You are not logged in.

#1 2006-04-07 03:18:23

TheHoff
Member
Registered: 2004-10-29
Posts: 12

Upgrade from 2.6.15 to 2.6.16

Blah --

I just did a pacman -Syu to get the lastest everything, and my system seems  hosed. The relevant change (I think) was the upgrade from kernel 2.6.15 to 2.6.16.  I get something like this on boot:

mounting /dev/root on /new_root failed
pivot_root: no such file or directory

and then a BusyBox prompt.  I can't mount anything at all, which is weird: Not my SATA harddrive on /dev/sda1 nor my IDE harddrive on /dev/hdc1.

I know there are a lot of posts on this topic, but most of them seem to be from the /dev/discs/ vs. /dev/sda1 thing, which I have right.

As luck would have it, my laptop ate my last CD which I was trying to burn Knoppix on, so that's pretty much all the information I can give until tomorrow smile

-- John

Offline

#2 2006-04-08 09:16:18

cl0wn
Member
Registered: 2005-12-29
Posts: 32

Re: Upgrade from 2.6.15 to 2.6.16

add this to your /boot/grub/menu.lst:
initrd /initrd26.img

if it doesn't help:
initrd /initrd26-full.img


knowledge is p0wer...

Offline

#3 2006-04-08 14:21:42

TheHoff
Member
Registered: 2004-10-29
Posts: 12

Re: Upgrade from 2.6.15 to 2.6.16

Yeah, I've already got /initrd.img and I've tried /initrd-full.img but it gives the same results.  I'll post my mkinitrd.conf when I can boot into Knoppix, but it's just the standard one that Arch provides.

Offline

#4 2006-04-08 15:17:34

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,321

Re: Upgrade from 2.6.15 to 2.6.16

do you have a /initrd directory?

Offline

#5 2006-04-08 21:25:22

cl0wn
Member
Registered: 2005-12-29
Posts: 32

Re: Upgrade from 2.6.15 to 2.6.16

mm have you tried rebuilding initrd?
$ mkinitrd auto
or
$ mkinitrd full
and then reboot? smile


knowledge is p0wer...

Offline

#6 2006-04-09 13:43:39

TheHoff
Member
Registered: 2004-10-29
Posts: 12

Re: Upgrade from 2.6.15 to 2.6.16

Yep, that did it.  I built a new initrd and things are working!  Not really sure why; I didn't change the config file any (except to turn on USB, why is it disabled by default?) and now everything's peachy.

-- John

Offline

#7 2006-04-28 16:41:08

azucaro
Member
From: Washington, DC
Registered: 2005-05-03
Posts: 18

Re: Upgrade from 2.6.15 to 2.6.16

Hi all,

I'm experiencing the same problem after upgrading from 2.6.15 to 2.6.16. I get the following upon booting:

mount: Mounting /dev/root on /new_root failed: No such device or address
pivot_root: pivot_root: No such file or directory
umount: /initrd: No such file or directory
umount: /initrd: No such file or directory
/linuxrc: 382: /sbin/busybox: not found
Freeing unused kernel memory: 244k freed

BusyBox v1.01 (2006.03.10-22:56+0000) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

/bin/sh: can't access tty; job control turned off

So I went to a backup kernel and tried to rebuild the initrd:

# mkinitrd auto
Checking Input...
ERROR: Your ramdisk size (4096 KB) is too low! It must be at least 16384 KB.

Note also that I'm getting a lot of these messages during the boot process, no matter what kernel I choose:

FATAL: Could not load /lib/modules/2.6.15.4-ARCH/modules.dep: No such file or directory

Any ideas on this one? I'm stuck! Thank you!


df -h /my/head

Offline

#8 2006-04-29 10:00:05

azucaro
Member
From: Washington, DC
Registered: 2005-05-03
Posts: 18

Re: Upgrade from 2.6.15 to 2.6.16

Ok, so new info:

I build the initrd again with kernel boot parameter ramdisk_size=XXXX. The new initrd didn't solve the problem. Still stuck.


df -h /my/head

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB