You are not logged in.

#1 2016-01-26 19:23:08

TriforceOfKirby

[SOLVED] WiFi setup prior to installation

EDIT: So I need to install broadcom-wl during the installation of Arch Linux so that I have a working internet connection. I am able download files on to a USB drive, but I'm unsure how to install the package this way as I'm still new to Arch Linux. Could someone give me step by step instructions on how to do this?

Last edited by TriforceOfKirby (2016-02-01 07:07:05)

#2 2016-01-27 10:10:29

x33a
Forum Fellow

Re: [SOLVED] WiFi setup prior to installation

@TriforceOfKirby,

sorry I edited your post by accident. I meant to reply. Please edit your post and ask your question again.

Sorry for the trouble.

#3 2016-01-27 16:25:56

TriforceOfKirby

x33a wrote:

@TriforceOfKirby,

sorry I edited your post by accident. I meant to reply. Please edit your post and ask your question again.

Sorry for the trouble.

No problem; I have a slightly different question as I know what I need to do now, but I just don't know how to do it.

#4 2016-01-27 19:38:35

atomicbeef

According to the Broadcom Wireless article on the wiki, you're going to want to install broadcom-wl-dkms from the AUR. The only problem is that the Arch live CD doesn't include a compiler, so you'll have to build the package from the AUR on another Arch machine. This article should help you get started with the AUR. If you don't have another machine with Arch on it to build from the AUR, I can build the package for you and give you a link.

Once you have the package built, you can install it with

pacman -U [packagename.pkg.tar.xz]

To learn more about Arch and pacman, I would suggest you read the pacman man page.

Last edited by atomicbeef (2016-01-27 19:53:44)

#5 2016-01-27 20:03:42

ayekat

You can install a compiler on the live system, though (if there's enough RAM):

mount -o remount,size=1G /run/archiso/cowspace
pacman -Syu base-devel git
git clone https://aur.archlinux.org/broadcom-wl-dkms