You are not logged in.

#1 2006-04-04 02:24:17

briancurtin
Member
From: Chicago, IL
Registered: 2006-02-11
Posts: 132
Website

rhythmbox plugin problem

i started rhythmbox and then went to play some music and got this result when opened in the terminal:

(rhythmbox:3553): Rhythmbox-WARNING **: Unable to start mDNS browsing

** (rhythmbox:3553): WARNING **: Could not connect to system bus: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: No such file or directory

** (rhythmbox:3553): WARNING **: hal_initialize failed: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: No such file or directory
3553: arguments to dbus_connection_send_with_reply_and_block() were incorrect, assertion "connection != NULL" failed in file dbus-connection.c line 2763.
This is normally a bug in some application using the D-BUS library.

** (rhythmbox:3553): WARNING **: hal_initialize failed: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: No such file or directory
** Message: don't know how to handle audio/mpeg, mpegversion=(int)1, layer=(int)3
** Message: don't know how to handle audio/mpeg, mpegversion=(int)1, layer=(int)3
** Message: don't know how to handle audio/mpeg, mpegversion=(int)1, layer=(int)3
####those last lines just repeat over and over for each song in the list

it worked the other day, then i moved up to gnome 2.14. MP3s or OGGs can't play, but i have the gst-plugins package and it claims to be up to date. should i remove them and get them all over again or something?

Offline

#2 2006-04-04 10:42:46

Arkamririon
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-12-27
Posts: 34

Re: rhythmbox plugin problem

Have a similar problem after upgrading to Gnome 2.14.
Can't play my musiccollection (all OGG's)
But i have no real errormessage. Only saw rhytmbox setting the can't play icon in front of a song and switching to the next very fast etc. 10 seconds and 30-40 non playble songs later i get a segfault message in the terminal.
Tried Amarok: can't play the songs, too. But Amarok said : can't read audio file.
Tried XMMS: works !? But don't like xmms.

What is very weird: All werks perfect on my laptop. After update installed all gstreamer0.10-plugins and music is played as expected.
Any Idea how to fix the problem of my Desktop PC? Or at least where to start with the search?

Offline

#3 2006-04-04 10:45:54

lessthanjake
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2005-11-09
Posts: 319
Website

Re: rhythmbox plugin problem

Have you installed gstreamer-0.10-xxxxxx ?

Offline

#4 2006-04-04 10:50:33

Arkamririon
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-12-27
Posts: 34

Re: rhythmbox plugin problem

yes installed all gstreamer plugins.

Offline

#5 2006-04-04 10:59:06

lessthanjake
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2005-11-09
Posts: 319
Website

Re: rhythmbox plugin problem

Yes, but wat about gstreamer0.10-plugins big_smile

Offline

#6 2006-04-04 11:07:29

Arkamririon
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-12-27
Posts: 34

Re: rhythmbox plugin problem

yes of course i mean gstreamer0.10-plugins.
Made the same things I did on my laptop, but
dektop = no music
laptop = music

Offline

#7 2006-04-04 18:05:57

briancurtin
Member
From: Chicago, IL
Registered: 2006-02-11
Posts: 132
Website

Re: rhythmbox plugin problem

the 0.10 plugins solved it, thanks man. i figured those would have came along with the rest of it

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB