You are not logged in.

#1 2015-12-08 17:42:59

vujke
Member
From: Belgrade, Srebia
Registered: 2012-03-10
Posts: 17

[SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

I created Arch Linux Installer USB drive, and when I want to install git package (to use helmuthdu script for installation) i got:

error: Partition / too full: 62226 blocks needed, 44870 blocks free
error: not enough free disk space 
error: failed to commit transaction (not enough free disk space)
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded.

pacman -Scc didn't help.

What's wrong?

Last edited by vujke (2016-01-03 10:43:20)

Offline

#2 2015-12-08 18:10:53

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 10,841
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

Why do you need git to run a script? Also, please note that such installation methods are unsupported. By the looks of things, that particular script appears to be semi-unmaintained.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MEG B550 UNIFY // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#3 2015-12-08 18:20:17

ayekat
Member
Registered: 2011-01-17
Posts: 1,522
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

I agree that OP's final goal is not supportable, but the main issue is why the git package cannot be installed but others can. It does not seem to be a size issue to me.


{,META,RE}PKGBUILDSpacman-hacks (includes makemetapkg and remakepkg) │ dotfiles

Offline

#4 2015-12-08 23:01:56

vujke
Member
From: Belgrade, Srebia
Registered: 2012-03-10
Posts: 17

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

It's not only for git, it's for any package.

I need git to clone script:

git clone git://github.com/helmuthdu/aui

Offline

#5 2015-12-09 12:05:25

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 10,259

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

Check https://github.com/helmuthdu/aui ,"without git" section .


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.
Did you use the guided installer ? If yes, I can't help you.

(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#6 2015-12-09 12:54:54

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 27,067
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

WorMzy wrote:

that particular script appears to be semi-unmaintained.

README wrote:

Project no longer maintained

I'm not sure where the "Semi" comes from.  Just over a year ago, that line said the project was looking for a new maintainer.  It seems no one wanted it.  Nine months ago it was changed to "no longer maintained".


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#7 2015-12-09 13:18:21

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 10,841
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

I didn't look into it too much, I just noticed the last commit was three days ago. tongue


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MEG B550 UNIFY // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#8 2015-12-27 14:47:08

boban_dj
Member
Registered: 2015-03-17
Posts: 147

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

@ayekat

ayekat wrote:

I agree that OP's final goal is not supportable, but the main issue is why the git package cannot be installed but others can.

I use git to clone my personal scripts/configs to spin up a server but also to use selfmade install-scripts for several machines. I dont understand why OP's goal is not supportable, with all the previous iso's it was possible.
With previous arch iso's I could install git. Now the latest iso gives me the same error. See https://ptpb.pw/nl-g

I can use an older iso, but my vps provider uses the newest arch iso so I cannot change this.
Also tried latest iso in Virtualbox with 2048MB memory, 16Gb diskspace, same results.

Steps to reproduce:

Load arch iso in vbox
make fresh install 2048mb base memory, 16GB hdd, 128MB video memory
after loading arch iso:
pacman -Syy
pacman -S git

Not sure what to post to clearify the problem better, any suggestions are very welcome

Last edited by boban_dj (2015-12-27 14:47:59)

Offline

#9 2015-12-27 15:20:02

ayekat
Member
Registered: 2011-01-17
Posts: 1,522
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

boban_dj wrote:

I use git to clone my personal scripts/configs to spin up a server but also to use selfmade install-scripts for several machines. I dont understand why OP's goal is not supportable, with all the previous iso's it was possible.

Installing git to run some self-made installation scripts is not the issue - OP's goal is to install git to run some third-party installation script, and this forum does not support people who run into issues after having run some third-party automation setup.


{,META,RE}PKGBUILDSpacman-hacks (includes makemetapkg and remakepkg) │ dotfiles

Offline

#10 2015-12-27 15:43:55

boban_dj
Member
Registered: 2015-03-17
Posts: 147

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

@ayekat, do you think I have to post a new issue with the same subject? (not ironicly meant)

To defend the OP's issue, I used the aui scripts a couple of times, it is a bash script nothing complicated.
My personal opinion is that it is a arch iso issue, since pacman -S git is not supported anymore. This has nothing to do with the aui scripts or any third party.

Offline

#11 2015-12-27 16:58:37

ayekat
Member
Registered: 2011-01-17
Posts: 1,522
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

Automated installation scripts have been discussed to death on this forum...

But +1 for the bug report. I can install vim + dependencies (which is a lot larger than git) without any issues, but git somehow represents a problem for pacman.


{,META,RE}PKGBUILDSpacman-hacks (includes makemetapkg and remakepkg) │ dotfiles

Offline

#12 2015-12-29 13:03:41

Slithery
Administrator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 5,376

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

Does installing git work as part of the pacstrap command and therefore available after you arch-chroot?

pacstrap ... base git

Last edited by Slithery (2015-12-29 13:04:50)


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#13 2015-12-29 16:31:37

boban_dj
Member
Registered: 2015-03-17
Posts: 147

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

@slithery, the way I use it is right after the arch iso boots, I  first do pacman -Syy, then pacman -S git to get my scripts from github and do the install.

I tried to install some smaller and bigger packages, for example: (on a vbox, 2048 Mb ram, 128MB video, 16GB hdd ,arch 64)

Install ok: assciquarium, scrot, screen, cmus, python2, binutils, xmlto, libgnome-keyring, lynx
Install with the same error message: ffmpeg, git, geany, emacs

Not sure wether to report this as a bug and where, since the previous arch iso's not had such a problem, advice is much appreciated.

Last edited by boban_dj (2015-12-29 16:33:17)

Offline

#14 2015-12-29 17:02:02

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 27,067
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

boban_dj wrote:

I  first do pacman -Syy, then pacman -S git

So you intentionally do partial updates on a live system?  Are you seeing if you can turn it into a dead system?


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#15 2015-12-29 17:19:59

ayekat
Member
Registered: 2011-01-17
Posts: 1,522
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

Trilby wrote:

So you intentionally do partial updates on a live system?  Are you seeing if you can turn it into a dead system?

On the ISO, the database files do not exist. If you try to install any package, this is what you get:

root@archiso ~ # pacman -S git
warning: database file for 'core' does not exist
warning: database file for 'extra' does not exist
warning: database file for 'community' does not exist
error: target not found: git

If one wants to avoid partial upgrades on a live system, one would have to do a full `-Syu`, which (towards the end of the month, such as now) tends to pull in packges with an install size of 335.99 MiB. I don't know how the live system handles memory paging, but clearly it runs out of the available 256 MiB in /run/archiso/cowspace (in my case it was during the extraction of package 11/59, btrfs-progs).

One could of course increase the filesystem size under /run/archiso/cowspace (I do not know how, but it should be possible), yet this would not answer the question of why some packages fail to be installed and others not - IMHO pacman shouldn't complain about storage capacity due to a partial upgrade (other things might break due to a partial upgrade, but size should not be an issue).


{,META,RE}PKGBUILDSpacman-hacks (includes makemetapkg and remakepkg) │ dotfiles

Offline

#16 2015-12-31 14:31:32

ayekat
Member
Registered: 2011-01-17
Posts: 1,522
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

ayekat wrote:

(other things might break due to a partial upgrade, but size should not be an issue)

I stand corrected: whatever was the issue, it seems to be related to that partial upgrade. I have no clue what exactly is the issue, though.

Via djgera@FS#45618 I have learned that one can increase the space available in the tmpfs overlay in /run/archiso/cowspace by passing something like this to the kernel options:

cow_spacesize=1G

Then I was able to perform a 413.98MiB system upgrade followed by a correctly installed git package.

I hope this brings this discussion to a somewhat satisfying conclusion.


{,META,RE}PKGBUILDSpacman-hacks (includes makemetapkg and remakepkg) │ dotfiles

Offline

#17 2015-12-31 15:18:00

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 27,067
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

ayekat wrote:

I stand corrected: whatever was the issue, it seems to be related to that partial upgrade.

You beat me to it - I was about to post that you were correct provided that the iso is the newest a partial upgrade may not be troublesome in most cases.  But on an older iso it could very well be a horrible mess.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#18 2016-01-01 10:14:28

boban_dj
Member
Registered: 2015-03-17
Posts: 147

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

Thanks@ayekat for sharing and explaining, and @trilby for endure my laziness and messing around.
for me

ayekat wrote:

I hope this brings this discussion to a somewhat satisfying conclusion.

it certainly is a satisying conclusion.

Last edited by boban_dj (2016-01-01 10:50:11)

Offline

#19 2016-01-03 10:42:30

vujke
Member
From: Belgrade, Srebia
Registered: 2012-03-10
Posts: 17

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

Lone_Wolf wrote:

Check https://github.com/helmuthdu/aui ,"without git" section .

I tried without git, and it worked!

Thank you, Lone_Wolf!

Last edited by vujke (2016-01-03 10:43:03)

Offline

#20 2016-01-05 15:42:00

AndreasGB
Member
Registered: 2016-01-05
Posts: 18

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

I ran into a similar problem just yesterday, and solved it too by increasing the size of the cowspace, although I did it without reboot, which is why I want to share my solution, too.

I created an fstab via

genfstab -P / >/etc/fstab

then I removed unnecessary mounts and increased the size of cowspace to 2G.

Then I remounted it using

mount -o remount cowspace

and had 2GB available instead of the in my opinion way too small 256MB.

I hope this can help someone.

Last edited by AndreasGB (2016-01-05 15:42:30)

Offline

#21 2016-01-05 15:54:01

ayekat
Member
Registered: 2011-01-17
Posts: 1,522
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

AndreasGB, that's actually nice - it made me try a out an even faster way smile

mount -o remount,size=2G /run/archiso/cowspace

This doesn't require tinkering around in /etc/fstab.


{,META,RE}PKGBUILDSpacman-hacks (includes makemetapkg and remakepkg) │ dotfiles

Offline

#22 2016-01-05 16:01:09

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 27,067
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

If anyone would like to add it, this sounds like it'd be a good addition to the wiki.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#23 2016-01-05 23:41:06

AndreasGB
Member
Registered: 2016-01-05
Posts: 18

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

ayekat, that is a great solution. If you don't want to add it yourself, I could do it. Just not sure yet where it would fit best...

Offline

#24 2016-01-06 00:07:33

ayekat
Member
Registered: 2011-01-17
Posts: 1,522
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

AndreasGB wrote:

Just not sure yet where it would fit best...

That was exactly my thought, too smile
Perhaps we could create a new article explaining how to use the Arch install medium (pacstrap, available tools, configurations, quirks, etc.)? I'm not very confident, though. I have never edited anything in the Arch wiki, and it would be a topic I barely know anything about.


{,META,RE}PKGBUILDSpacman-hacks (includes makemetapkg and remakepkg) │ dotfiles

Offline

#25 2017-10-15 11:45:37

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 10,841
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Error: "partition / too full" during installation

I'm not surprised it's not working for you, you're not using Arch...

Please do not necrobump, or seek support for anything other than Arch Linux on these forums.

Closing.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MEG B550 UNIFY // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB