You are not logged in.

#1 2016-02-15 17:57:28

ubootfanat

XRite Colormunki and Gnome Settings Deamon

Hi there,

After years of ubuntu, I am new to arch an love it so far. However, Arch was not able to fix my display calibration issues (yet?). I feel a lot closer, though.

*My Setup*
fresh Arch install from a few days ago
Surface Pro 3
x-rite colormunki Display

Here is the issue: I am using Gnome Shell. Gnome Shell comes with this handy and clean calibration tool well embedded in the gnome-control-center. Argyllcms is installed.

*What does work*
I attach my colormunki to an arbitrary USB port and the gnome-control-center pops up. I can click the "calibrate" button and I am able to fight my way through the wizard. It even tells me to position the measuring device on the shown spot. I click the "start" button.

*Issue*
The software tells me that an unrecoverable error occured and that I can remove the device. I had the very same behaviour on my ubuntu 14.10 (see http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2253886 for reference). However, Arch lets me see a lot more deeply into what is going on. And it seems that the issues might not be the same anyhow.

*Details*
So here is an excerpt of the journal as I see it while being logged in with an unprivileged user:

kernel: usb 1-1.4: new full-speed USB device number 26 using xhci_hcd
kernel: hid-generic 0003:0765:5020.0015: hiddev0,hidraw3: USB HID v1.11 Device [X-Rite, Inc. ColorMunki Display] on usb-0000:00:14.0-1.4/input0
dbus-daemon[7992]: Activating service name='org.freedesktop.ColorHelper'
dbus-daemon[7992]: Successfully activated service 'org.freedesktop.ColorHelper'
gnome-session[7981]: Gtk-Message: GtkDialog mapped without a transient parent. This is discouraged.
gnome-session[7981]: (gnome-control-center:8418): color-cc-panel-WARNING **: Failed to resize window: failed to find output eDP1
colord[865]: (colord:865): Cd-WARNING **: the child exited with return code 1