You are not logged in.

#1 2016-02-04 17:45:58

Goresome
Member
From: Russia
Registered: 2011-12-06
Posts: 67

Cantata 2.0 regressions

So cantata-2.0.0-2-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz hit me and I noticed few unfortunate things:
- no more ability to search in Albums view. What the heck?
- search field in the Folders view is present but doesn't do anything.
- *.cue files are no longer recognized and thus multitrack files are no longer unrolled into multiple track in library.

Folders view is reported in tracker, and Albums view probably will also come back, but loss of .cue saddens me greatly and I've found no solution so far.

Offline

#2 2016-02-04 18:43:18

Rasi
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-08-14
Posts: 1,912
Website

Re: Cantata 2.0 regressions

and what has this to do with arch linux? report it on cantata's bug tracker. https://github.com/CDrummond/cantata/issues (which you already found)
And if you don't like the direction a project is taking, feel free to fork it smile

Also I really wonder how cantata made cue albums appear in library, since mpd doesn't even support it. (It can only show them as playlists)

Last edited by Rasi (2016-02-04 18:48:50)


He hoped and prayed that there wasn't an afterlife. Then he realized there was a contradiction involved here and merely hoped that there wasn't an afterlife.

Douglas Adams

Offline

#3 2016-02-05 20:33:49

Henrikx
Member
From: https://bbs.archlinux.de/
Registered: 2014-02-06
Posts: 21

Re: Cantata 2.0 regressions

I really wonder why cantata needs vlc now?
https://www.archlinux.de/?page=PackageD … me=cantata

Offline

#4 2016-02-08 08:18:53

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 10,112

Re: Cantata 2.0 regressions

https://github.com/CDrummond/cantata/bl … NSTALL#L72

https://github.com/CDrummond/cantata/issues/493

It's used to support HTTP Stream Playback (and the occasional file not governed by MPD), if you don't like/need that you can always recompile the package

Last edited by V1del (2016-02-08 11:53:17)

Offline

#5 2016-02-08 18:52:26

Henrikx
Member
From: https://bbs.archlinux.de/
Registered: 2014-02-06
Posts: 21

Re: Cantata 2.0 regressions

Client for the music player daemon (MPD) with VLC? For me...Sounds very stupid.

Offline

#6 2016-02-09 18:56:35

aouelete
Member
Registered: 2015-05-27
Posts: 30

Re: Cantata 2.0 regressions

Henrikx wrote:

Client for the music player daemon (MPD) with VLC? For me...Sounds very stupid.

Could this just be a KDE dependency? I do agree that this does not make much sense.

Offline

#7 2016-02-09 21:39:26

Rasi
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-08-14
Posts: 1,912
Website

Re: Cantata 2.0 regressions

it was answered already what its used for. it is used to play a mpd httpd output directly in cantata.

Last edited by Rasi (2016-02-09 21:39:40)


He hoped and prayed that there wasn't an afterlife. Then he realized there was a contradiction involved here and merely hoped that there wasn't an afterlife.

Douglas Adams

Offline

#8 2016-02-09 21:42:40

aouelete
Member
Registered: 2015-05-27
Posts: 30

Re: Cantata 2.0 regressions

Rasi wrote:

it was answered already what its used for. it is used to play a mpd httpd output directly in cantata.

Oops, sorry, didn't see that post. That makes more sense.

Offline

#9 2016-02-13 09:45:45

Henrikx
Member
From: https://bbs.archlinux.de/
Registered: 2014-02-06
Posts: 21

Re: Cantata 2.0 regressions

it was answered already what its used for. it is used to play a mpd httpd output directly in cantata.

Http stream playback  it's also supported by enabling qt5-multimedia, so if you build with ENABLE_LIBVLC=OFF, playback will be supported with qt5-multimedia . Why this senseless solution with VLC?

Last edited by Henrikx (2016-02-13 09:47:36)

Offline

#10 2016-02-13 10:26:46

nierro
Member
From: Milan, Italy
Registered: 2011-09-02
Posts: 849

Re: Cantata 2.0 regressions

Go on and vote this: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/47888 .
By the way unfortunately cantata defaults to ENABLE_VLC=ON on linux and our packager correctly did not changed linux defaults.
I think  opening an issue on cantata github to switch back to qt5-multimedia by default can fix this situation.

Offline

#11 2016-02-13 20:33:34

Henrikx
Member
From: https://bbs.archlinux.de/
Registered: 2014-02-06
Posts: 21

Re: Cantata 2.0 regressions

Ok. Thank you.

Offline

#12 2016-02-14 12:47:16

nierro
Member
From: Milan, Italy
Registered: 2011-09-02
Posts: 849

Re: Cantata 2.0 regressions

You're welcome smile

Offline

#13 2016-02-21 02:05:31

ssri
Member
Registered: 2010-02-16
Posts: 213

Re: Cantata 2.0 regressions

If there are any regressions, people should definitely report it to upstream (https://github.com/CDrummond/cantata/issues).  Over the years, Craig has been pretty prompt in addressing them.  Or, if anyone has any cool ideas/enhancements, suggestions and patches are welcomed!

Offline

#14 2016-02-21 09:43:46

nierro
Member
From: Milan, Italy
Registered: 2011-09-02
Posts: 849

Re: Cantata 2.0 regressions

Ok, here it is the bug report.
https://github.com/CDrummond/cantata/issues/810

Offline

#15 2016-02-21 16:13:48

ssri
Member
Registered: 2010-02-16
Posts: 213

Re: Cantata 2.0 regressions

The cue regression appears to be fixed upstream (thanks OP for the report): https://github.com/CDrummond/cantata/issues/801

Last edited by ssri (2016-02-21 21:43:49)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB