You are not logged in.

#1 2006-04-06 03:10:01

ScriptDevil

KDE Howto, for an absolute newbie.

I have just moved to arch after ubuntu and fedora. I moved to arch after findind underground desktop, based on arch. I loved arch when i read the documentation. But how do i install kde on the system. I think arch-0.7.1
comes without a desktop manager( i got the full not base). If so is the command,
             pacman -Sy kde ??
what else do i type for open office with kde and its applications.
Also i want to setup my adsl connection through my ethernet card. I did this in Underground desktop by using the lan setup option, (mine uses Dynamic IP.) and then clicking connect. How do i do it in arch
Looking to get away from depending on gui configuration utilities
ScriptDevil

Be yourself, because you are all that you can be

#2 2006-04-06 03:39:05

viniosity
Website

Re: KDE Howto, for an absolute newbie.

There's a lot of info here:

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Category:Desktop

including KDE and Openoffice.  I just starting using kde myself.. it was super easy on Arch.. it's quite an amazing distro.

#3 2006-04-07 02:06:18

ScriptDevil

Fine I installed arch, but how do i setup the network,
It is through the ethernet card, eth0
I got it working in Underground 022 linux,( based on arch) by double clicking lan setup icon and then ok with dhcp.
Then i right clicked the icon of the connection created in the system bar and clicked connect and bingo it worked.
Note: the modem(through eth0) does not need a username and passwd. It is stored in the modem itself So please guide me abt this
Regards
Ash

#4 2006-04-07 02:19:00

McQueen

ScriptDevil wrote:

Fine I installed arch, but how do i setup the network,
It is through the ethernet card, eth0

This bit of configuration works for me: DHCP IP Setup

/path/to/Truth

#5 2006-04-07 03:33:44

lilsirecho
Veteran

Script Devil;

You set-up etho for either DHCP or ADSL in the install procedure via the install CD.