You are not logged in.

#1 2016-01-03 22:04:56

dviktor
Member
From: Moscow
Registered: 2015-10-18
Posts: 156

[SOLVED] Intel HDMI audio - no sound

Hi everyone! I am using Arch x64 (with XFCE) for a half of a year. Previously I've been using Fedora and all seemed alright: HDMI video and audio output worked perfect.
I have alsa + pulseaudio installed:

[viktor ~]$ pacman -Q | grep alsa
alsa-lib 1.1.0-1
alsa-plugins 1.1.0-1
alsa-utils 1.1.0-1
lib32-alsa-lib 1.1.0-1
lib32-alsa-plugins 1.1.0-1
pulseaudio-alsa 2-3
zita-alsa-pcmi 0.2.0-3
[viktor ~]$ pacman -Q | grep pulse
lib32-libpulse 7.1-1
libcanberra-pulse 0.30-5
libpulse 7.1-3
pulseaudio 7.1-3
pulseaudio-alsa 2-3

I want to watch some films on my Samsung TV. Video output works but I can't hear any sound. I've selected HDMI output in pavucontrol - I can even see levels activity in it when some music is playing (in vlc, eg) - but with no audio on TV.

Aplay gives:

[viktor ~]$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: CX20590 Analog [CX20590 Analog]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Kernel 4.3.3-2

So, what the problem is in? Forum search and google didn't helped.

Last edited by dviktor (2016-01-11 09:27:59)

Offline

#2 2016-01-04 12:59:54

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 11,272

Re: [SOLVED] Intel HDMI audio - no sound

Did you go through all of the possible ports in the output/configuration tab in pavucontrol? Only one should be working, which one is what you have to find out (Automatic switching/detection of the correct port seems to be a difficult excercise). Can you post

pacmd list-cards

Last edited by V1del (2016-01-04 13:01:08)

Offline

#3 2016-01-04 14:13:35

tom.ty89
Member
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 896

Re: [SOLVED] Intel HDMI audio - no sound

Or do a speaker-test with proper -D (check aplay -L for the "PCM" of the HDMI sound) to make sure the kernel driver isn't borked.

Offline

#4 2016-01-04 16:49:31

dviktor
Member
From: Moscow
Registered: 2015-10-18
Posts: 156

Re: [SOLVED] Intel HDMI audio - no sound

pacmd gives:

1 card(s) available.
    index: 0
	name: <alsa_card.pci-0000_00_1b.0>
	driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
	owner module: 6
	properties:
		alsa.card = "0"
		alsa.card_name = "HDA Intel PCH"
		alsa.long_card_name = "HDA Intel PCH at 0xe1600000 irq 29"
		alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
		device.bus_path = "pci-0000:00:1b.0"
		sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card0"
		device.bus = "pci"
		device.vendor.id = "8086"
		device.vendor.name = "Intel Corporation"
		device.product.id = "1c20"
		device.product.name = "6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller"
		device.form_factor = "internal"
		device.string = "0"
		device.description = "Встроенное аудио"
		module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
		device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
	profiles:
		input:analog-stereo: Аналоговый стерео вход (priority 60, available: unknown)
		output:analog-stereo: Аналоговый стерео выход (priority 6000, available: unknown)
		output:analog-stereo+input:analog-stereo: Аналоговый стерео дуплекс (priority 6060, available: unknown)
		output:hdmi-stereo: Digital Stereo (HDMI) выход (priority 5400, available: unknown)
		output:hdmi-stereo+input:analog-stereo: Digital Stereo (HDMI) выход + Аналоговый стерео вход (priority 5460, available: unknown)
		output:hdmi-surround: Digital Surround 5.1 (HDMI) выход (priority 300, available: unknown)
		output:hdmi-surround+input:analog-stereo: Digital Surround 5.1 (HDMI) выход + Аналоговый стерео вход (priority 360, available: unknown)
		output:hdmi-surround71: Digital Surround 7.1 (HDMI) выход (priority 300, available: unknown)
		output:hdmi-surround71+input:analog-stereo: Digital Surround 7.1 (HDMI) выход + Аналоговый стерео вход (priority 360, available: unknown)
		off: Выключено (priority 0, available: unknown)
	active profile: <output:analog-stereo+input:analog-stereo>
	sinks:
		alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog-stereo/#0: Встроенное аудио Аналоговый стерео
	sources:
		alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog-stereo.monitor/#0: Monitor of Встроенное аудио Аналоговый стерео
		alsa_input.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog-stereo/#1: Встроенное аудио Аналоговый стерео
	ports:
		analog-input-internal-mic: Встроенный микрофон (priority 8900, latency offset 0 usec, available: unknown)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "audio-input-microphone"
		analog-input-mic: Микрофон (priority 8700, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "audio-input-microphone"
		analog-output-speaker: Динамики (priority 10000, latency offset 0 usec, available: unknown)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "audio-speakers"
		analog-output-headphones: Аналоговые наушники (priority 9000, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "audio-headphones"
		hdmi-output-0: HDMI / DisplayPort (priority 5900, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "video-display"

aplay gives:

null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
pulse
    PulseAudio Sound Server
default
    Default ALSA Output (currently PulseAudio Sound Server)
sysdefault:CARD=PCH
    HDA Intel PCH, CX20590 Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, CX20590 Analog
    Front speakers
surround21:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, CX20590 Analog
    2.1 Surround output to Front and Subwoofer speakers
surround40:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, CX20590 Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, CX20590 Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, CX20590 Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, CX20590 Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, CX20590 Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
hdmi:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output

lsmod | grep snd gives:

snd_hda_codec_hdmi     49152  1
snd_hda_codec_conexant    24576  1
snd_hda_codec_generic    69632  1 snd_hda_codec_conexant
snd_hda_intel          32768  4
snd_hda_codec         106496  4 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_conexant,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel
snd_hda_core           49152  5 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_conexant,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep              16384  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                86016  4 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_core
snd_timer              28672  1 snd_pcm
snd                    65536  16 snd_hwdep,snd_timer,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_conexant,snd_pcm,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
soundcore              16384  1 snd

Screenshots of pavucontrol without connected HDMI cable
b0f62e782731t.jpg
0ace59a9ca41t.jpg

Offline

#5 2016-01-04 16:57:04

tom.ty89
Member
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 896

Re: [SOLVED] Intel HDMI audio - no sound

try `speaker-test -D hdmi:CARD=PCH,DEV=0 -c 2`?

Offline

#6 2016-01-04 17:00:55

dviktor
Member
From: Moscow
Registered: 2015-10-18
Posts: 156

Re: [SOLVED] Intel HDMI audio - no sound

Hmm, very strange - sound works on TV if I check it with speaker-test! But no sound when I'm trying to play it through VLC or Firefox...

Last edited by dviktor (2016-01-04 17:09:35)

Offline

#7 2016-01-04 17:36:45

tom.ty89
Member
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 896

Re: [SOLVED] Intel HDMI audio - no sound

Hmm maybe a pulse issue? What if you use the "Stereo" profile instead of "7.1 Surround"?

EDIT: nvm you seem to be using the Stereo one. In that case maybe you can try set it to 5.1 Surround and 7.1 Surround to see if it helps.

Last edited by tom.ty89 (2016-01-04 17:39:30)

Offline

#8 2016-01-04 17:41:37

dviktor
Member
From: Moscow
Registered: 2015-10-18
Posts: 156

Re: [SOLVED] Intel HDMI audio - no sound

Some observations: if I select Digital Stereo (HDMI) in my configuration tab (pavucontrol) then speaker-test crashes:

speaker-test 1.1.0

Playback device is hdmi:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
Stream parameters are 48000Hz, S16_LE, 2 channels
Using 16 octaves of pink noise
Playback open error: -16,Устройство или ресурс занято

If I select Analog duplex then all is ok

Offline

#9 2016-01-04 17:56:05

tom.ty89
Member
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 896

Re: [SOLVED] Intel HDMI audio - no sound

That's not really a bad thing. It probably just mean that pulseaudio is grabbing the device. (You should be able to speaker-test if you wait for a while after the switch though, assuming you have default pulseaudio config)

I can't think of any configuration mistake that will make pulseaudio cannot sound through HDMI while speaker-test work though.

Can you try `cat /proc/asound/card0/pcm3p/sub0/hw_params` when VLC/firefox is playing something?

Last edited by tom.ty89 (2016-01-04 17:58:16)

Offline

#10 2016-01-04 18:02:09

dviktor
Member
From: Moscow
Registered: 2015-10-18
Posts: 156

Re: [SOLVED] Intel HDMI audio - no sound

What configuration should I select in pavucontrol before cat'ing hw_params?

Offline

#11 2016-01-04 18:05:17

tom.ty89
Member
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 896

Re: [SOLVED] Intel HDMI audio - no sound

Let's try with HDMI Stereo. Also run `pacmd list-sink-inputs` in addition to the `cat` command and paste the output here.

Last edited by tom.ty89 (2016-01-04 18:06:57)

Offline

#12 2016-01-04 21:31:09

dviktor
Member
From: Moscow
Registered: 2015-10-18
Posts: 156

Re: [SOLVED] Intel HDMI audio - no sound

cat /proc/asound/card0/pcm3p/sub0/hw_params

access: MMAP_INTERLEAVED
format: S16_LE
subformat: STD
channels: 2
rate: 44100 (44100/1)
period_size: 44100
buffer_size: 88200

pacmd list-sink-inputs

1 sink input(s) available.
    index: 2
	driver: <protocol-native.c>
	flags: START_CORKED FIX_RATE 
	state: RUNNING
	sink: 6 <alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1b.0.hdmi-stereo>
	volume: front-left: 67845 / 104% / 0,90 dB,   front-right: 67845 / 104% / 0,90 dB
	        balance 0,00
	muted: no
	current latency: 359,91 ms
	requested latency: 40,00 ms
	sample spec: float32le 2-канальный 
	channel map: front-left,front-right
	             Стерео
	resample method: copy
	module: 8
	client: 13 <VLC media player>
	properties:
		media.role = "video"
		media.name = "audio stream"
		application.name = "VLC media player"
		native-protocol.peer = "UNIX socket client"
		native-protocol.version = "30"
		application.id = "org.VideoLAN.VLC"
		application.version = "2.2.1"
		application.icon_name = "vlc"
		application.language = "ru_RU.UTF-8"
		application.process.id = "897"
		application.process.user = "viktor"
		application.process.host = "freesky-laptop"
		application.process.binary = "vlc"
		window.x11.display = ":0.0"
		application.process.machine_id = "6e32152c5fdd46ea88757663a2ebcb31"
		application.process.session_id = "c1"
		module-stream-restore.id = "sink-input-by-media-role:video"

Offline

#13 2016-01-05 04:19:37

tom.ty89
Member
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 896

Re: [SOLVED] Intel HDMI audio - no sound

Can you do speaker-test with this to see if you can get sound too:

speaker-test -D hdmi:CARD=PCH,DEV=0 -c 2 -r 44100

I am wondering if it somehow doesn't work with 44.1kHz signal.

Last edited by tom.ty89 (2016-01-05 04:20:04)

Offline

#14 2016-01-10 20:20:40

dviktor
Member
From: Moscow
Registered: 2015-10-18
Posts: 156

Re: [SOLVED] Intel HDMI audio - no sound

with your command i have no sound through hdmi
Interesting issue here: if i play wav file with vlc or html5 video on youtube all is pretty good but if i want to play mp3 or flac or try to watch flash video in firefox - there is no sound at all!

Offline

#15 2016-01-11 08:37:45

tom.ty89
Member
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 896

Re: [SOLVED] Intel HDMI audio - no sound

Well, so that's the problem. Either your sink (monitor/TV) does not support 44.1kHz sound or something in i915 is broken. I bet your wav file is 48kHz and your mp3/flac are 44.1kHz.

As a workaround, set default-sample-rate to 48000 in /etc/pulse/daemon.conf (and restart pulseaudio)

Last edited by tom.ty89 (2016-01-11 08:39:48)

Offline

#16 2016-01-11 09:06:33

dviktor
Member
From: Moscow
Registered: 2015-10-18
Posts: 156

Re: [SOLVED] Intel HDMI audio - no sound

At the very beginning I mentioned that previously I had Fedora distro on my laptop and all worked fine.

tom.ty89 wrote:

As a workaround, set default-sample-rate to 48000 in /etc/pulse/daemon.conf (and restart pulseaudio)

You mentioned 44100, doesn't you?

Offline

#17 2016-01-11 09:13:05

tom.ty89
Member
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 896

Re: [SOLVED] Intel HDMI audio - no sound

Well we have a different kernel (of different version) from fedora? And i915 is the one of the most frequently borked kernel driver...

Didn't you you said with "-r 44100" you get no sound, but without it (so it's 48000) you get sound? That's why I suggest you to set default-sample-rate to 48000 in daemon.conf explicitly, because Pulse use 44100 by default.

Last edited by tom.ty89 (2016-01-11 09:13:38)

Offline

#18 2016-01-11 09:16:31

dviktor
Member
From: Moscow
Registered: 2015-10-18
Posts: 156

Re: [SOLVED] Intel HDMI audio - no sound

Oh, I get your idea. So, I'll try it now...

EDIT
Oh, man, you are a god! All works fine now! I think that I can put SOLVED in thread name!
But I have a few questions.

1) Is it normal to set up default sample rate to 48k while my mp3's are in 44.1k? Does pulse retranslate stream somehow?
2) Should I change something after future updates? May be some fix will be released or it's default settings?

Last edited by dviktor (2016-01-11 09:27:42)

Offline

#19 2016-01-11 17:01:41

tom.ty89
Member
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 896

Re: [SOLVED] Intel HDMI audio - no sound

Well I can neither say it's "normal" or "not normal". It just depends on whether your sink support / perform well on handling 44.1kHz signal, and which are most of your sources in. Though if you CPU is really old/low-end, you might feel that the resampling add a bit of burden to it.

You can specified the resampling algorithm used by pulse by setting "resample-method" in the same daemon.conf. The default is speex-float-1. Should be a nice balance between work load and quality. `man 5 pulse-daemon.conf` for all the possible values.

Well you can try to unset it (comment out the line so it goes back to the default 44100) after some kernel updates. Maybe it will get fixed someday/how, maybe it won't. You can file a bug report here: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/enter_bug.cgi?product=DRI (DRM/Intel) if you are sure you TV/monitor is capable of playing 44.1kHz signal.

This should tell what sampling rate your sink supports (though afaik it's not always correct):

[tom@localhost ~]$ cat /proc/asound/card*/eld#0.*
monitor_present		1
eld_valid		1
monitor_name		EV2336W
     
connection_type		DisplayPort
eld_version		[0x2] CEA-861D or below
edid_version		[0x3] CEA-861-B, C or D
manufacture_id		0xc315
product_id		0x2390
port_id			0x800
support_hdcp		0
support_ai		0
audio_sync_delay	0
speakers		[0x1] FL/FR
sad_count		1
sad0_coding_type	[0x1] LPCM
sad0_channels		2
sad0_rates		[0x6e0] 32000 44100 48000 88200 96000
sad0_bits		[0xe0000] 16 20 24

So mine support 32000, 44100, 48000, 88200 and 96000.

Last edited by tom.ty89 (2016-01-11 17:15:23)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB