You are not logged in.

#1 2015-12-01 22:40:27

willmr

Desktop environment question [SOLVED]

First Hello.

I'm a Arch Linux user, and i learn things with arch almost everyday.

My question is, i have a dell inspirion 14 notebook, which runs at 1366 x 768, and i want to save space in my screen, I'm a front-end dev and for programing in php,html5,css3 is cool to have a clean view of the screen,  i was wondering if there is some desktop enviroment or if i can do this on xfce, i want to have the window aplication tool bar in the desktop tool bar at the top, something like unity does (or mac os), so i can save more space on my screen, because i use plank and i don't need a window management to minimize and maximize in the desktop toolbar. and i don't want to use unity because isn't official supported by Arch.

Sorry for my bad english.

Last edited by willmr (2015-12-02 01:15:05)

#2 2015-12-01 23:31:00

dcj123

Re: Desktop environment question [SOLVED]

I am not sure I follow what you want but if you want something like Mac OS you might want to look at the avant window navigator (AWN). You can change the position of AWN if I recall from when I used it, see https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Av … _Navigator

#3 2015-12-01 23:58:39

willmr

Thanks but I use Plank as a dock.

I want a way that i can remove a application tool bar and put in the desktop toolbar, the application that is opening,   because there isn't a reason for me to use a window list in the desktop tool bar since i have the Plank dock.

I'm using Xfce btw.

Last edited by willmr (2015-12-02 00:00:42)

#4 2015-12-02 00:01:23

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Website

Then just remove the toolbar.  *confused*

"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

#5 2015-12-02 00:06:25

dcj123