You are not logged in.

#1 2006-03-31 07:53:18

FUBAR
Website

[Wiki in progress] ArchLinux as a router/NAT - feedback req

I'm writing a Wiki page on how to set up ArchLinux as a router / NAT. I've got a box I'm turning into one, so I'm trying to write all the steps I do/did down for future reference.

I have little experience with Linux networking, I can get a NIC get an IP and that's about it. So I'm mostly using documentation I found googling around and on Wiki's from other (-ugh ugh- Gentoo -ugh ugh-) distributions.

I'd appreciate it if someone would review what I've got so far (everything up until building a custom kernel!! lol ) and tell me if it's accurate.

Once I've got my router working, I'm even planning on writing a few helper scripts and maybe even make a specific router repo. But first things first: the installation and configuration of the router.

Any input will be greatly appreciated!

A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

#2 2006-03-31 15:53:01

marcob
Website

Re: [Wiki in progress] ArchLinux as a router/NAT - feedback req

I doubt I can offer much help, but I'm very much interested in this, so good luck to you and thanks for your efforts!

#3 2006-03-31 16:55:30

FUBAR
Website

I'd appreciate it if you follow my Wiki page and tell me did and didn't work out. smile

[edit]
Once I finished it, of course
[/edit]

#4 2006-03-31 18:14:37

cactus
Taco Eater
Website

one thing I noticed..
you might want to use sysctl to enable forwarding of packets.. not sure if the kernel compilation alone is enough, or if you need the sysctl option as well. I always have the sysctl option..and I honestly haven't tried it without it lately. o.O

If you meant a nat'ing firewall, and not a router, then you of course don't need that option.

Technically, a router and a nat firewall are not the same thing. wink