You are not logged in.

#1 2016-02-01 07:12:00

Dr.U
Member
From: Ettlingen, Germany
Registered: 2005-03-03
Posts: 68

package-query problem (SOLVED)

Hi,

When running

pacman -Syu

I get the result:

:: Starting full system upgrade...
resolving dependencies...
looking for conflicting packages...
error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: package-query: requires pacman<4.3

although

pacman -Qs pacman

tells me that I have pacman 4.2.1.-4 installed. My searching of the forum has not yet produced any help. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

-- Dr.U

Last edited by Dr.U (2016-02-01 07:42:45)

Offline

#2 2016-02-01 07:18:52

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 25,714
Website

Re: package-query problem (SOLVED)

Don't paste truncated output: paste the whole thing.

And AUR packages are your responsibility, not pacman's. Remove the AUR packages that are blocking your system upgrade and then rebuild them afterwards (or not).


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#3 2016-02-01 07:42:22

Dr.U
Member
From: Ettlingen, Germany
Registered: 2005-03-03
Posts: 68

Re: package-query problem (SOLVED)

Hi jasonwryan,

Thanks for the helpful reply.

-- Dr.U

Offline

#4 2016-02-01 07:51:10

xpy
Member
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 3

Re: package-query problem (SOLVED)

Because today pacman v5.0.0 was moved to the core from testing.
you can uninstall yaourt and package-query and update pacman to v5.0.0 first.
if you want to install yaourt directly were get error again. So i think maybe we can get the bits from
the AUR and compile to install.

Last edited by xpy (2016-02-01 07:52:16)

Offline

#5 2016-02-01 08:16:52

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 333

Re: package-query problem (SOLVED)

xpy wrote:

Because today pacman v5.0.0 was moved to the core from testing.
you can uninstall yaourt and package-query and update pacman to v5.0.0 first.
if you want to install yaourt directly were get error again. So i think maybe we can get the bits from
the AUR and compile to install.

You'll need to tweak a little package-query PKGBUILD in order to make it build again. Looks like an update will be welcomed.

Offline

#6 2016-02-01 16:05:05

Tom B
Member
Registered: 2014-01-15
Posts: 140
Website

Re: package-query problem (SOLVED)

xpy wrote:

Because today pacman v5.0.0 was moved to the core from testing.
you can uninstall yaourt and package-query and update pacman to v5.0.0 first.
if you want to install yaourt directly were get error again. So i think maybe we can get the bits from
the AUR and compile to install.

It's a lot simpler than that, just update package-query:

yaourt -S package-query

Now you can run

# pacman -Syu

As normal.

edit: When pacman is updated to 5.0 it will recreate /etc/pacman.conf you'll need to re-add the archlinux.fr repo for the AUR or yaourt will stop working

Last edited by Tom B (2016-02-01 16:15:18)

Offline

#7 2016-02-01 16:17:19

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 6,994

Re: package-query problem (SOLVED)

Tom B wrote:
yaourt -S package-query

Now you can run

# pacman -Syu

As normal.

edit: When pacman is updated to 5.0 it will recreate /etc/pacman.conf you'll need to re-add the archlinux.fr repo for the AUR or yaourt will stop working

And after that, yaourt will still be broken. This is the problem with people not understanding how the AUR works. Or how dynamic linking works.

Offline

#8 2016-02-01 16:36:44

hoschiCZ
Member
Registered: 2015-09-08
Posts: 6

Re: package-query problem (SOLVED)

Where do I find the changelog of pacman? I would like to know what's new in v5.

Offline

#9 2016-02-01 16:39:32

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 6,994

Re: package-query problem (SOLVED)

Offline

#10 2016-02-01 17:18:34

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 25,714
Website

Re: package-query problem (SOLVED)

Tom B wrote:

When pacman is updated to 5.0 it will recreate /etc/pacman.conf you'll need to re-add the archlinux.fr repo for the AUR or yaourt will stop working

This is a stupid idea. You don't need to add this repo, nor is it particularly advisable. As Scimmia says, learn how the AUR works before misleading more people here.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#11 2016-02-01 19:25:08

feNNec
Member
Registered: 2010-09-11
Posts: 25

Re: package-query problem (SOLVED)

jasonwryan wrote:
Tom B wrote:

When pacman is updated to 5.0 it will recreate /etc/pacman.conf you'll need to re-add the archlinux.fr repo for the AUR or yaourt will stop working

This is a stupid idea. You don't need to add this repo, nor is it particularly advisable. As Scimmia says, learn how the AUR works before misleading more people here.

From newbie to Tom B, have a quick look to https://archlinux.fr/yaourt-en, then deeply to https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ar … Repository

Offline

#12 2016-02-01 19:50:31

Tom B
Member
Registered: 2014-01-15
Posts: 140
Website

Re: package-query problem (SOLVED)

jasonwryan wrote:
Tom B wrote:

When pacman is updated to 5.0 it will recreate /etc/pacman.conf you'll need to re-add the archlinux.fr repo for the AUR or yaourt will stop working

This is a stupid idea. You don't need to add this repo, nor is it particularly advisable. As Scimmia says, learn how the AUR works before misleading more people here.

Is there any reason for that? The wiki page for yaourt seems to have changed since last time I looked at it. However, the instructions used to state ( https://webcache.googleusercontent.com/ … clnk&gl=uk ) "Alternatively, add the unofficial archlinuxfr repository." By doing this, after upgrading package-query, `pacman -Syu` will also upgrade yaourt and resolve the issue above, without needing to manually reinstall yaourt or package-query. A much simpler solution imho.

Offline

#13 2016-02-01 19:52:53

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 25,714
Website

Re: package-query problem (SOLVED)

That repo has a history of brokeness. Aside from that, it effectively obscures the distinction between the official repos and AUR, which leads to the sort of learned helplessness that results in threads like these.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#14 2016-02-02 01:05:26

kabbalah
Banned
Registered: 2011-08-23
Posts: 150

Re: package-query problem (SOLVED)

My experience with upgrading to pacman 5, package-query problems, but solve it by uninstalling package-query and installing package-query-git since aur and everything working.

Last edited by kabbalah (2016-02-02 01:06:07)

Offline

#15 2016-02-02 09:42:51

celilo
Member
From: Columbia River Gorge
Registered: 2009-01-31
Posts: 13

Re: package-query problem (SOLVED)

Tom B wrote:

It's a lot simpler than that, just update package-query:

yaourt -S package-query

Now you can run

# pacman -Syu

As normal.

Thanks. Worked for me

Offline

#16 2016-02-03 09:03:06

PhotonX
Member
From: Munich
Registered: 2008-08-10
Posts: 480

Re: package-query problem (SOLVED)

Tom B wrote:

It's a lot simpler than that, just update package-query:

yaourt -S package-query

Now you can run

# pacman -Syu

As normal.

For me this worked, that is, the update could be done, but afterwards yaourt stopped working. So I had to rebuild package-query with makepkg and then yaourt worked again.

Last edited by PhotonX (2016-02-03 09:03:24)


Desktop: http://www.sysprofile.de/id15562, Arch Linux    |    Notebook: Thinkpad X200 Tablet, Manjaro

The very worst thing you can do with free software is to download it, see that it doesn't work for some reason, leave it, and tell your friends that it doesn't work.  -  Tuomas Lukka

Offline

#17 2016-02-03 09:37:39

machi
Member
Registered: 2016-02-03
Posts: 2

Re: package-query problem (SOLVED)

xpy wrote:

Because today pacman v5.0.0 was moved to the core from testing.
you can uninstall yaourt and package-query and update pacman to v5.0.0 first.
if you want to install yaourt directly were get error again. So i think maybe we can get the bits from
the AUR and compile to install.

Removing these packages would have to be done manually (i.e. without an AUR helper), would it not? I'm under the impression that yaourt doesn't work without package-query and thus would either be unable to remove it or unable to remove itself afterwards.

Sorry for the (probably) stupid question, but how do you remove packages from the AUR manually? I skimmed through the AUR page on the Wiki and CTRL+F'd for "remove" but couldn't seem to find any instructions.

Offline

#18 2016-02-03 10:02:13

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 8,205
Website

Re: package-query problem (SOLVED)

All packages are manageable by pacman, even those installed by makepkg (or AUR helpers that wrap around makepkg). So as long as you have built and installed the package (and not bypassed the package manager e.g. 'make; sudo make install'), you can remove it just like you would remove any other package.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#19 2016-02-03 10:36:25

machi
Member
Registered: 2016-02-03
Posts: 2

Re: package-query problem (SOLVED)

WorMzy wrote:

All packages are manageable by pacman, even those installed by makepkg (or AUR helpers that wrap around makepkg). So as long as you have built and installed the package (and not bypassed the package manager e.g. 'make; sudo make install'), you can remove it just like you would remove any other package.

Ah, thank you very much, I had no idea. Removing them with pacman worked just fine.

Thanks again.

Offline

#20 2016-02-03 10:52:21

petrov
Member
From: iddqd
Registered: 2011-11-20
Posts: 7

Re: package-query problem (SOLVED)

Thank you Tom B and PhotonX. Works like a charm.

Offline

#21 2016-02-03 11:02:20

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 8,205
Website

Re: package-query problem (SOLVED)

machi wrote:
WorMzy wrote:

All packages are manageable by pacman, even those installed by makepkg (or AUR helpers that wrap around makepkg). So as long as you have built and installed the package (and not bypassed the package manager e.g. 'make; sudo make install'), you can remove it just like you would remove any other package.

Ah, thank you very much, I had no idea. Removing them with pacman worked just fine.

Thanks again.

This is why everyone should read up on the AUR and makepkg, and get an understanding of how the system is supposed to work before they install a helper that hides the process and blurs the lines.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB