dhcpcd (you'll lost connection here)
# systemctl disable dhcpcd
# systemctl enable NetworkManager
# systemctl start NetworkManager

Done.

Offline

#10 2015-10-31 15:17:36

francois.e
Member
Registered: 2011-11-02
Posts: 61

Re: Plasma 5 - NetworkManager applet not showing

Thanks Amanda. Your solution works perfectly.

Offline

#11 2016-01-12 23:49:18

Xwang
Member
Registered: 2012-05-14
Posts: 152

Re: Plasma 5 - NetworkManager applet not showing

Since some days I've the same issue, but even Amanda solution does not solve the problem.
The network works (I can browse the internet), but the applet does not show until I execute a
systemctl restart NetworkManager.
Can you help me, please.

Last edited by Xwang (2016-01-12 23:49:30)

Offline

#12 2016-03-12 13:04:42

hkuribayashi
Member
Registered: 2016-03-12
Posts: 2

Re: Plasma 5 - NetworkManager applet not showing

Hi,

I'm also having this issue for quite a long time. After a fresh boot, there is an empty space in the systray where the plasma5 network manager applet should be.

Amandas solution doenst work for me.

Can you help me, please.

Offline

#13 2016-03-12 13:35:53

hkuribayashi
Member
Registered: 2016-03-12
Posts: 2

Re: Plasma 5 - NetworkManager applet not showing

In may case, in using plasma-nm package,  kubuntu 15.10/wily

Offline

#14 2016-03-12 14:00:21

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 9,183
Website

Re: Plasma 5 - NetworkManager applet not showing

Please ask on the kubuntu forums then.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … pport_ONLY

It doesn't look like AlexanderHolmgaard is interested in this topic any more, so I'm going to close this topic now.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB