You are not logged in.

#1 2016-02-02 07:55:28

Soroshi

[Solved] Lenovo Thinkpad Yoga 260 cannot boot past grub

Edit: If you have this laptop and have the same issue, add kernel parameter intel_pstate=no_hwp and it will boot up right away. Discussion on why this is needed  and the consequences can be found on my fourth post.

Hello, I am a bit of a newbie here, but I have tried everything I can find and nothing seems to get my new thinkpad to boot with an arch live usb drive (so that I can actually install arch!)
After the systemd-boot menu I just get a blank screen, but the backlight is on so I know the screen is ON.

My laptop is the new Lenovo Thinkpad Yoga 260, which has an i5-6200U CPU and Intel HD 520 GPU (Skylake)
I am using UEFI because I want to dual boot with windows 10
Secure Boot is disabled

Things I have tried:

• added kernel parameters nomodeset and/or i915.modeset=0 before attempting boot

• attempted boot with both the current arch install image (kernel 4.3.3) and one that I created with archiso with the [Testing] repo enabled (for kernel 4.4.1)

• added MODULES="intel_agp i915" to mkinitcpio.conf and re-built the 4.4.1 iso, as well as the other fixes suggested here

• added kernel parameter i915.preliminary_hw_support=1 even though both kernel versions tried should have full skylake support

• I also tried to boot with bios set to legacy mode and it got to "Booting the kernel." and sat like that for a full 15 minutes until I gave up and killed the power. This was with the 4.3.3 iso
    The output on the screen (that was still visible) is as follows:

Probing EDD (edd=off to disable)... ok
    early console in decompress_kernel
    input_data: 0x0000000001a1a3b4
    input_len: 0x0000000000412c31
    output: 0x0000000001000000
    output_len: 0x0000000000e1b9a8
    run_size: 0x0000000000f65000

Decompressing Linux... Parsing ELF... done.
    Booting the kernel.