You are not logged in.

#1 2015-08-28 20:29:08

garrett92895

Changing the volume step in GNOME 3 while keeping GNOME's volume OSD

What I have is not a question, but a workaround for an issue that seems fairly common. This is my first time posting in the Arch forums so I'm not exactly sure if this is the right way to go about this.

The issue at hand is that GNOME 3 (including 3.16 as of writing this) does not allow the user to configure the percentage by which the volume decreases/increases when you change the volume. It is actually hard coded to 6 in their code (gnome-settings-daemon/plugins/media-keys/gsd-media-keys-manager.c). You can adjust the step size by binding the volume keys to a command that changes the volume for you, but then the volume notification OSD no longer shows up. You can create your own notification that is triggered by your command, but that doesn't work if you'd like to stick with GNOME's volume OSD.

I wrote a script that resolves this, which you can find along with an explanation at https://github.com/garrett92895/gnome-volume-step-osd but I will also post the script here for easier access

import dbus
import sys
from subprocess import getoutput

session_bus = dbus.SessionBus()
proxy = session_bus.get_object('org.gnome.Shell', '/org/gnome/Shell')
interface = dbus.Interface(proxy, 'org.gnome.Shell')

vol_action = sys.argv[1]
vol_percent_change = sys.argv[2]

command = 'amixer -D pulse sset Master ' + vol_percent_change + '%'

if vol_action == 'increase':
    command += '+ > /dev/null && amixer -D pulse set Master unmute'
else:
    command += '-'

command += ' | grep -oP "\[\d*%\]" | head -n 1 | sed s:[][%]::g'

current_vol_percentage = int(getoutput(command))

logo = 'audio-volume-'
if current_vol_percentage < 20:
    logo += 'low'
elif current_vol_percentage >= 20 and current_vol_percentage < 80:
    logo += 'medium'
else:
    logo += 'high'
logo += '-symbolic'

interface.ShowOSD({"icon":logo, "level":current_vol_percentage})