You are not logged in.

#1 2015-10-11 19:02:57

Sentenel

Gnome and gdm black screen with white dots (pixels really)

Greetings,

I have installed arch today, with gnome, and it worked fine, then after I installed catalyst it just shows a black screen and some dots on it, I have no idea what to do, I googled this problem but nothing came out, please help!

BTW my graphics card is Radeon R7 260X

Edit: I have installed xfce4 and it works fine, but I really like gnome and would like to use it if possible, if not, at least to understand why it isn't working properly.

Thanks in advance
Sentenel

Last edited by Sentenel (2015-10-11 19:03:56)

#2 2015-10-11 23:58:33

BloodyAngel75

Re: Gnome and gdm black screen with white dots (pixels really)

Hey Sentenel,

I've got the same issue using the catalyst-test driver and gnome version 3.18.
Since I'm fairly new to Arch Linux myself I just downgraded gnome to version 3.16, which is working fine in my case.

This approach may also lead to package issues later on!
So you have to decide if you stick with xfce, change your driver to the opensource driver or use the old gnome 3.16.

If you like to go my rout as well, you may downgrade package using the AUR package "downgrade" simple use:
downgrade <pkg>
and choose a package version

Since a lot a packages have to be downgraded(~70), another (potentially simpler) approach is to use the "Arch Rollback Machine", however i haven't used this myself
More info: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ar … ck_Machine

More info on downgrading packages in general:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Do … g_packages

Additionally you have to ignore all updates for these packages.
If you're aware of the downsides to this approach and still want to go though, i can write all package I downgraded/ignored

Best regards
Angel

#3 2015-10-12 08:07:38

Knalltuete

Hey,