You are not logged in.

#1 2006-04-12 07:15:11

moire
Member
Registered: 2006-01-07
Posts: 52

[request] 3ware 3dm2

3Ware Disc Monitor 2 RAID monitoring utility with web interface. 3ware RAID cards are popular for linux users so I think this would be a big help! Thanks

Offline

#2 2006-08-27 12:28:25

moire
Member
Registered: 2006-01-07
Posts: 52

Re: [request] 3ware 3dm2

Bump - how could I possibly be the only one in need of this?  :? I would really appreciate help with this since 3ware only provides init.d scripts for the more common distros and I have no idea how I would port this to Arch.

Offline

#3 2006-08-27 12:44:13

Lone_Wolf
Forum Moderator
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 12,080

Re: [request] 3ware 3dm2

Could you give us a link to the software ?

As to using init.d scripts, a first step would be to check if they support start | stop | restart and run them manually to find out what needs to be changed.


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.


(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#4 2006-08-27 13:01:38

moire
Member
Registered: 2006-01-07
Posts: 52

Re: [request] 3ware 3dm2

EDIT: To simplify things, read my next post first.

Links below. It's pretty confusing on 3ware's part, and I should note that the utility itself appears to be closed-source. But it's really just a matter of porting the initscript to an Arch rc.d script. The 3ware utility is supposed to be installed with the included install script (which has to be run with (t)csh by the way). Overall it seems like a huge mess, but many users would probably benefit since 3ware cards are the standard for linux RAID controllers.

First of all here are instructions on getting it to work in Gentoo, which might help:
http://moose.ca/node/35?PHPSESSID=29311 … d91000dd9d

Here is the package I've been trying to deal with

http://www.3ware.com/download/Escalade7 … .3.0.4.tgz

Offline

#5 2006-08-27 13:13:12

moire
Member
Registered: 2006-01-07
Posts: 52

Re: [request] 3ware 3dm2

to simplify my last post, here's the init script that works for Gentoo. I'm really just looking for an equivalent script that will work on Arch:

#!/sbin/runscript
#
# A script to run the 3ware disk management utiltiy
#

depend() {
  need net
  use logger
}

start() {
  ebegin "Starting 3ware monitoring service"
  start-stop-daemon --start --quiet --exec /usr/sbin/3dm2 &>/dev/null
  return=$?
  eend $result
}

stop() {
  ebegin "Stopping 3ware monitoring service"
  start-stop-daemon --stop --quiet --exec /usr/sbin/3dm2 &>/dev/null
  return=$?
  eend $result
}

Offline

#6 2006-09-04 03:26:17

moire
Member
Registered: 2006-01-07
Posts: 52

Re: [request] 3ware 3dm2

I ended up trusting the judgement of that gentoo tutorial and wrote a really bare-bones rc script. Hopefully it doesn't leave out anything, it's just the most basic start/stop. Not a perfect solution, but it seems to work with the default 3dm2 install (via 3ware's included script).

#!/bin/bash

. /etc/rc.conf
. /etc/rc.d/functions

PID=`pidof -o %PPID /usr/sbin/3dm2`
case "$1" in
  start)
    stat_busy "Starting 3dm2"
    if [ -z "$PID" ]; then 
       /usr/sbin/3dm2
    fi
    if [ ! -z "$PID" -o $? -gt 0 ]; then
      stat_fail
    else
      add_daemon 3dm2
      stat_done
    fi
    ;;
  stop)
    stat_busy "Stopping 3dm2"
    [ ! -z "$PID" ]  && kill $PID &> /dev/null
    if [ $? -gt 0 ]; then
      stat_fail
    else
      rm_daemon 3dm2
      stat_done
    fi
    ;;
  restart)
    $0 stop
    sleep 1
    $0 start
    ;;
  *)
    echo "usage: $0 {start|stop|restart}"  
esac

Offline

#7 2009-07-27 15:32:53

DrMikeDuke
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2008-05-12
Posts: 79
Website

Re: [request] 3ware 3dm2

sorry to re-awaken this thread.
I just wanted to say THANKS! because this saved my bacon!
Also, has there been any improvment made or new developments OP?
Same old problems still!


Workstation: Core i7 2600k | Asus PBZ68-V/GEN3 | 8GB DDR3-2000 | Gainward GLH GTX570 | Velociraptor 300 | AntecSS 850W | Essence ST | Corsair 800D | Win7x64 Pro/Arch LinuxX64
Server: 2x Six-Core AMD Opteron Processor 8439 SE, 64GB DDR2 ECC, Tyan S2932-SI, Areca ARC-1230 Raid, PCP&C 1Kw PSU, LSi FusionMPT Ultra320 SCSI/Tandberg LTO4 Autoloader
Laptop: Alienware M14xR3

Offline

#8 2010-04-03 21:43:55

QuimaxW
Member
From: Papua New Guinea
Registered: 2006-12-03
Posts: 228
Website

Re: [request] 3ware 3dm2

I'm thinking this might be good for a wiki.

I just installed the 3DM2 utility on my server with that init script above and it seems to work pretty good!


"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain that which he cannot lose." -Jim Elliot

Offline

#9 2011-12-16 16:57:17

opp
Member
Registered: 2011-12-16
Posts: 1

Re: [request] 3ware 3dm2

Hi,

Thanks for the above script! Works perfectly fine :-)

Offline

#10 2011-12-16 21:41:47

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 19,876

Re: [request] 3ware 3dm2

Opp,

Welcome to arch.  I see you are sending thanks to the OP, but this is a really old thread.  We discourage reviving old threads since things change so quickly in Linix land.  There is no harm here, but reviving old threads tends to muddy the waters by mixing old information with new information.

I am going to close this thread now.  Our Policy


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB