You are not logged in.

#1 2016-02-20 08:43:22

tech4david
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-05-24
Posts: 17

Can't type into Plasma 5 screen locker

I've got a problem with the screen locker from Plasma 5 - most of the time when I try to unlock it, it won't respond to any keyboard input or clicking, although the mouse will move about the screen. It will occasionally work, however, but usually when the screen has only just been locked - I'm not exactly sure what determines whether it will work or not.

I'm using the ATI video drivers (laptop with an AMD APU). I've tried killing "kscreenlocker_greet" from tty2 to get it to restart itself but to no avail and it's getting quite annoying to have to kill the session entirely every time I want to unlock. I've found some other threads with similar issues but none of them seem to have a solution that works for me. Anyone else with this issue?


GitHub: tech4david // Twitter: @tech4david // Email: ʇǝu˙xnuıןɥɔɹɐ@ʎǝןıɐq˙pıʌɐp // GPG: 0E4A 8642 3E38 0B5D D98B 3413 FE28 D356 A90A 8B49

Primary OS: OS X // Favorite DE: MATE // Favourite editors: Atom+Vim // Favourite browsers: Safari+Chrome // Favourite programming language: Ruby

Offline

#2 2016-02-22 14:47:51

smartiq
Member
Registered: 2013-07-06
Posts: 5

Re: Can't type into Plasma 5 screen locker

I started hitting this as well sometime last week with my AMD ATI card (HD 7750).  I have no errors in my kernel log nor my Xorg.0.log.  Still looking for a cause but you are not alone.

Offline

#3 2016-02-22 15:18:21

miku84
Member
Registered: 2015-03-31
Posts: 45

Re: Can't type into Plasma 5 screen locker

I think this is the same bug I have.
I have energy setup: when I do nothing, then the monitor goes off after X minutes.
My desktop is not responding after waking up the monitor. It is only for kernel 4.4 or 4.5, but 4.3 works.
Do you use kernel 4.4 or 4.5?

Offline

#4 2016-02-22 15:25:23

smartiq
Member
Registered: 2013-07-06
Posts: 5

Re: Can't type into Plasma 5 screen locker

I am currently running 4.4.1-2-ARCH.  I had upgraded to that on Feb 3rd.  I don't think the problem for me started that long ago.  Last week I got the KDE upgrade from 15.12.1-1 to 15.12.2-1.  I am suspicious of that upgrade since those log entries in my pacman.log seem to correspond with the approximate time this issue started.

I will try downgrading stuff (kernel + kde/plasma) throughout the day and see if I can find the culprit.  Note that I don't lock _every_ time I lock the display.  Just many of them.

Offline

#5 2016-02-22 15:57:30

Wilco
Member
Registered: 2008-11-09
Posts: 437

Re: Can't type into Plasma 5 screen locker

There are two different problems

1. The unlock screen does not react to input. This problem happens with some themes. Using the default KDE theme fixes it for me.

2. X locks up after being locked by KDE for a few minutes. I "fixed" this by disabling the KDE screenlocker, switching to a text console and using physlock. Not ideal but it works.

Offline

#6 2016-02-22 17:54:49

tech4david
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-05-24
Posts: 17

Re: Can't type into Plasma 5 screen locker

I found a workaround for the problem; you can go to a TTY and run "loginctl unlock-sessions" and it'll have the same effect as typing the password and hitting enter.

@miku84 I'm running 4.4.1-1-zen (and the problem also happens on the default kernel iirc).

@Wilco I'm using the default theme already.


GitHub: tech4david // Twitter: @tech4david // Email: ʇǝu˙xnuıןɥɔɹɐ@ʎǝןıɐq˙pıʌɐp // GPG: 0E4A 8642 3E38 0B5D D98B 3413 FE28 D356 A90A 8B49

Primary OS: OS X // Favorite DE: MATE // Favourite editors: Atom+Vim // Favourite browsers: Safari+Chrome // Favourite programming language: Ruby

Offline

#7 2016-02-22 20:16:25

der_joachim
Member
From: the Netherlands
Registered: 2008-12-17
Posts: 143
Website

Re: Can't type into Plasma 5 screen locker

I had a similar problem some time ago. I will never know why, but I discovered that the greeter started working again after simply pressing the Fn button. It's an odd workaround and it may not be that helpful, but maybe, just maybe it'll help a bit.


Geek, runner, motorcyclist and professional know-it-all

Offline

#8 2016-02-23 18:44:23

tech4david
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-05-24
Posts: 17

Re: Can't type into Plasma 5 screen locker

Thanks! I'll try that when I next have the problem.


GitHub: tech4david // Twitter: @tech4david // Email: ʇǝu˙xnuıןɥɔɹɐ@ʎǝןıɐq˙pıʌɐp // GPG: 0E4A 8642 3E38 0B5D D98B 3413 FE28 D356 A90A 8B49

Primary OS: OS X // Favorite DE: MATE // Favourite editors: Atom+Vim // Favourite browsers: Safari+Chrome // Favourite programming language: Ruby

Offline

#9 2016-02-24 16:52:02

miku84
Member
Registered: 2015-03-31
Posts: 45

Re: Can't type into Plasma 5 screen locker

hm, neither the Fn thing nor the loginctl unlock-sessions seems working. I can type in TTY but when I switch to the desktop I only see a black screen and a mouse. Do you have any idea what is happening? Default Breeze with SDDM and the KDE screenlocker is off.

Offline

#10 2016-02-24 20:30:31

smartiq
Member
Registered: 2013-07-06
Posts: 5

Re: Can't type into Plasma 5 screen locker

@miku84 Neither option works for me either.  The unlock-sessions doesn't change my lock screen.  Since this is a desktop, I don't have an Fn key.  My symptoms are slightly different.  I don't end up with a black screen.  I can see the lock screen, but I am unable to click/tab/anything that results in a change.  I can switch to TTYs and back fine.

I will eat the words from my above post.  I downgraded to 4.3.3-3-ARCH and haven't experienced the lockup since.  Note I am using the default breeze theme with SDDM.

Offline

#11 2016-02-24 20:52:33

miku84
Member
Registered: 2015-03-31
Posts: 45

Re: Can't type into Plasma 5 screen locker

I am still trying to solve it and found a few things. As this is working with 4.3 but not with 4.4 I think the DRM may causes the problem.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Direct_Rendering_Manager
It seems that after the lock or screen off the DRM does not controls the desktop. Can this solved anyhow? Or is it a kernel bug?

Offline

#12 2016-02-24 21:09:49

smartiq
Member
Registered: 2013-07-06
Posts: 5

Re: Can't type into Plasma 5 screen locker

This is the most promising thing I have found:
https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=93879

Haven't had time to rebuild the kernel without that patch yet.

Offline

#13 2019-01-20 20:39:10

neilsimp1
Member
Registered: 2019-01-20
Posts: 12

Re: Can't type into Plasma 5 screen locker

I have had this problem in Plasma 5.14.5 on Arch Linux.

I just fixed after seeing this post:
https://askubuntu.com/questions/120725/ ... reen-setup

I checked both 'Active screen follows mouse' and 'Seperate screen focus'. Now I see the lock screen controls on both monitors and I'm able to type my password from either side.

Offline

#14 2019-01-20 22:19:21

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 12,265

Re: Can't type into Plasma 5 screen locker

Thanks for sharing, however as this thread is nearing 3 years old, it's likely you are actually experiencing a different issue.

Closing.

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB