You are not logged in.

#1 2015-10-24 00:11:55

PJxSlain

Installation and Desktop Environment questions

Hi guys! I am fairly new to Arch, and have successfully installed the x32 version on my desktop. I loved how the process went and was relatively a smooth process. Now that I have attempted to make the transition onto my laptop, the problems are revealing themselves to me.

My laptop supported the x64 architecture of Ubuntu, which is where i started my Linux adventure. Now that I am trying to install the x64 version of Arch on my laptop, I'm not having any success. I have followed the prcess as best as I could when trying to decypher the installation guide and some other vidoes that I have found. The problems begin when trying to install my video drivers and running "startx" to ensure that everything is set up. Once I try and get visuals installed to have a usable desktop environment (I would like to go with Xfce, but I have Gnome sucessfully installed on my desktop at the moment), all error messages show up and the "startx" fails to load, kicking me back to the terminal.

After several failed attempts to get x64 Arch up and running on my desktop, I thought I would give the x32 version a shot since I have sucessfully installed that before on the first shot. Just as I thought, I got the x32 bit running, but was still a bit wonky. I installed Gnome and was very laggy when it runs smooth as silk on my much older desktop.

As for a later note, I would like some help with the installation with xfce. Gnome was very simple to install and enable, where i just cant seem to get xfce installed properly.

Any help with getting Arch running (preferably x64) would be greatly appreciated, and even moreso after the fact with getting xfce going. Thanks all!

R/S

Last edited by PJxSlain (2015-10-24 01:41:21)

#2 2015-10-24 00:27:35

PJxSlain

Re: Installation and Desktop Environment questions