You are not logged in.

#1 2016-01-19 22:54:48

mdrewitt

Garbage in pantheon Terminal

I am new to Arch and am wanting to use pantheon's terminal because I like how it looks. However once I had it installed Regardless of what I do, there is always the same message. This does't happen in any other terminals that I am using. I haven't noticed any negative side effects due to this garbage, everything still works as expected, it is just irritating. Any help would be greatly appreciated. This is what is in the terminal.

bash: PROMPT_COMMAND: line 0: syntax error near unexpected token `;'
bash: PROMPT_COMMAND: line 0: `dbus-send --type=method_call --session --dest=net.launchpad.pantheon-terminal /net/launchpad/pantheon_terminal org.pantheon.terminal.ProcessFinished string:$PANTHEON_TERMINAL_ID string:"$(history 1 | cut -c 8-)" >/dev/null 2>&1; ; printf "\033]0;%s@%s:%s\007" "${USER}" "${HOSTNAME%%.*}" "${PWD/#$HOME/\~}"'
[user@computer ~]$

Also after every command used where it says "line 0:" (both lines) changes counting up by one every command entered.

#2 2016-01-20 03:37:12

Docbroke

Re: Garbage in pantheon Terminal

can you post output of, from your home folder

cat .bashrc

#3 2016-01-20 03:50:49

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Website

I just installed pantheon-terminal and can confirm I get the same messages after every command output.

"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

#4 2016-01-20 04:30:14

Docbroke

@Trilby, what do you make of syntax error in Prompt Command? Is it related to 'PS1=***' in .bashrc?

#5 2016-01-20 11:18:27

mdrewitt

@Docbroke The output  of cat .bashrc is as follows

[user@Computer ~]$ cat .bashrc
#
# ~/.bashrc
#

# If not running interactively, don't do anything
[[ $- != *i* ]] && return

alias ls='ls --color=auto'
PS1='[\u@\h \W]\$ '

#6 2016-01-20 13:04:35

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Website