You are not logged in.

#1 2016-03-17 01:54:30

TwistedTomZ

Rate my PKGBUILD, it's my first time!

Hello everyone!

I managed to complete my first PKGBUILD, it's for a video game I made. I'm pretty sure I did many things wrong, but at least it's working! Here it is:

# Maintainer: Tom Tsagk <tomtsagk at protonmail dot com>
pkgname=dargite3d
pkgdesc="A pong-clone made with opengl, highly moddable"
pkgver=1.0.0
pkgrel=1
arch=('x86_64')
url="http://darkdimensiongames.blogspot.com"
license=('GPL')
depends=('freeglut' 'glew')
source=("https://www.dropbox.com/s/p75xt2rrii5o8lf/dargite3d-1.0.0.tar.gz?dl=0")
md5sums=('90879138571e4e6f5f2f7b05ecd24477')

build() {
    ./configure -p /usr
    make
}

package() {
    make DEST_DIR=$pkgdir install
}

By the way, what is the community's opinion on video games on AUR? I got the impression that programs with some functionality are preferred, is a video game allowed too?

Thanks in advance!

Edit: Removed "cd $srcdir" and changed licence to GPL (Thanks Scimmia!)

Last edited by TwistedTomZ (2016-03-17 02:15:09)

#2 2016-03-17 02:00:44

Scimmia
Fellow

Re: Rate my PKGBUILD, it's my first time!

I don't see anything really wrong with it. There are a couple of things that could be improved, but they aren't critical.

You could use the $pkgver variable in the source array, that way you only have to change the version in one place when you update. It's easy to forget if it's in more than one place.

cd "$srcdir" is a no-op. Functions are guaranteed to start in $srcdir already.

Is this really 64 bit only? It's not a problem if it is, just curious.

I don't think anyone has a problem with video games in the AUR.

Edit: Oh, I did find something (minor) wrong. The license is listed as GPL2, but the license file says "either version 2 of the License, or (at your option) any later version." This means it should just be "GPL"

Last edited by Scimmia (2016-03-17 02:04:33)

#3 2016-03-17 02:11:05

TwistedTomZ