You are not logged in.

#1 2015-10-11 15:06:28

kro24889

New to Linux but...

So for the last few months I've tried a small number of distros and my favorite so far has been Ubuntu mate. I'm still learning about Linux and how the system works what should I make sure I have a firm grasp of before I try to install Arch Linux on a machine. Arch looks like ALOT of work but I do like the customization you can perform on it, I was wondering in terms of system security, having to do the updates yourself is it still relatively safe? And I guess its up to you to keep track when updates for the kernel or apps or programs come out? Just some basic questions, thanks for your time whoever answers.

#2 2015-10-11 15:21:31

Ogis1975

Re: New to Linux but...

Hello kro24889. I am not arch linux guru (i am newbie), but i think good start point is Arch Linux Wiki. Also, questions, related security in Arch linux, you can read Arch Linux Wiki

#3 2015-10-11 15:37:33

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Website

kro24889 wrote:

I guess its up to you to keep track when updates for the kernel or apps or programs come out?

Not really.  Just update regularly (daily, weekly, whatever) with a single command (`pacman -Syu`) and you will always be up to date.  There is no need to try to follow the news of what is changing in the kernel or other major packages to know when to update.

Now following that news can have other benefits - but for knowing when to update, just do so frequently.

"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

#4 2015-10-11 15:38:07

kro24889

Ogis1975 wrote:

Hello kro24889. I am not arch linux guru (i am newbie), but i think good start point is Arch Linux Wiki. Also, questions, related security in Arch linux, you can read Arch Linux Wiki