You are not logged in.

#1 2006-04-16 17:28:37

tony5429
Member
Registered: 2006-03-28
Posts: 910
Website

background in fluxbox [solved]

Does anyone know how to set the background in fluxbox? I looked at http://fluxbox-wiki.org/index.php/Howto … background but fbsetbg doesn't work for me...


Yellowcot: A free, lightweight, open-source, cross-platform, Qt-based multimedia flash card simulator.

Offline

#2 2006-04-16 17:32:12

magnum_opus
Member
Registered: 2005-01-26
Posts: 132

Re: background in fluxbox [solved]

feh works well and is fairly small
pacman -Sy feh

feh --bg-scale FILE

Offline

#3 2006-04-16 17:56:26

wickedlester
Member
Registered: 2004-07-22
Posts: 133

Re: background in fluxbox [solved]

if you are using the new fluxbox (0.9.15.1) then the way backgrounds are set has changed.
from the changelog for 0.9.15

News in 0.9.15:
    * New theme item:
       * background: [texture option]
       * background.pixmap: image filename
       * background.color: [color]
       * background.colorTo: [color]
       The background.pixmap filename will be sent to "fbsetbg"
       which in turn sets the background.
       The following options will be available for the background.pixmap:
         - tiled
         - centered
       For example:
         background: tiled
         background.pixmap: someimage.png
       and it can also generate a normal texture:
         background: gradient
         background.color: blue
         background.colorTo: green
       The rootCommand in the style is now obsolete and if the
       "background" item is not found in the style then the default
       background will be green and with a warning text.

and from 0.9.15.1

News in 0.9.15.1:
   * Removed the green background on styles that are not using
      the new background option.

Offline

#4 2006-04-17 04:39:33

emma
Member
Registered: 2006-02-19
Posts: 64

Re: background in fluxbox [solved]

There is always hsetroot as well. It is made specifically to set backgrounds. smile

http://thegraveyard.org/hsetroot.php
AUR package

Offline

#5 2006-04-17 04:59:41

tony5429
Member
Registered: 2006-03-28
Posts: 910
Website

Re: background in fluxbox [solved]

I'm using fluxbox .9.15.1. Which program should I use??


Yellowcot: A free, lightweight, open-source, cross-platform, Qt-based multimedia flash card simulator.

Offline

#6 2006-04-17 05:16:26

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: background in fluxbox [solved]

install fluxbox, install feh, use fbsetbg.

Offline

#7 2006-04-17 07:11:46

tony5429
Member
Registered: 2006-03-28
Posts: 910
Website

Re: background in fluxbox [solved]

thanks! works great!


Yellowcot: A free, lightweight, open-source, cross-platform, Qt-based multimedia flash card simulator.

Offline

#8 2006-05-09 16:21:13

ambalex
Member
Registered: 2004-11-17
Posts: 85

Re: background in fluxbox [solved]

I've got the same kind of problem, here is the code at the end of the syle file:

background: centered
background.pixmap: /home/$USER/.fluxbox/backgrounds/Ushuaia.jpg

now, this doesn't set the background.

This might have something to do with the .fluxbox/init file, where I have the line:

session.screen0.rootCommand:   

and nothing is set.

any idea?
thanks in advance.

Offline

#9 2006-05-09 17:40:17

vidal
Member
Registered: 2006-04-03
Posts: 12

Re: background in fluxbox [solved]

ambalex: rtm

Offline

#10 2006-05-09 21:42:41

ambalex
Member
Registered: 2004-11-17
Posts: 85

Re: background in fluxbox [solved]

well, having

session.screen0.rootCommand: fbsetbg -l

remembers the last wall paper i set (with the command fbsetbg) when fluxbox is restarted,

while

session.screen0.rootCommand: fbsetbg -f /path/to/wallpaper

sets a wallpaper when fluxbox is started.

What i am looking for is that the style itself sets the wallpaper.

any idea?

Offline

#11 2006-05-10 03:45:50

barebones
Member
Registered: 2006-04-30
Posts: 235

Re: background in fluxbox [solved]

Try changing $USER to your actual user name. Sometimes paths like that don't play nice with styles.

Offline

#12 2006-05-10 21:54:32

ambalex
Member
Registered: 2004-11-17
Posts: 85

Re: background in fluxbox [solved]

setting the path to the background without environment variables works smile
thanks fo the tip.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB