You are not logged in.

#1 2016-03-12 05:37:27

thewooster
Member
Registered: 2012-10-20
Posts: 54

I3: Dual-Monitors, Different Resolutions [SOLVED]

I can't seem to get this quite right.  I only started using I3 a couple of weeks ago.

I do not want the displayed mirrored (as they are by default).  I would like the larger display to be on the left as my primary, and the smaller display on the right hosting its own workspace.  I want each of these at their native resolutions.  Can you help me out?  Thanks!

Xrandr Output

DFP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DFP2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DFP3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DFP4 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DFP5 connected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
   1920x1080     60.00 +  50.00    59.94    50.00    60.00    59.94  
   1600x1200     60.00  
   1776x1000     50.00    59.94    50.00    59.94  
   1680x1050     59.95  
   1400x1050     60.00  
   1600x900      60.00  
   1360x1024     60.00  
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02  
   1440x900      59.89  
   1280x960      60.00  
   1366x768      59.79  
   1360x768      59.79  
   1280x800      60.00  
   1152x864      59.94    75.00  
   1280x768      60.00  
   1280x720      50.00    60.00    59.94  
   1024x768      75.03    70.07    60.00  
   1152x648      50.00    59.94  
   800x600       72.19    75.00    60.32    56.25  
   720x480       60.00    59.94  
   640x480       72.81    75.00    66.61    60.00    59.94  
DFP6 connected 2560x1440+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 597mm x 336mm
   2560x1440     59.95*+
   1800x1440     59.95  
   1856x1392     59.95  
   1792x1344     59.95  
   1920x1200     59.95  
   1920x1080     60.00  
   1600x1200     59.95  
   1680x1050     59.95  
   1400x1050     59.95  
   1600x900      59.95  
   1360x1024     59.95  
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02  
   1440x900      59.89  
   1280x960      60.00  
   1366x768      59.89  
   1360x768      59.89  
   1280x800      59.81  
   1152x864      59.95    75.00  
   1280x768      59.81  
   1280x720      59.86  
   1024x768      75.03    70.07    60.00  
   800x600       72.19    75.00    60.32    56.25  
   640x480       75.00    66.61    59.94  
DFP7 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
CRT1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

Last edited by thewooster (2016-03-19 18:59:44)

Offline

#2 2016-03-12 06:28:55

Docbroke
Member
From: India
Registered: 2015-06-13
Posts: 1,186

Re: I3: Dual-Monitors, Different Resolutions [SOLVED]

xrandr --output DFP5 --auto --primary --output DFP6 --auto --right-of DFP5

assuming DFP5 is your primary display, you can use few handy scripts given on arch-wiki page for xrandr or install gui like arandr

## to assign workspace in i3

workspace "1" output DFP5

Arch is home!
cwm rofi vimb vifm vim lizzy pass

Offline

#3 2016-03-12 16:22:56

thewooster
Member
Registered: 2012-10-20
Posts: 54

Re: I3: Dual-Monitors, Different Resolutions [SOLVED]

I've tried several scripts from the wiki pages, and I must be doing something wrong.   I want DFP6 to be my primary.  When I try to  run:

xrandr --output DFP6 --auto --primary --output DFP5 --auto --right-of DFP6

I get this error:

xrandr: screen cannot be larger than 2560x2560 (desired size 4480x1440)

Arandr looks promising, but so far I it only allows me to set one monitor above or below the other.  They remain mirrored, and the larger monitor only has a small amount of usable space.

Offline

#4 2016-03-12 16:31:43

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 24,941
Website

Re: I3: Dual-Monitors, Different Resolutions [SOLVED]

Do you have anything in any xorg.conf files.  If you have a Screen > Display > Virtual setting it can limit the maximum display size available (in your case to 2560x2560).

If you don't have any such settings the defaults should be quite a bit larger than that - but creating adding this setting explicitly to xorg.conf should do it (if needed).


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#5 2016-03-12 16:41:03

thewooster
Member
Registered: 2012-10-20
Posts: 54

Re: I3: Dual-Monitors, Different Resolutions [SOLVED]

Ok, I think I just had to make some configuration changes in AMD's control center.  It looks like AMD sometimes has trouble with this.  It seems to be working now (albeit with some bugs to work out).  If there is a better way though, I will take any tips.  This is what is in my Xorg right now.

Section "ServerLayout"
	Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
	Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
EndSection

Section "Module"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
	Option	    "DontZap" "False"
EndSection

Section "InputClass"
	Identifier      "Keyboard Defaults"
	MatchIsKeyboard "yes"
	Option	    "XKbOptions" "terminate:ctrl_alt_bksp"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "0-DFP5"
	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
	Option	    "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
	Option	    "TargetRefresh" "60"
	Option	    "Position" "2560 362"
	Option	    "Rotate" "normal"
	Option	    "Disable" "false"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "0-DFP6"
	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
	Option	    "PreferredMode" "2560x1440"
	Option	    "TargetRefresh" "60"
	Option	    "Position" "0 0"
	Option	    "Rotate" "normal"
	Option	    "Disable" "false"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
	Driver      "fglrx"
	Option	    "Monitor-DFP5" "0-DFP5"
	Option	    "Monitor-DFP6" "0-DFP6"
	BusID       "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "amdcccle-Device[2]-1"
	Driver      "fglrx"
	Option	    "Monitor-DFP6" "0-DFP6"
	BusID       "PCI:2:0:0"
	Screen      1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
	Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Virtual   4480 2560
		Depth     24
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "amdcccle-Screen[2]-1"
	Device     "amdcccle-Device[2]-1"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Offline

#6 2016-03-12 16:43:41

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 24,941
Website

Re: I3: Dual-Monitors, Different Resolutions [SOLVED]

Well there it is, you explicitly told Xorg not to use a display that large:

Virtual   4480 2560

EDIT: oops! sorry.  I need to read more carefully.  You have the needed setting right already.

But do you need the xorg.conf at all?  Generally it is not needed.  I think it might be important for closed-source video drivers (maybe, I have no experience with them) but otherwise it should not be needed.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#7 2016-03-12 16:59:49

Docbroke
Member
From: India
Registered: 2015-06-13
Posts: 1,186

Re: I3: Dual-Monitors, Different Resolutions [SOLVED]

xorg.conf is created by aticonfig. I think display can be adjusted through aticonfig, (amd control centre) after connecting the display.

Last edited by Docbroke (2016-03-12 17:01:39)


Arch is home!
cwm rofi vimb vifm vim lizzy pass

Offline

#8 2016-03-12 17:03:50

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 24,941
Website

Re: I3: Dual-Monitors, Different Resolutions [SOLVED]

I don't have much experience with putting these settings in xorg.conf, but it looks like all the monitor settings are in there - so xrandr might not be able to change them dynamically.  But in this case everything looks in order, except your ServerLayout section.  You have Screen sections for the one monitor configuration and for the two monitor configuration, but the ServerLaout specifies the one monitor configuration.  Change it to the following for both:

Section "ServerLayout"
	Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
	Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[2]-1" 0 0
EndSection

"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#9 2016-03-19 18:59:15

thewooster
Member
Registered: 2012-10-20
Posts: 54

Re: I3: Dual-Monitors, Different Resolutions [SOLVED]

Adjusting settings through ATI config worked.  Thanks much!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB