You are not logged in.

#1 2016-03-03 14:16:19

srd
Member
Registered: 2016-03-03
Posts: 3

Grub and NVMe device

Hi,
I'm trying to install arch on a new thinkpad that came with an NVMe storage device. I'm experiencing a problem very similar to the one discussed in https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=206324 , however my system is UEFI install.

I'm using the archlinux-2016.03.01-dual.iso installation medium, and am following the installation guide closely. The current grub that gets installed with pacman is 2.02beta2-6, and the bug report on grub regarding the nvme patches got closed, so I'm guessing they got included in the new release? (see https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/47447).
I've added the "nvme" module to /etc/mkinitcpio.conf as per https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Mkinitcpio#MODULES.

However, trying to boot using the freshly installed grub instance, I get the error "no such device: <filesystem UUID>"
I've checked, the UUIDs, the one given in the error message matches the UUID of /boot, so the configuration of the boot partition at least is as expected.

My knowledge of the grub2 boot process is hazy at best (I miss the old lilo/grub1 times...). Are there any other "magic" switches to flip to get the current grub2 to work off of nvme devices?

Offline

#2 2016-03-05 12:16:34

Slithery
Administrator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 5,626

Re: Grub and NVMe device

AFAIK the current version of grub shipped with Arch doesn't include support for NVMe...
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/So … /NVMe#GRUB

Current solution - use a different bootloader.

Last edited by Slithery (2016-03-05 12:17:03)


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#3 2016-03-12 15:24:30

kumala
Member
Registered: 2016-03-11
Posts: 20

Re: Grub and NVMe device

I'm experiencing the same issue. Do you recommend another bootloader?
Or would it make sense to stick with grub and manually install a version that includes support for NVMe (if such a thing exists, haven't checked)?

Offline

#4 2016-03-12 15:40:57

Xabre
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2009-03-19
Posts: 742

Re: Grub and NVMe device

You can use grub-git. Arch has a stable version in repos, but git version has the fix for that issue, AFAIK.
I use systemd-boot, works for me, but it depends on your use case what will work for you.

Offline

#5 2016-03-12 16:46:14

kumala
Member
Registered: 2016-03-11
Posts: 20

Re: Grub and NVMe device

Thanks Xabre, I have just booted from the EFI shell manually. Since Arch is the only distro in this laptop I guess I don't really need a bootloader anyway.

Offline

#6 2016-03-12 18:46:12

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 18,877

Re: Grub and NVMe device

kumala wrote:

Thanks Xabre, I have just booted from the EFI shell manually. Since Arch is the only distro in this laptop I guess I don't really need a bootloader anyway.

Even if it were not the only distro you still don't need a boot loader with UEFI.

This system can boot Arch Linux, the EFI shell, or (rarely) Windows 10 directly from the EFI system


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB